We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highlights & some lowlights…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ibis London Earls Court
Ranked #457 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some highlights & some lowlights…”
Reviewed 25 March 2012

At first we were pleased with reception, but when we asked about internet the receptionist seemed cold. We had been told there would be internet access available in the lobby, but it turns out we had to pay extra. This would have been OK, but the wireless was extremely slow in the evenings and so was not much use. We had hoped to finalize travel plans (e.g. check museum floor plans, schedules, etc.) online and so not having reliable internet access certainly reduced the productivity of our days. There seemed to be a business centre in the lobby, but we were not invited to use that.

Our room had twin beds although we had booked for a double bed. It smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. A call to the front desk informed us that there were no other rooms available and the entire hotel was “non-smoking”. We had pre-paid through our travel agent and so felt stuck.

Having read many helpful reviews on Tripadvisor, we requested a room away from the lifts and at the back—this was good because it was really quiet (Lillie Road is very busy)—we ended up with room 510 (not high enough for a view). There were some noise issues with guests around us on a couple of nights mid-week, but security took care of that in a reasonable manner. We liked being able to have the windows open as the hotel is kept rather warm. Beds were reasonably comfortable and there were extra pillows in the closet. Overall, the room was a good size for the city and there was a lot of storage space in closet/drawers—almost like a former dorm.

Thankfully, though the carpeting and furniture were worn, the bedding seemed extremely clean and fresh; the bathroom was kept spotless during the week (though the tub mat was sketchy). Taps were contrary, but showers were hot. The towels were clean and good quality, but once we requested 2 extra towels & only 1 was delivered. We were happy that we brought our own soap and shampoo along as there was only a tiny bar for hand washing (not replaced) and some liquid shower soap in a wall dispenser. There are some convenience stores/pharmacies nearby.

Hairdryer was found in the desk drawer, but had to be used there as the cord ran through the back of the drawer to the wall. This was a little awkward at times.

TV seemed to work fine, but there wasn’t a radio in the room—we like to listen to morning news and such.

Hotel is very close to stadium (Chelsea) —could hear the cheers one night with the window open. Likely lots of fans will stay at this hotel.

Hot and cold breakfast buffet offered a wide range of options, not super high quality, but a good basic start to the day. We had supper in the hotel pub 3 times—great service, excellent food, good price—convenient. There were several pubs in the neighbourhood.

The staff at the information desk sometimes seemed helpful, although we were told we could have boxed breakfasts on our last morning and this did not come to pass. This wasn’t mentioned to us on the day we booked a taxi to leave early for the train to Paris either. Our room rate included the hot and cold buffet yet we were not able to access it twice over 6 days—not sure we’d include that another time.

Hotel is conveniently located on bus routes and very close to West Brompton Station (District Line), although we also used Earl’s Court station on a number of occasions. We were able to take the tube from Heathrow (Picadilly Line) to hotel as we had only carry on luggage and it was a short walk—doubt it would be worth switch trains to go to West Brompton as the walk wasn’t too far from Earl’s Court (as long as you don’t go out the Earl’s Court side!). Walks felt safe—there is a police station across from the hotel—neighbourhood seemed fine. We had to take a taxi to the airport for departure because the public transit didn’t start early enough on Sunday for our flight.

Not sure if we will stay at this hotel again, but we were thankful for the cleanliness (great housekeeping staff) and relative quiet. We’re also not sure about value for money as we seemed to pay much higher rates through our agent than are advertised.

Room Tip: Away from lifts, higher floor, at the back (not facing Lillie Road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    707
    2,184
    1,107
    217
    123
See reviews for
838
1,566
408
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bekasi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I stayed here during my Summer holiday in 2011. I love this hotel.. Especially I had London Eye as my view. The location is good. It isn't far from Earl's Court underground station.. It has a business centre which has computers and internet available for guests.

Room Tip: Ask for London Eye view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I feel like a good shower is key to a good hotel stay, and this hotel delivered. Hot, strong stream, deep tub. Great!

Beyond that, everything about this place was average. It served my needs fine, which were a clean place to sleep near the underground as I explored the city. The hot/cold breakfast buffet was satisfactory but the scrambled eggs were a disgusting mush of powdered eggs and the brown beans were cold. The cold portion of the breakfast was fine--yoghurt, fruit, croissants, toast and jam. The coffee was only fair, but I'm a coffee snob. :)

The George & Dragon pub was actually pretty good. I had the sausage and mash which was quite delicious. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather_tilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I stayed in the Ibis in Earl's Court on 15/03/12 for one night on business and found it an excellent value-for-money base for staying in central London.

The hotel is located a short walk (less than 5 minutes) from West Brompton tube station which is on the District line.

I was checked in without any fuss and made my way to my room on the 9th floor. There were four lifts and they were fast and efficient - no standing about waiting for ages!

I found my room to be basic but clean with plenty of towels, hot water, good TV, comfy bed, nice view, no complaints at all.

Would certainly stay again and recommend it, would be a good base for anyone going to a Chelsea match as it is only one stop away from Fulham Broadway!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ISawAnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed for six nights the last week of February in a room with one double bed. The room was adequately sized (but small compared to North American hotel rooms) and equipped OK. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Our room booking included the full English breakfast and food was plentiful and nicely laid out but pretty much the exact same stuff each day. Fortunately there is enough selection that you can vary your breakfast a bit.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night and the food was good, the beer was cold, and the service was prompt. Prices were OK. We didn't bother with the pub as there is a nice pub just down the street, about two minutes away.

The hotel is located only a 3-4 minute walk from West Brompton station which is one stop from the Earls Court station. We used the Underground and buses exclusively for transportation and found this to be an excellent way to get around. If you're staying for more than a few days purchase the 7-day Oyster Card.

We had the concierge book a one-day trip to Windsor Castle, Stonehenge and Bath for us and the service was good. No problems with the booking and the person at the desk in the morning made sure we were in the right place for pickup.

I would recommend this hotel and we'd likely stay again if in London.

Room Tip: NO real view from the back of the hotel but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gutch2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Hammersmith / Fulham
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
Ibis London Shepherds Bush
#231 of 1,068 in London
1,923 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Whitechapel
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
Ibis London City-Shoreditch
#327 of 1,068 in London
3,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis London Earls Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis London Earls Court

Property: Ibis London Earls Court
Address: 47 Lillie Road | Earls Court, London SW6 1UD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Best Value Hotel in London
#376 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $106 - $264
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis London Earls Court 3*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis London Earls Court is located in West London, 500 m from Earls Court exhibition centre, 2 min from West Brompton and 5 min from Earls Court underground station (District and Piccadilly lines). 3 km from Knightsbridge, it has 504 rooms, a restaurant, a typical English pub serving snacks 24 hours and undercover pay parking. 8 meeting rooms seating up to 1,200 persons. Wireless Internet access available for guests on business stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ibis London Earls Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis London Earls Court Hotel London
Accor London Earls Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing