We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location - Excellent!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #389 of 1,089 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Southport, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location - Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Only needed a room for 2 nights - can't beat the location for the price. Had a "club" twin room - very small, but had everything I needed since I didn't spend much time in the room. Close to many of the major attractions, and the concierge is most helpful. All staff were willing to please, restaurants were staffed properly. Would I go back - YES!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverhome407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,650
    3,688
    1,620
    576
    329
See reviews for
1,119
3,090
1,173
1,897
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,474)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Really happy with the choice we made to stay here. The rooms we stayed in was quite small but was clean and new quality decor and fittings. It is in a perfect location. The buffet breakfast was good. When we arrived for breakfast it was quite busy but the manager was brilliant and managed his staff well so that the tables were being cleared quickly. The consierge was fantastic and booked a west end show for us with minimul fuss. Well run place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

A popular and well-run hotel. Location is great to explore central London. With all major bus lines converging on the Strand, you can get to almost anywhere by the buses right outside the hotel. It is a huge operation, with almost 800 rooms, so do not expect a particularly cosy atmosphere, but the staff is friendly, you have a large variety of food to choose from at breakfast etc, the wi-fi is fast and is for free, and you can ask for a very convenient 5pm checkout. Ok, it is not the Ritz, but it well worth the money in my view.

Room Tip: 1. As there is a renovation going on at the moment, and there is scaffolding on the outside, it is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donor_kebab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

I have stayed here many times on buisness but this time was a three night stay with hubby for my birthday. We booked an internal executive king and must say I can not fault our stay. Yes the room was hot, but we got the warm spring weather. The new executive breakfast room is an oasis of tranquility and you miss the morning chaos in the main breakfast buffet. It was the first time I have been in the Mask bar and took adavntage of the half price cocktails - best margarita I have tasted. The location is excellent for both business and vacation. I have stayed on a Strand facing room in the past - it was noisy but this is London. The view from the internal rooms is non existent - just the back of other rooms, but because we were out site seeing all day no problem here. Staff attentive, polite and helpful - what more could you ask for ?

Room Tip: internal rooms are quiter but no view - take your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank louise_999Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012 via mobile

I stayed just one night for a business meeting. My room was small but was very clean and up to date. For the centre of London it was the quietest room I have ever stayed in and wooden shutters meant it was pitch black, both prerequisites for a girl from the country! My bed, although just a standard double was really comfortable but I think it would be too small for two!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#27 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#16 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#243 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $221 - $394
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing