We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very, very, small room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Ranked #528 of 1,087 Hotels in London
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very, very, small room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Hotel location is a little bit dodge, there's some people using drugs near buy during the night. The Hotel was clean, breakfast was very average, but the room, OMG, it was 2 people, for someone to move around the room the other one need to sit in bed. The bathroom was clean, and had a good size, but there's no heating and was freezing in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaviaGois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    552
    320
    113
    62
See reviews for
176
407
196
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
274 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I've stayed a few times at this Best Western hotel, with deals via DHR of £70-£80 per night B&B which is excellent value in London, The hotel is clean, room comfortable enough and the location near Earls Court station is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristolreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Do not get a room at the front. Very noisy. A youth hostel opposite had people out on the street all night who were very noisy.

Convenient for Earls Court Tube station.

Lone female colleague allocated a ground floor room right on the road at the front!

Breakfast hidden away in the back and very average.

Would not stay here again. Have stayed in the middle of the West End for less and had much better.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lymbo32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Travelling with work this hotel was chosen as it offered WiFi, advertised secure offsite parking @ £28 per night (advertised on website ) and had the Best Western brand.
When I booked on line I expected an option to come up for the parking, but as it did not I phoned the hotel for assistance. The lady I spoke to did not know anything about the parking, nor did her colleagues, so I sought alternative parking options.
When we arrived at the hotel, the reception is very nice, but the staff were a little unhelpful (but not rude).
I checked into the room which was very small, although this is not a problem for me but may be for some. It was quite worn and in need of a refurb.
I tried to use the WiFi but this did not work, and when I asked at reception was told there was nothing that could be done
The major problem with this hotel was that it was impossible to sleep in the room I had.
The room is next to the lift, which is very old and very loud. This creaked and clunked every time it was used.
There is a youth hostel a couple of building down, which had revellers outside and in the park opposite all night. I have no problem with people enjoying themselves, however the single glazed window did nothing to prevent the noise.
The bed was like sleeping on a sack of potatoes. It was worn, uneven and lumpy.
I did ask at reception if there was another room available but unfortunately the hotel was apparently full. I did not get one minutes sleep.
There are some plusses to the hotel. The rate was excellent @ £69 per night, and it is perfectly situated for the tube.
However I feel the negatives outweigh the positives and it is not a hotel I will be using again, and I do not feel it is worthy of the Best Western Brand.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank p47r1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed at the Burns last weekend with three friends and all of us agree that it is a clean, cosy hotel. The single rooms are small but warm and cleaned to a high standard. The bathroom is small, functional and very clean.

Our rooms overlooked the park at the front of the hotel and the birdsong in the (early) morning was a nice sound.

A big fresh flower arrangement adorned the entrance hall, which adds a certain ambiance. The staff were helpful and we were able to store our luggage on our departure day.

A nightcap can be enjoyed in the little quiet bar.

So, a pleasant experience in a most convenient location. We all agreed we would stay again and the bonus was the very reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Front of hotel rooms face a nice little park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186605Beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#584 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
South Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
Ibis Styles London Kensington
#589 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#269 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#497 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington

Property: BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Address: 18-26 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #528 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $125 - $225
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing