We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in London: charm, atmosphere, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #161 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreatCthulhu
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in London: charm, atmosphere, location”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I travel to London a great deal for my job, usually 2 weeks every quarter, a schedule I've maintained for the last four or five years. And every trip, I've stayed at The Rookery. here is why:
1. beautiful building; a series of Georgian rowhouses joined and beautifully, even "lovingly" restored with period detail. Dark mahogany walls throughout, period furniture and fixtures, each room with its own personality and charm.
2. Wonderful, attentive, helpful staff
3. LOCATION: Smithfield Market is right across the street, and beyond that, old St Bart's, St Bart's Hospital. Within walking distance are St John's Square, Clerkenwell Green, Cloth Fair, Charterhouse Square, the Holborn Viaduct at St Sepulchres, St Paul's, the City... need a go on? For a lover of English history, this may be the best-situated hotel in London.
4. LOCATION part 2: great dining abounds. St John, of course, but also great little pubs like Fox and Anchor, the Well,, the Crown at Clerkenwell, and two wonderful little Italian places right on Cowcross Street.
In short, its perfect for a special overnight/weekend or a long stay on business. I've come to regard it as my home in London, the greatest city on earth, and can't praise it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatCthulhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    136
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
37
267
49
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed here the night before embarking on our honeymoon, although we hadn't mentioned that we had just got married.

We arrived late afternoon on the Friday and as there was no booking for one of the suites they upgraded us! A real treat :)

The staff were lovely, the decore enchanting and the cat charming. The breakfast was delicious and delivered promptly. I have no quarms about eating breakfast in bed - especially in a four poster.

We enjoyed it so much we've booked in again for the Easter weekend, and budget permitting, would pick this hotel as our regular stop over when in London.

The Oyster & Chop bar just around the corner was wonderful also, and just a stones through from the Hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms look wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabeanie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we went to a friends 40th at nearby restaurant named St John (very good) which was literally round te corner. The hotel itself is the Smithfield area - very historic witha neighborhood feel to it. A great base to explore London if you were thinking of doing so! Plenty of good shops and restaurants nearbuy - especially St John and Gaucho Grill,

The hotel has a 'romantic, step back in time Shakespearean' charm to it, very nicey decorated and very nice room with all the mod cons discreetly hidden away. Antique bed was lovely and great to sleep on, bathroom was lovely and products stocked in there were great. The loubnge area had an honest bar - and was lovel;y and welcoming, we spent time chilling out there in the morning.

We didn't order room service or eat there, so comment comment on them. The staff we met were polite and helpful.

This typE of boutique hotel isnt for everyone, but if you want a romantic hotel with charm and good old fashioned service then this one would fit the bill.

Quiote expensive, but you get what you pay for in London generally,.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whufc71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This is a beautiful, little hotel. A gem. You'll find a good combination of old charm and modern conveniences like wifi and widescreen tv.
The staff is friendly and you can mix your own drink in the bar.
The only things I missed was a breakfast restaurant. Many good restaurants in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soreide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We picked this hotel based on user reviews and proximity to where we wanted to go. Most of the reviews were very good so we decided to go with that.

We booked the double room and were given a room at the top-most floor. Good points; relatively spacious, cool headboard, sweet bathtub, high ceiling with chandelier. Got a heck of a workout climbing all the way up and down everytime we went out. Not sure if good or bad.

Bad points; no complimentary water, coffee nor tea. When we asked the staff about that, we were told we had to pay for them at the bar or through room service. Seriously?! No shower stall so we had to shower in the bath tub that had no shower curtains, so water went everywhere. Sink was really tiny, could barely wash hands nor face properly. No iPod dock in room even though stated on website.

In short, despite the friendly staff who held our bags when we arrived early, the hotel simply didn't live up to the hype and great reviews. It certainly wasn't value for money.

Other than it's location, there was really nothing else in our stay there that made it worth the money we spent on it. Wouldn't stay there again nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Madibaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#103 of 1,088 in London
862 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#272 of 1,088 in London
1,400 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#215 of 1,088 in London
131 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#160 of 1,088 in London
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#129 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $282 - $569
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing