We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Ranked #539 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

A decent budget hotel. Service fine, rooms well appointed and very clean, could do with heavier curtains. Breakfast was ok but the bar was a little dull. The walk from the tube is short but feels unpleasant in the dark, wouldn't be much fun with heavy luggage either.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euchrid1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear euchrid1978,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

I am glad that you were basically happy with the Hotel but a little surprised by the comment regarding the walk from the Tube station. The reason for my surprise is that it is just about 400 – 500 meters from the tube up a straight and well lit road. The road and the paths have been recently rebuilt which include the path and lighting all being completely replaced by the council as it is a main thoroughfare to the Olympic park. There is still a bit of work being done but I feel it is probably one of the easiest walks from a station to a Hotel in London.

I hope the walk for the station doesn’t prevent you from choosing to stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    365
    222
    65
    52
See reviews for
200
235
71
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

I recent stayed at this hotel with my family in 2 rooms over 2 nights in mid January 2012. I chose it as it was on the outskirts of central London that had adequate parking. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The interior of the rooms were both basic but fine and sound proofinf through walls was fine however the corriodors echoed with noisy other guests. Our room faced the front of the building onto Silvertown Way and you could view the top of the O2 arena and the Canary Wharf buildings, however the police cars raced up and down each night we stayed there 3 or 4 times.. If I stayed here again I would need to face the back of the building away from the road. The tram and tube statioin is about 100 metres into central london. A Private hire taxi into central london will cost about £30-35. Breakfast is very basic and totally self service ( cooked-, scambled eggs, sausages and beans, cereals, toast and pastries) and all plates are quite small. Booed via laterooms at £88 a night, room rate at the hotel was £220 per night. so had good value for the money. I do not think the full £220 is worth it.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the back over looking the car park to reduce road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear kartNottingham,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a detailed review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

There were a lot of positive comments about your stay that we appreciate very much, with regards to the sound of sirens running up and down the road. I’m afraid that is a part of the night time sound of most great cities in the world today. I hope this didn’t affect your stay too much and that you will definitely be choosing to stay with us again.

We look forward to your next visit with us the next time you’re in London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Chose this location for a 1 night stay purely for location in relation to the O2 arena and it was a good choice.

Pros
Close to DLR
Better than average free breakfast with multiple stations for each item (great for busier times) and hot options
Although bed looked uncomfortable, I actually got a good night's sleep. 2 pillow options (hard/soft) are also available
Good selection of digital channels
Reasonably powerful, height adjustable shower
Room preferences were taken into account at check in

Cons
Poor double glazing - draughty & road noise could be heard (although too busy a road so could have been worse)
Usual budget hotel thin walls
Took several phone calls to resolve booking issues:- I booked the prepaid option for 2 rooms with 3 people in total on Holiday Inn website. Subsequently my credit card was charged with the wrong amount so had to call customer services who advised that individual hotels tend to split bookings for multiple rooms to generate separate booking numbers and they had incorrectly assigned 3 people to each room, generating a £35 additional person charge on each room. In the end by the time I arrived everything was sorted out but took a number of phone calls/emails to resolve

Would definitely stay again if the price was right

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finestfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Finestfur,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a balanced review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

I am sorry that trying to resolve the extra person issue seemed so difficult. If I might suggest if your having any issues with your booking in the future, please don’t hesitate to ask for me and I will endeavour to resolve the issue more efficiently for you.

We look forward to you choosing to stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We had a fantastic weekend, the hotel was very clean and bright. The staff were very helpful and welcoming.
The room was clean, modern and the bed was extremely comfortable ( particularly for me as am 8 months pregnant!)
Breakfast was delicious.
Location was very covenient, as I was visiting the o2 and the Tate, the tube was 1 minute away.

Room Tip: Great view of canary Wharf on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear vicki c,
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review of your stay here at the HIEX Royal Docklands Hotel. We really do value your comments as they show us how we are really doing and help us to improve where necessary.

I am very proud of my team and so please that you had a great weekend. I am particularly glad that you found the beds comfortable considering the fact that your 8 months pregnant. I wish you the very best of luck with the pregnancy.

We look forward to you choosing to stay with us again upon your next visit to London.

Kind Regards
Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Thanks for Cassie, Karina and Bonnie! Great staff: very helpful. Great hotel for holiday stay. Highly recommend it for all occasions! Thank you very much

Room Tip: Excellent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHAUN F, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Dear Jula J,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding my team. I have passed on your appreciation.

We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel upon your next visit to London
Kind Regards

Shaun Fitzgerald
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Travelodge London Docklands
#574 of 1,067 in London
1,099 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Holiday Inn Express London - ExCeL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Prince Regent Hotel Excel London
East End / East London
Crowne Plaza London - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands

Property: Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Address: 1 Silvertown Way | Canning Town, London E16 1EA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price range (per night): $122 - $494
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of London's dynamic Docklands area and is only minutes away from Canary Wharf and the Excel Exhibition Centre. London City Airport is only 2km away and Canning Town Tube and Bus Station is within few minutes walk. The O2 Arena is also a short distance away (only one tube stop). The Holiday Inn Express London-Royal Docks/Docklands Hotel has 136 fully air conditioned en-suite bedrooms. This London hotel has spacious family rooms. All rooms have High Speed and Wireless Internet facilities (chargeable).Visitors to the World Travel Market, International Boat Show, Toy Fair, London Wine Festival and Anthony Robins Exhibitions will all find the hotel ideally situated. Meeting and Conference rooms are spacious with natural daylight, convenient for local business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands Hotel London
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing