We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL 5 STAR HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Royal Horseguards
Ranked #115 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
glos
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL 5 STAR HOTEL”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

From the minute we arived and our car was both discreetly and politely taken away for parking we knew htis was a great choice for a glamorous weekend. The hotel is sophisticated and slik with a polite and friendly approach to its guests.

The room was beautifully presented with every need catered for, within easy reach of theatres and restaurants the whole experience was relaxed and comfortable.

Breakfast was fabulous and attention to detail is second to none.

Highly reccommend this hotel to anyone looking for relaxed ambience but 5star service and appearance.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chelenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for the fantastic review and it is such a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our aim is deliver the service that our guests so rightly expect these days from a leading 5 star hotel. I am pleased that you found the staff polite and friendly, while providing attentive and discrete service.

Thank you for highly recommending us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,116
    1,001
    329
    138
    55
See reviews for
709
2,323
139
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great hotel, but room not ready when arrived and had to wait till nearly 6 o'clock before we could get in. We had booked the upgraded room, but found that it was no different except for the price. Shower didn't work, but had no time to have it sorted as we were on a tight schedule. Had breakfast in room which was superb, but then it should be for £20 per person. Enjoyed our stay and will use again despite the niggles. Brill location compensates for everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkVenturer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
I am pleased that you happened to find us through Secret Rooms. I am also delighted that you found your room to be fabulous, clean and well equipped.

I am however disappointed to learn of the errors mentioned. Such small things may seem trivial but rest assured I will personally ensure that we learn from these mistakes and take steps to ensure they do not reoccur again. There is no excuse for poor attention to detail and I apologise personally for the shortfalls you experienced during your stay.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the near future. If so please do contact the hotel directly and we will ensure a seemless stay, assuring you of our best attention.


Kind Regards
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We just got back from staying 6 days and 5 nights in London. We stayed at the Royal Horseguards Hotel. It was 'lovely' my new English descriptor and very appropriate for this hotel. We overlooked the Thames River and the London Eye. We could walk almost anywhere we wanted to go. The War Rooms were just around the Block, Big Ben greeted us as soon as we stepped out of the Hotel and the Staff was Great!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma52_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review of the hotel.

Here at The Royal Horseguards, we pride ourselves in being able to deliver service excellence at all times. We do have an unrivalled location, with many of London’s top attractions in walking distance. However we are only a few minutes' walk from the Embankment tube station if you wish to go further afield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Having read all the reviews on this hotel I decided to book it for a birthday celebration. I managed to get Executive King rooms with a View with the 50% discount in January. We had 2 great rooms 645 and 740 with views over The London Eye. They were excellent in every detail. We ate out in the evening but did have breakfast in the morning. The only thing that could be improved was the breakfast timing as between 10 and 11am on a Sunday morning is a very popular time. Also it should be pointed out that anything taken out of or moved in the mini bar is charged to your room after 30 seconds which can catch you out if you just move something in the fridge but do not use it. Good tip is to request rooms higher up if you are at the front for the view and the rooms on the end 645 and 745 are especially splendid. Basically you get what you pay for but there are regular offers to be had with this hotel group.

Room Tip: Choose Executive King rooms with a View on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilma887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay with us. It’s great to hear that you felt your stay was value for money. We do run various room and food and beverage promotions throughout the year, so please keep an eye out for them on our website. However if you know your plans are definite, our advance purchase rates are very competitive as you have already discovered.

I do agree about reserving a room with a river view at the time of booking, as this prevents any disappointment. The vista over The Thames and the London Eye is iconic of London and always makes any stay extra special and these room are often the first to be booked up in advance.

With regard to the breakfast on Sundays, I do agree that its very popular between 10-11am due to it been a weekend we try our very best to accommodate all of our guests for breakfast and that’s why we have extended opening hours until 1100 am.

Our mini bars are operated on an automated basis so items are automatically charged if moved and we do endeavour to point this out to clients but we are in the process of making it clearer on the in-room collateral as well.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the future for another wonderful stay.


Kind Regards
Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We were lucky to chose this hotel via secret rooms and, except for the wrong newspaper twice, an incorrect bill, tried to charge for 3 not 2 at dinner and the wrong date for a wine on the wine list, were totally delighted with the hotel. Great location, fab rm, on the 5th floor overlooking the thames, the room was spotless and kept that way all the time all consumables replenished twice a day

Room Tip: If you do use secret rooms its worth upgrading for a thames view, slightly more noise but great atmo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galensmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLondon, General Manager at The Royal Horseguards, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Thank you for submitting your feedback via TripAdvisor following your recent visit to The Royal Horseguards.

I was sorry to learn that you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay. Please let me reassure you that your concerns have been noted and the necessary action taken to improve these services.

I was however, pleased to note your positive comments about our location. We truly are in the heart of London, giving you the opportunity to see so much in such a short time.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we forward to welcoming you back to again the next time you are in London.

Kind regards,

Anna-Marie Dowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#20 of 1,069 in London
3,787 reviews
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#14 of 1,069 in London
2,520 reviews
Westminster
Conrad London St. James
Conrad London St. James
#52 of 1,069 in London
3,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
St. Ermin's Hotel, Autograph Collection
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,069 in London
4,016 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Horseguards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Horseguards

Property: The Royal Horseguards
Address: 2 Whitehall Court, London SW1A 2EJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Family Hotel in London
#60 Business Hotel in London
#100 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $311 - $537
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Horseguards 5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This majestic five-star hotel presides over the River Thames. From glittering chandeliers to contemporary design, this central hotel near the London Eye reflects a proud heritage. Expect more, with free wi-fi throughout the hotel, fully refurbished Victorian splendour, award-winning dining, afternoon tea and sumptuous river view suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your The Royal Horseguards reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Horseguards Hotel London
Royal Horseguards London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing