We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chesterfield a truly english experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Chesterfield Mayfair
Ranked #14 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The chesterfield a truly english experience.”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

we stayed at the chesterfield for 3 nights from the 24th of feb this year and i must say it was truely a relaxing, enjoyable stay. The staff are friendly and genuiene giving the hotel that extra nugget of traditional english charm which was a nice touch in a hotel located right in the heart of london making us feel very at home and comfortable throughout the 3 nights we stayed. As we were on a romantic break the staff had just the right level of friendly chit chat and manner without being too overbearing which one might find in other hotels but not the chesterfield!
Its location is right in the centre of mayfair which was amazing as you are about 15 mins walk from all the major tourist locations as well as a 5 minute walk from greenpark tube station which has acess to all the major underground stations in the area. The neighbouhood is really clean and safe and if you just want a romantic walkabout its quite the spot. Its many cafes and restaurants allow you to really get a feel for the area also.

The room was beautiful and quite clean and really created a relaxing romantic atmosphere and with each room in the hotel having its own theme it truely gave a unique feeling to the trip. as it was my partners birthday the hotel staff had placed a card and cake in the room on out arrival which was quite a nice touch. one can tell the staff are quite dedicated to making your stay as relaxing and memorable as possible. The bed itself was so comfortable and as the hotel is quite and realxing if you want a good nights sleep you are guarenteed to wake up feeling a million dollars.
The food is also out of this world with a wide variety of choice on offer and although we are currently experiencing a recession i believe in paying for good qualtiy and if thats what you are after the chesterfield is for you. The chesterfield is quite reasonable in its room rate for the quality of care and attention the staff give and in my honest opinion i will most certainly be back even just for the bed alone!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grace k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review.

I am thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and the room was to your liking. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

Thank you highlighting what a brilliant location we have; I am sure your fellow travellers will appreciate your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,594
    420
    80
    27
    12
See reviews for
612
1,367
183
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I spend three nights in the Chesterfield when in London on business recently and I can't speak more highly of the place. I got a beautiful corner room with pleasent views of the Mayfield streets below. The breakfast was delicious, in particular the freshly made smoothie. I look forward to returning to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pac16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review from your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful business trip with us. It is always good to receive such positive feedback from our guests and I will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff members.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and to enjoy some more smoothies at breakfast!

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Chesterfield overnight on 25th February. Everything was delightful. Our beautiful room was themed around music: I had visited for tea ten days before, and somebody had noticed that I had a viola with me. Meals were most enjoyable, very nice food and excellent service. Above all we are so impressed by the staff. Everyone is friendly and welcoming, and you immediately feel completely at home.Everything is done to perfection, with no fuss. We do hope to stay again in the future, feeling we have had a real holiday in the course of a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review.

I am thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful stay with us and the beautiful “Music room” was so enjoyed. I will be sharing your kind comments with my team and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 649 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose the Chesterfield for a Saturday night as they had a decent rate for B&B at £230 which also included two tickets for the David Hockney exhibition at the Royal Academy. The Chesterfield has a great reputation on the TA site and it’s not hard to see why - the staff are some of the most pleasant we have encountered anywhere and the location is simply superb, on a quiet residential street in Mayfair and within easy walking distance of many tourist hot-spots and great restaurants. They also park your car for £40 for the night, not bad for London.

The style of the hotel is highly traditional, which means it’s old-fashioned, with heavy leather sofas (Chesterfields), floral flocks and patterned carpets all screaming at each other. We specifically asked for a non-Chintzy room and got a rather cramped rooftop garret which had three svelte suede walls, one wall completely mirrored and a rococo chandelier. It was striving to be exotic, erotic even, and for one night it was perfectly acceptable. The view from one window was of a brick wall about six feet away and from the other it was the same wall with a little bit of another building. Hemmed in like this meant total quietude, amazing for London, so we slept like babies. The room was well-equipped with a wall-mounted flatscreen TV, free internet and complimentary mineral water. The bathroom let the side down a bit, mainly because of a small shower cubicle and poor water pressure.

Downstairs it’s a bit dark and gloomy, oppressive even, though I think maybe some tourists look at this florid Edwardian style as quintessentially English; after all, isn’t life for everyone in the UK just one long Downton Abbey? The hotel’s restaurant, Butler’s, is slightly brighter and they did a decent cooked breakfast with excellent bread and strong coffee. There is a nice outlook on to handsome courtyard belonging to the next-door building; a pity the hotel can’t take it over for al fresco meals.

The Chesterfield is a pleasant three-star hotel which doesn’t pretend to be anything more.

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oraggett, General Manager at The Chesterfield Mayfair, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Guest,

It’s very kind of you to take the time to share your positive comments with your fellow travellers.

I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I will be sharing your kind comments with my team, and I know how pleased everyone will be to hear that their efforts to deliver an exceptional experience have been appreciated.

I would like to thank you in advance for recommending us to your friends and family and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Chesterfield Mayfair again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Excellent tea, friendly and attentive service, lovely surroundings. Would certainly recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldEssexgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#18 of 1,067 in London
3,659 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,067 in London
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Mayfair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Mayfair

Property: The Chesterfield Mayfair
Address: 35 Charles Street | Mayfair, London W1J 5EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#13 Romantic Hotel in London
#14 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Green Hotel in London
#41 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $343 - $1,229
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chesterfield Mayfair 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enviably located in exclusive Mayfair, near to designer shopping and many of the city's most iconic attractions, the Regency style hotel feels comparable to a traditional private club. Quiet, calm and efficient service blends with supreme comfort and luxury. Guest rooms and deluxe suites combine superb facilities with relaxing surroundings. The Library, Butlers Restaurant, Conservatory and intimate bar cater for every culinary whim or inclination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Chesterfield Mayfair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel London
Chesterfield Mayfair Hotel
Chesterfield Mayfair London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing