We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Ranked #199 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First rate hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My neice and I stayed in this hotel for one night and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The hotel is beautiful, very comfortable and the service is awesome!!!! The location is very good, right next door to Knightsbridge tube station and across the road from Harvey Nicols. We have stayed in Singapore which for me slightly has the edge but would return here again. The rooms are beautifully decorated with very very comfortable beds and excellent bathroom. Was it expensive..Yes...Was it worth the money...Maybe not...Would i stay here again....Absolutely!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a courtyard room, and best rate of the day. Rooms are a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crispy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    228
    106
    61
    38
See reviews for
199
362
56
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

My wife and i received a gift card from friends for the Mandarin Oriental. It was denominated in US$ but, as the voucher was purchased in £sterling in the UK, we assumed it would reflect the £sterling amount. It was for $300. I checked the FX rate 30 minutes before arriving and saw that it would be about £147-150. It transpires my friends had chipped in a ver generous £150.

However, we were informed that it was worth only about £130 when we arrived. I checked with the hotel's internal bureau de change desk and found that, not only did they apply their own harsh exchange rate completely unreflective of the market rate, but they also took commission on the exchange. I complained and got nowhere- i didn't want to ruin the evening so didn't go as far as i would have liked. The man behind the desk smugly said we could use the voucher in the Mandarin Oriental in Boston USA without incurring the commision/fx rate. Obviously, this was extremely unhelpful as we imagine few London cabbies would accept that fare. This left a very nasty taste in our mouths. We checked with our friends to see if they were told of this. They were not and were appalled. They said they would not have bought the voucher had they known. There are countless hotels/restaurants offering vouchers w/out the skim off the top.
Long story short: if buying a voucher for for the Madarin Oriental, be sure to factor in that they'll take 20% before you've even walked through the door.
We used the voucher for a meal at Dinner. I don't know whether Mr. Blumenthal is aware of the situation but, as it overshadowed the evening, I will not comment further other than to give this warning to others and 1 star.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and we apologize for the confusion regarding our Gift Card programme. Mandarin Oriental Global Gift Cards are sold and stored in USD, and credit card charges occur in USD. We have reviewed your check and can confirm that the amount applied from your Gift Card to your restaurant bill was GBP 177.68, not GBP 130. We try to make the process as clear as possible and do not look to profit from currency exchange. We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the redemption of your Gift Card and hope you will give us another chance to delight you at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Cairns, Director of Communications, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

I just love the standard of the Mandarin Oriental Group. The service is always extremely friendly with no flaws in it. The location of the hotel is excellent both for shopping and all the tourism acitivites. The rooms itself are fine but compared to other cities in the world small (which is the common thing in London).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed here for four nights in Jan 2012 and had an overall excellent experience save for one hiccup.

Arrival has you received very well and the location is excellent accross from Harvey Nicholls plus also immediately above a main tube station on the Picadilly line. The concierge was very helpful, as were check-in staff. EG asked concierge about going to Leonardo Da Vinci exhibition and he gave us low down on ticket issues in London ... so that didnt happen (face value £15, price if wanted to get from broker £150).

Room was excellent, large airy, very comfortable and very quiet.

Ate in Bar Bouloud which we had booked several weeks earlier! - shown to a nice table, sat down, offered a drink waiting for menu - and then asked to move as the waiter advised they had kept it for someone else!. Then showed us towards a rather awful table in a long row of very close tables...... just about to walk out, when a very adept manager spotted what was going on and headed the whole issue off at the pass. Well done well handled and saved the day with a perfectly sensible excuse and a pre-dinner champagne on the house. We were smiling again. Food good, but atmosphere a little too casual for us on the night. Probabaly prefer to try Heston's restaurant next time. We also ate one night in the bar after the theatre - they are not really geared for this as the bar area is too busy to do this properly, but a club sandwich was good and when we did get a seat we were well looked after very well

The hotel does not apper to have a large sitting area so its either the bar or your room. The decor is good though throughout.

Room Tip: We had a corner room which had some great views over the city. Not at all noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
571 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My friends paid £250 for a giftcard In the London hotel for me to have a great meal at "Dinner", but when it came to paying my bill after the meal they said the card was only worth £180 !!!
It seems they have a nice little scheme going where they convert the card to USD, then convert back at their own extraordinarily bad exchange rate, therefore making a nice margin for themselves. A real shame as the restaurant was very good, but my only defence was to take the service off the bill, which wasn't fair to the staff. However, beware the rip off card scheme !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO_Hotels, Public Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for visiting Dinner by Heston Blumenthal and for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal but apologize for the confusion regarding our Gift Card programme. Mandarin Oriental Gift Cards are sold and stored in USD, and credit card charges occur in USD. We have reviewed your particular case and can confirm that the original Gift Card value purchased was approximately GBP 180, not GBP 250. We do not look to profit from currency exchange and attempt to make the process as transparent as possible. We apologize for any misunderstanding regarding the value of your Gift Card and hope you will give us another chance to delight you at Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London in the near future.

Sincerely,
Sarah Cairns, Director of Communications, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Knightsbridge
Bulgari Hotel, London
Bulgari Hotel, London
#63 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Belgravia
The Park Tower Knightsbridge, A Luxury Collection Hotel, London
Belgravia
The Berkeley
The Berkeley
#68 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#39 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London

Property: Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London
Address: 66 Knightsbridge, London SW1X 7LA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#90 Business Hotel in London
#137 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Family Hotel in London
#151 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $779 - $3,127
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With bustling Knightsbridge on its doorstep and leafy Hyde Park at its rear, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park is London's most prestigious address. Blending sumptuous guestrooms with a world-leading spa and a stylish bar, it is the definitive destination for a luxury escape. With two award-winning restaurants including Bar Boulud, London and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal, and a new Afternoon Tea salon, The Rosebery Lounge, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park stands at the culinary centre of the capital. On 19 September 2016, Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London will be embarking on an exciting restoration designed to significantly enhance the facilities of the hotel. The property will remain open throughout the 18-month renovation, which will be undertaken in two phases in order to minimise disruption to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park, London Hotel London
Mandarin Oriental London
Mandarin London
London Mandarin Oriental
Mandarin Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing