We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 148
USD 129
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
USD 132
USD 127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
USD 271
USD 192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
USD 89
USD 87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 207
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 181/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 195
USD 189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 295
USD 183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
USD 263
USD 233
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn London - Brent Cross(London)(Great Value!)
USD 95
USD 82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (11,640)
Filter reviews
11,640 results
Traveller rating
3,328
4,649
2,220
896
547
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,328
4,649
2,220
896
547
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscovent gardenwooden shuttersgin palacegreat locationmask bartrafalgar squaresingle roomcharing cross stationwest endlounge barexecutive roomtheatre landcentral locationlarge hotelrooms are smallstreet noiselondon eye
Filter
Updating list...
8,711 - 8,716 of 11,640 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My second stay here. Check in was painless, nicely done. Room is clean and tidy. Everything we need as we only sleep in the room when in London. We eat and drank in the hotel and the service is attentive, and most of all friendly which in a hotel of this size is not always to be found. The late night bar service was better than any ive come across, once again friendly and attentive. Its a great hotel with a great team.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I have just come back from London having stayed at the Strand palace for 3 nights over the easter weekend. On arrival booking in before check in time of 2pm the receptionist was very helpful and checked if the room was available, unfortunatley it wasnt but the hotel has a baggage room which we were able to use at no charge. Normally it costs £2 per item which is nothing really. The room we booked was one with no view but we where given one facing out onto the strand. With the hotel undergoing renervation on the outside it was covered in plastic sheeting so there is no view anyway. We didnt go to london to sit looking out of our window so this didnt matter. The room was clean and tidy although a little small being on the corner of the building buy quiet adiquate. Breakfast is buffet style with a great selection from continental to full english. Also took the late check out time of 5pm which there was no charge this allowed us most of out last day. The Sunday carvery was very good also.
Only one fault whilst there the shaver socket didnt work but when i reportred it it was repaired within 1 hour.
Just remember this is a 3 star hotel and at this rating it is excellent.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room dont get one to the front of the hotel to many police sirens going past in the night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you had a pleasant stay, and just to mention that if you do require an early check in this can sometimes be arranged in advance if you call the hotel, or advise us at the time of booking. I apologise for the shaver socket not working but am pleased that this was rectified by our maintenance team – we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Booked this hotel due to its location very close to The Royal Opera House. From the moment of entering nothing was to much trouble. At booking in we were asked if we wanted to book a place in the restaurant. We declined as we wanted to eat early as the Opera started at 7.30pm. We were given a voucher if we wnated to use it for their bistro. We went and had a delightful meal
2 main courses and bottle of wine for £30.00 We added 2 starters and total bill £45.00 bargin...
The room was clean and comfortable. The bar prices for London were very reasonable. Breakfast was a surprise alot to choose from and the full English was absolutley spot on.
Well worth a stay

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinovich_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at the Strand Palace and once again we throughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for theatres and all the main attractions. We booked an executive king room without a view due to the scaffolding being on the front of the building but as we don't really stay in the room we were not bothered about this and at £126.00 including breakfast we thought this was a bargain. We did not have to queue at reception or for breakfast and found all the staff very helpful. When we travel from Euston we always get off at Charring Cross station as this is very close and you don't have lots of steps to climb like you do if you get off at Covent Garden and the distance to the hotel is the same. We will definately be returning again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent location for central London and the Embankment. Friendly, efficient service. Spacious, well appointed guest room, which was an executive king size room.
Breakfast was mostly fine, with a good choice of cerials, yoghurts, breads, croissants etc; but the cooked breakfast was a great disappointment. We found it so poor that we were unable to eat the stale bacon, solid eggs, soggy tomatoes, tinned rubbery mushrooms, balckpudding looked too scary to try. Needess to say we didn't try any of the other "eateries" at the hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to see that the majority of the aspects of your stay met your expectations. It is both concerning and disappointing however that the hot breakfast selection was far from satisfactory on the morning of your stay. Please be assured that what you encountered was far from our normal standard, and that our breakfast team have been made fully aware of your comments and our short comings on this occasion. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Strand Palace.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews