We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place, close to tube and plenty of space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
Ranked #116 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a real find - recommended by our travel agent, as I was not keen to look for something online as there are so many options for a family, and some would be hit and miss.

We loved our apartment at the Mansions. We got pick up from LHR from a very friendly driver and in no time were in Earls Court at the front door. Met by efficient staff, quick check in and then up to the room. We were on top floor, which means lift and then a small flight of stairs to our apartment.

The apartment was a one bedroom, but is very large - even had a balcony looking out to Earls Court Rd. Full kitchen with washing machine/dryer. Jnr CorporateFlyers (x 2) has a fold out bed in the lounge.

We loved the space, and being in a London "neighbourhood", We could shop at the local Sainsbury, have breakfast/lunch in and had a good Thai takeaway one night in. Earls Court has everything you need (although did struggle for a good coffee) and the tube is very convenient (and no9 change required on our departure to St Pancarass for Eurostar). The Mansions is a (good) walk to Holland Park and also quite close to the museums.

Only downside was that the wifi was "down" - this seems to be an ongoing issue from other posts - if they can fix that, then it would be perfect.

Definately head back next trip to London.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CorporateFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for No 1. The Mansions by Mansley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We have stayed here 3 times and have had a good homely apartment each time. The apartments are on a main road just a block down from Earls Court Station and buses run nearby, so all very central to most areas of London.
The apartments are well fitted out, roomy bedrooms and comfortable and pleasant furniture. The kitchens are well equipped and there are good local supermarkets close by for all your grocery needs.
We felt very comfortable, it gave us the experience of actually living in the city rather than just holidaying in a hotel.
The management of the apartment was very low key as we had no need to contact them for any reason. The cleaning was carried out on a daily basis and very reliable.
We have had a one bedroom apartment and two bedroom apartments and in each case the living areas were very generous with good space for dining. The bedrooms were quite a good size, typical of a normal apartment with good storage.
Loads of local dining experiences nearby.
We would definitely recommend this apartment complex for families.

Room Tip: Try to have one of the apartments serviced by the lift, not to have to carry your bags up the final...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

My family of 4 (children aged 7 and 10) and my mother stayed here for 5 nights and were thoroughly impressed. Although we didn't have much to do with the staff, they were very helpful when we did. The location is excellent on Earls Court Road, close to everything including the tube station. We were lucky enough to get a top floor room ( which had access to the roof top)and although the lift didn't go to the 6th floor and we had to take our bags up the last (narrow) flight of stairs, we were so pleased to have the room they gave us. Our apartment had an extra (small but perfectly fine) room so we ended up with 3 rooms and 2 bathrooms. The bathrooms were fantastic and totally renovated and modern and the kitchen and laundry facities were perfect for your needs. The apartments were cleaned splotlessly and the beds were very comfortable.
I would thoroughly recommend The Mansions Apartments to families, couples or friends who are looking for a self contained apartment in London. I would definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunQueensland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We stayed at the Mansions for two weeks and enjoyed the convenience of the location to the station (3 minute walk) and the variety of eating places from fast food to pubs to restaurants all around the vicinity. We had a flat on the 6th floor, 2 bed, 2 bath 6 sleeper unit for 4 adults. The living area was open and spacious, the main bedroom was a good size while the second bedroom was smaller, with two single beds. The bathrooms were small but not uncomfortably so. Great view of the area from the balcony. Overall, by London standards, it was spacious.
It was fully self catered and we made good use of the amenities available, especially the washing machine and dryer, which was key to our light packing strategy. We were able to enjoy breakfast and dinners on most nights at home, courtesy of the M&S across the road. The bigger supermarkets of Tesco, sainbury's and Waitrose are all within walking distance (around 10-15mins) where you can pick up anything you need.
For the football fans, Stamford bridge is in walking distance (about 15-20mins) and the exhibition centre is on the opposite station entrance.
The flat was cleaned 5 days a week, and staff at reception were always helpful and friendly.
All in all, it was a good stay at the Mansions and I would consider using this apartment again should I return to London for a visit. For larger groups, it does offer value for money.

Room Tip: If you're young and strapping, the 6th floor won't be a problem, however if not, then select...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Burgeoning_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

The location is very good if you don't plan to spend most of your time in central London. You can take the Tube from Heathrow and arrive at Earl's Court in about 35 minutes. The hotel is only 100 metres away. There are several restaurants, pubs, cafes and grocery stores nearby.
The studio was spacious by London standards and I did not hear a sound from the neighbouring rooms, The manager was welcoming and helpful. One major complaint is the free wi-fi. They have several wireless networks available but all were extremely slow or non-existent in the 5th floor. Check-out time is 10 AM.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tripperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#51 of 1,072 in London
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#64 of 1,072 in London
3,768 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#154 of 1,072 in London
836 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#139 of 1,072 in London
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1. The Mansions by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1. The Mansions by Mansley

Address: 219 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London SW5 9BN, England (Formerly The Mansions Apartments)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#245 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $210 - $740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — No 1. The Mansions by Mansley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No.1 The Mansions by Mansley is an elegant property built at the end of the nineteenth century, offering a superb selection of extremely comfortable serviced apartments including large three and four bedroom Mansion Apartments. Apartments are distinct and offer spacious accommodation of character, individually designed and decorated. Apartments range from studio's to four bedroom apartments offering a choice of layouts to suit the needs of everyone from business travellers to large family groups. In this lively and cosmopolitan part of London there are numerous cafes and restaurants suiting all budgets. Or if you prefer to stay in and self-cater, the fully equipped kitchens will meet all your needs. The superb shopping of Westfield London, Europe’s largest urban shopping mall, the King’s Road in Chelsea and High Street Kensington are all a short distance away, with Harrods and Knightsbridge also close by. London’s major attractions are also easily reached, including three of the finest museums in the world and exhibitions at Olympia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, ACCOR, Odigeo and Ctrip TA so you can book your No 1. The Mansions by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansions Apartments Hotel London
Mansions Apartments London
Mansions Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing