We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12,011)
Filter reviews
12,011 results
Traveller rating
3,435
4,756
2,305
937
578
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,435
4,756
2,305
937
578
Show reviews that mention
All reviews covent garden wooden shutters gin palace great location trafalgar square single room charing cross station west end lounge bar executive room theatre land central location rooms are small london eye full english london hotel afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
9,048 - 9,053 of 12,011 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from our third stay at the Strand Palace and once again we throughly enjoyed our stay. The location is perfect for theatres and all the main attractions. We booked an executive king room without a view due to the scaffolding being on the front of the building but as we don't really stay in the room we were not bothered about this and at £126.00 including breakfast we thought this was a bargain. We did not have to queue at reception or for breakfast and found all the staff very helpful. When we travel from Euston we always get off at Charring Cross station as this is very close and you don't have lots of steps to climb like you do if you get off at Covent Garden and the distance to the hotel is the same. We will definately be returning again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank potters80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Excellent location for central London and the Embankment. Friendly, efficient service. Spacious, well appointed guest room, which was an executive king size room.
Breakfast was mostly fine, with a good choice of cerials, yoghurts, breads, croissants etc; but the cooked breakfast was a great disappointment. We found it so poor that we were unable to eat the stale bacon, solid eggs, soggy tomatoes, tinned rubbery mushrooms, balckpudding looked too scary to try. Needess to say we didn't try any of the other "eateries" at the hotel.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and it was pleasing to see that the majority of the aspects of your stay met your expectations. It is both concerning and disappointing however that the hot breakfast selection was far from satisfactory on the morning of your stay. Please be assured that what you encountered was far from our normal standard, and that our breakfast team have been made fully aware of your comments and our short comings on this occasion. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Strand Palace.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I have just taken my daughter to London for 3 days for her 21st birthday and decided to go one up from a travelodge and so booked the Strand Palace and I have to say the stay was great they have upgraded all rooms and the room was spotless and very comfortable. The service was second to none with all staff very friendly and helpful and of course the location is marvellous walking distance from anywhere would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There is no doubt that The Strand Palace Hotel on the Strand is very central to theatres
and other sites in London. Saying this, you can choose the level of room you wish to
pay for (we chose superking beds inc breakfast) and all rooms have just been refurbished.
The real plus is the service. The concierge found us show tickets at short notice. The staff
in the Brassiere and the main restaurant were always more than helpful. Nothing was too
much trouble. We put that we would like a quiet room
on our reservation and we got one. Don't try looking for a cheaper price on the internet
You won't find one. I can highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you want one.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Nice location. Comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Continental breakfast with fruit, hot oatmeal, milk, cereal - 8 pounds, not bad for London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sacramentan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews