We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11,870)
Filter reviews
11,870 results
Traveller rating
3,399
4,719
2,265
918
569
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,399
4,719
2,265
918
569
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardenwooden shuttersgin palacegreat locationtrafalgar squaresingle roomcharing cross stationwest endlounge barexecutive roomtheatre landcentral locationrooms are smalllondon eyefull englishlondon hotelafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
8,918 - 8,923 of 11,870 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I have stayed in Strand Palace Hotel several times. The reason why I chose it was primarily its location. It is 5 minutes away fom Trafalgar/Covent Garden. However, you should bear in mind that rooms are very small. I suppose it is normal for London, but when you pay almost 200 pounds per night, you expect a decent size room, well, not in Strand Palace Hotel. I could hardly fit my suitcase in the room! The rooms do not seem to have adequate conditioning level. Customer service was good, check-in was easy. There is no swimming pool or fitness centre in the hotel, but if you go to the reception they will give you a pass/ ticket to the health centre across the road, which is free bonus

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This was our second visit to the Strand Palace in London and again it was everything that we needed.

We stayed for 2 nights during the Easter holidays with my fiance and 9 year old daughter. We had a wonderful time in London visiting the sights and the Strand Palace gave us everything we needed. The room was a large double with a sofa bed for our daughter and was perfect for our short stay. We did not spend alot of time at the hotel as we were up and out early (an excited 9 year old wakes early!!) but the time we did spend there was very enjoyable and comfortable. The room was very clean and although there was no bath the very large shower was sufficient for us as a family of 3.

There were building works being carried out while we were there but we were informed of this on arrival and apart from hearing some banging outside we were not inconvenienced as it did not start until after 9 am.

I would recommend this hotel for families, business and shopping breaks as it caters very well for short visits.

I look forward to booking again in the near future!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighthelmstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed at the hotel several times in 2011 for business.
Nice hotel at a good location - Covent Garden.
Rooms are ok and the service is good. pricing is good - sub 200 pounds year round.
Biggest issue for me was that there is no air conditioning in the room, which made it unusable for me as summer kicked in (May period and onward).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My second stay here. Check in was painless, nicely done. Room is clean and tidy. Everything we need as we only sleep in the room when in London. We eat and drank in the hotel and the service is attentive, and most of all friendly which in a hotel of this size is not always to be found. The late night bar service was better than any ive come across, once again friendly and attentive. Its a great hotel with a great team.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have just come back from London having stayed at the Strand palace for 3 nights over the easter weekend. On arrival booking in before check in time of 2pm the receptionist was very helpful and checked if the room was available, unfortunatley it wasnt but the hotel has a baggage room which we were able to use at no charge. Normally it costs £2 per item which is nothing really. The room we booked was one with no view but we where given one facing out onto the strand. With the hotel undergoing renervation on the outside it was covered in plastic sheeting so there is no view anyway. We didnt go to london to sit looking out of our window so this didnt matter. The room was clean and tidy although a little small being on the corner of the building buy quiet adiquate. Breakfast is buffet style with a great selection from continental to full english. Also took the late check out time of 5pm which there was no charge this allowed us most of out last day. The Sunday carvery was very good also.
Only one fault whilst there the shaver socket didnt work but when i reportred it it was repaired within 1 hour.
Just remember this is a 3 star hotel and at this rating it is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room dont get one to the front of the hotel to many police sirens going past in the night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay, and just to mention that if you do require an early check in this can sometimes be arranged in advance if you call the hotel, or advise us at the time of booking. I apologise for the shaver socket not working but am pleased that this was rectified by our maintenance team – we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews