We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great room, plenty of space” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St Martins Lane London Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Ranked #70 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great room, plenty of space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

We were very surprised by our stay here. First, we arrived early, around 11 AM, and they had a room ready for us. They also gave us a welcome card with a small gift, a bright yellow luggage tag. The doorman was great, and Cassandra at the desk was fantastic. The doorman showed us to our room, and the lift was plenty big enough for 3 adults and our luggage. We were shown how to change the color of the lighting in the room (which was so cool) and after we had time to settle in, Cassandra called to make sure it was satisfactory. The bed was comfortable and the room had plenty of space for us and our luggage. There was even a separate Wii room, that had a TV and a Wii, and you could borrow free of charge Wii games (and movies as well). the bathroom was large and had a nice shower and plenty of vanity space. Great location, easy walk to the tube and Covent Garden. Lots of bars and restaurants, as well as theatre's, as it is in the Theatre district. Absolutely recommend this hotel!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Patricia, it is lovely to know that you were surprised and delighted by the hotel and the service, thank you very much for the great comments. We are so pleased that you had a memorable experience and we very much appreciate your recommendation. Now that you have found us, we look forward to welcoming you back again and please let us know when you are next visiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,522
    622
    170
    74
    32
See reviews for
283
1,067
154
548
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

This is the third time I have stayed here, and this time, I was disappointed. the hotel looks shabby! for a hotel that prides itself on its funkiness....well now it's just shabby once you get above the lobby. walking along the corridors to your room used to be darkened lights which added to the groove, now it seems to highlight the carpet that needs desperately to be replaced and the paint that's shabby.
these guys are resting on their laurels.
the staff used to be super helpful, now they seem too cool to do their jobs.
room service...chips were basically raw.
the cleaning staff were always in the room, but the cleanliness has gone downhill.
the power points are located in bad positions, u have to clim

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Peta, we are so sorry to note that you were disappointed on this occasion, particularly when you have previously written such a positive review. We would never presume to rest on our laurels, attentive service standards and an exemplary look are always a priority. We replaced corridor carpets last year and unfortunately these have not worn as well as we had anticipated so we will be replacing again in early 2013, when we are also planning a number of room refreshments. We very much hope you will consider a fourth stay with us when you are next in London. At that time, please contact jesper.soerensen@mhgc.com to personally oversee your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This is a lovely hotel with an amazing position, a few minutes from Leicester square and covent gar garden. It is a very modern property, the reception area being very minimilistic, probably a little too minimilistic for my preference. Checking in was a pleasant experience, we did have to wait till 3 as the hotel was busy, but they took our bags no problem.

The room was spacious for central London, the best part was a nice sized bathroom, not having a bath wasn't a problem. The toiletries were great. The room also has sky sports, a bonus for me but not the mrs! the bed was very comfortable and the AC did its job.

We ate at Asia De Cuba and had the taster menu. It was quite expensive at £60 pp plus service but it was amazing, as was the service. Most people sat near us shared a starter and main.

We also had breakfast and that too was outstanding. I the minute steak which was lush.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C---cumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your great comments on service, location, room and Asia De Cuba. We have just introduced a new entertainment system for the rooms including more choice of channels such as Sky Sports. We will also always look to have rooms available for early arrivals and if this is not possible due to occupancy levels, we will securely store luggage for our guests. We hope you’ll be back to enjoy another stay with us, we also recommend the Light Bar for a delicious cocktail or two. Please let us know when you are back in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stayed 2 nights for my final leg of my trip.
Location is simply amazing. I cant even begin to describe how central and good it is.
Watch out though when trying to find it as no name is marked and no numbers so I walked past it more than once in my 'jetlag' state of mind.
Checkin was good, speedy and friendly. I had a lovely australian girl and she was a pleasure to deal with. I had a few questions the next day with a gentleman and it was not so good. Imagine he was having a bad day...
The hotel itself is very cool to look at. Very very modern which I loved. Great lifts and mood lighting.
I had a patio room. So my own courtyard which was nice. The room is very oddly designed. Its big but no room so people may find it frustrating as I did as I had more than one suitcase and was tripping over them to go to the toilet or shower. The shower and toilet are in the middle of the room on opposite sides. You could not do more than a few nights in this room. But I still enjoyed it. Its super clean.
I have to make mention of the front doormen who look like they belong at a nightclub (big and burly) they were so helpful and so much fun! running up the street to get me a cab was over and beyond.. loved them so much! thanks to them!
The thing that got me about this hotel is its 5star but no Free Wifi - its 10 pounds a day! insane when you think its free in many cafes in europe and even other 5 star hotels in London.
There are no tea/coffee making facilities if thats what you like - you have to get roomservice which charges for delivery AND gratuity so be warned a 18pound burger ends up being 25 when all added up.
Although a special note, on checkout I was allowed the extra hour with no charge so that was nice.
Overall there are better options for the price but if location is your thing then you cant beat it. ( it's perfectly located for Shaftesbury Avenue, Covent Garden,Soho and shopping in Regent Street).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galacticastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Lana, thank you very much for your review and we’re so pleased that you chose to spend the last nights of your trip with us. It’s also great to know that the bell team, housekeeping and the Front Desk created a memorable experience for you, however we are sorry if service was not so attentive from any other member of staff. Our rates will fluctuate with occupancy and our website offers special promotions (e.g. including wifi) throughout the year. We hope you’ll be back in London for another visit at some point and would be delighted to welcome you back to St Martins Lane, please do let us know when you are returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Service was ok, food was ok. Breakfast was excellent and location was pure perfection. The big minus for me was the size of my room. I couldn't even get in with my bag and had to climb over the bed to get to the bathroom. Expensive cocktails but worth it because the golden bar was amazing. Nice walk from Soho nightclubs.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naiga78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesper S, Director of Rooms at St Martins Lane London Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, it really is ideal for sightseeing, shopping, and partying, and we are delighted that this was a particular highlight for you. It’s also lovely to know that you enjoyed the cocktails in the Light Bar, we have an amazing mixology team. If we had been aware of any disappointment with the room, we would have been pleased to show you some alternative options. Our website has descriptions and images of all our room types and we hope you’ll have an opportunity to stay with us again, please let us know when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#78 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#41 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,719 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Martins Lane London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Martins Lane London Hotel

Property: St Martins Lane London Hotel
Address: 45 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in London
#58 Business Hotel in London
#62 Romantic Hotel in London
#64 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $338 - $786
Hotel Class:5 star — St Martins Lane London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the bustling Theatre district in London’s Covent Garden, St Martins Lane is a dramatic and daring evolution on English luxury. This boutique hotel retains all the youthful, unexpected charm of a London hideaway, at the very heart of the art-loving, energetic West End. St Martins Lane is truly a hidden gem – a newly renovated lobby welcomes guests into high-concept design with the sophistication of a modern museum and the joy of a carnival light show. The soaring and theatrical space, a reinterpretation of Philippe Starck’s original lobby, plays with colour, proportion, and movement in a way that energises every guest and inspires active self-expression for the duration of the stay. Guests can begin their journey in the Den, a modern gathering place and decompression zone. Situated just off the lobby, the Den is the perfect place to enjoy Afternoon Tea, play a game of backgammon or sip on a Gin & Tonic. The decor is warm and sophisticated with a tongue-in-cheek British flair – even the art on the walls is irreverent, animating the space with larger-than-life portraits and visual puns. Embrace the journey with a striking new look from London’s finest hairdressers at the neighbouring Jones & Payne salon. Luxurious treatments and innovative vision make this salon a place of new beginnings and creative expression. At night, guests will find a hidden entrance to Blind Spot, an innovative cocktail bar, behind the tea counter’s posh facade. Blind Spot is a golden cocktail sanctuary designed like a modern hunting lodge and inspired by the colours and aromas of exotic tea leaves. Light and colour continue to enhance the guest experience in every corner of St Martins Lane - interactive light displays brighten each room, transforming them into spaces of youthful excitement and changing mosaics of colour. Special garden rooms offer private patios and floor-to-ceiling windows that invite the vibrancy of the city into every room. At the newly renovated Asia de Cuba, concept chef Luis Pous joins restaurateur Jeffrey Chodorow to offer a dynamic Latin-Asian fusion menu in an inspiring space. Guests can explore all the unpredictable delights of London and end the day with an invigorating workout at Gymbox Covent Garden, London’s most unorthodox fitness experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, HotelTravel.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your St Martins Lane London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Martins Lane London Hotel London
Hotel St Martins Lane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing