We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined and luxurious”
Review of Dukes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dukes Hotel
Ranked #133 of 1,073 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2012

There are some hotels that just get 'it' right, and Dukes is one. Of course that is only if you want what we want which is: A quiet but convenient location, friendly but efficient staff, no fuss, immaculate, comfortable and spacious rooms, luxurious bathrooms with good quality toiletries, an atmosphere of opulence without bling, service of the first order, night or day, and overall, that indefinable sense of 'Englishness'. Well, maybe Dukes nearly gets that last category right, although a little New York is obvious in one or two aspects of the staff training, but maybe that's not a bad thing. Our only criticism was the food. The restaurant at the time of our visit was serving 4 star food at 5 star prices. Nevertheless, we will certainly return, if only to return the umbrella given free to us with no fuss when we had a short stroll in the rain on leaving. Those are the touches that count IMO.

Room Tip: ask to avoid rooms overlooking the entrance yard.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambler601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank for you taking the time to share your views. It’s lovely to hear the team looked after you so well and that our beautiful hotel is becoming your London home.

We welcome all feedback and have passed on your comments to our award winning Executive Chef Nigel Mendham, whom looks forward to meeting you on your next stay at DUKES LONDON. Should you wish to discuss anything further please do contact us directly.

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,468)
There are newer reviews for Dukes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,161 - 1,165 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Dukes Hotel boasts not only an excellent location but the happy combination of modern conveniences and a 19th century ambience. The clientele are smartly dressed and sophisticated for the most part, and the extremely popular bar is renowned for its translations of the Martini and other cocktails. The staff at all levels is well-trained and quickly responds to any reasonable request. The rooms are comfortable and quiet; a guest can easily imagine he or she is simply visiting a friend's weekend home.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2012

Thank you for such a lovely post. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a memorable time with us. The team are so pleased with your wonderful comments about our charming boutique hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home for another Martini or two!

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The atmosphere of Dukes seems genuinly English with elegantly furnished drawing rooms and cocktail lounges. The rooms are modern and pleasantly decorated, excellent beds.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a luxury room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klodrik190479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your kind words. At Dukes London we aim to provide a truly luxurious experience whether you are joining us for a sumptuous afternoon tea or a Martini or two. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely

Iain Haigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We decided on a fantastic treat for my daughter and I to spend some quality time together, in London, and not having to rush back home. Dukes was the perfect answer. In the middle of Mayfair tucked away is this jewel of a hotel. We had so many plans to go out and once we arrived we didn't want to leave this comfortable, warm and welcoming hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and service was impeccable. Would I recommend this hotel to others? 100% yes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrah_Dhugga, General Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for such a lovely post. We always aim to provide a home from home for all of our guests and to exceed expectations. We are all delighted to hear that we succeeded! I do hope you are well and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards,

Debrah Dhugga
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the hotel. From the warm Davina who checked us in and showed us round , to the lovely gentleman who brought us tea in our room. The staff are the greatest asset in this hotel. Our room was lovely and you did not feel you were in central London . Breakfast was lovely. Thank you for a very nice stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IainHaigh, Guest Relations Manager at Dukes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you ever so much for sharing your thoughts on your visit to Dukes London. It’s lovely for our team to be recognised as we do invest so much in them. I was particularly pleased to see that you enjoyed every facet of Dukes and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!!!

Kind Regards

Iain Haigh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#29 of 1,073 in London
1,173 reviews
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,073 in London
840 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#27 of 1,073 in London
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#120 of 1,073 in London
4,023 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#21 of 1,073 in London
1,435 reviews
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dukes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dukes Hotel

Address: 35 St. James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in London
#96 Romantic Hotel in London
#109 Family Hotel in London
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
#134 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $458 - $1,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dukes Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded “Europe’s Leading Boutique Hotel” and the “World’s Leading Classic Boutique Hotel”, DUKES LONDON is a hidden gem in the heart of St. James Mayfair, where quintessential British charm and the finest luxury mix together to create a timeless atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Dukes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dukes Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing