We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere, great service and luxury”
Review of The Rookery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rookery Hotel
Ranked #172 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, great service and luxury”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Tucked away down a smart little pedestrian passageway, this cosy well-appointed hotel has bags of character, complemented by a one of the best front-of-house teams we have ever come across.

Arriving early to drop our bags off, we were able to go directly to our room after a warm welcome. (The hotel is small enough for the front of house team to almost know your name before you register.)

We were very fortunate to have booked a junior suite, but in fact be upgraded to the Rook's Nest, the stunning duplex penthouse suite occupying a corner of the top floor and the tower. From here we enjoyed a good night's sleep in the quirky yet opulent Victoriana-inspired suite.

Every request for room service and off-spec items was met promptly and in good humour, with one of the staff members going without his links for an evening as my husband had forgotten to pack his.

There were no tea/coffee items provided in the room, but asking for it from room service turned out to be much quicker than making it yourself.

There is also no restaurant on site, but an innovative room service menu offered freshly cooked 'modern British' food that you would want to eat, eg bacon sandwiches and pies and mash, rather than the over-fussy finds of the larger, particularly chain, hotels. The mini-bar is also appealingly stocked and fairly priced with niche brand chocolate and fine wines.

The hotel is all extremely well-placed for both Clerkenwell's well and less well-known restaurants, with bags of choice within tripping distance. Sensibly probably why the hotel doesn't have its own on-site cafe/restaurant.

The owners and staff of The Rookery Hotel clearly know their stuff (owning Hazlitt's in SoHo) and have created an atmospheric luxurious boutique hotel with all the finishing touches of a great hotel, but in their own style and to their own vision.

Seriously, hats off to you all and a great big thank you.

Our stay was top-drawer quality and we hope to come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarmadukeHussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    136
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
38
269
49
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The hotel is in a part of London hadn't considered staying in before, however, would deffinately go back to the Smithfield area. The property is historically appointed as a building of such character should be. Very comfortable, homely and peaceful. You're in the middle of London so you're bound to get some outside noise, however, all the original windows have a layer of double glazing. All the staff are attentive and helpful. Would be handy to have a kettle and tea/coffee facilities in the bedroom. Big old clawfoot free standing bath and nice toiletries...
Breakfast seemed expensive for what you were offered, however, London is London... Round the area are some great pubs and restaurants, bars etc. So you can pop out for breakfast 1st thing and eat locally at night. In 15 mins or so you can be in various areas for shopping/theatres etc. Really enjoyable stay in a unique hotel.

Room Tip: On a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TBJHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I stayed at the hotel at the end of a few days in London. It is easy to find from Farringdon Station. Upon arrival I was very impressed with the care that had gone into the decoration of this hidden gem among London hotels. The receptionist was lovely and allowed me to check into my room early. I loved the honesty bar and the conservatory was bliss. A very helpful member of staff then showed me to my room and pointed out the essentials before wishing me a relaxing stay. The rooms all have names of significant people whose story relates to the building and the local area (no rooms numbers...I like it). I stayed in the Jack Ketche room. Very comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom with great REN products. It never felt as though I was staying in a hotel, it was more like a guest room in a family home. The pictures of the rooms on the hotel website reflect the attention to detail. Breakfast was delivered promptly to my room and it was delicious. Check out was friendly as well. I know where I will be returning to when I next visit London. Thank you to all the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

My new husband and I stayed here on our wedding night. Everything was so perfect - beautiful furniture, furnishings, lighting etc. The rooms was really comfortable and I loved the roll-top bath. The staff were all really helpful and I was especially pleased to have a little cuddle with the lovely cat in residence!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessRLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Wife and I had a wonderful stay over the weekend of 23-26 September. The hotel is beautiful and has been tastefully restored, including marvelous antique furniture. Our room was very comfortable with lovely bath and beautiful, comfortable antique bed. The room was very spacious to accommodate our luggage and acquisitions following 2 weeks of antique shopping in Europe! We especially enjoyed quiet time in the lounge and the small patio area in the evening, and also for our morning coffee. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Located near great restaurants such as HIX and St. Johns. Smithfields is just up the street, and Farringdon tube station very close (with direct rail service to Gatwick). New windows in the hotel ensured we were not disturbed with street noise, even though there was a major night club event on Sat, night very close to the hotel. Warm weather while we were there, and A/C worked great. The hotel is very pricey, but it is in London. Wonderful place to spend a special occasion for 2 or 3 nights, do a little shopping, take in the theater, and have a great meal at HIX!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim-Claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Hotel
The Zetter Hotel
#103 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#265 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clerkenwell
The Zetter Townhouse Clerkenwell
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#144 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Soho
Hazlitt's
Hazlitt's
#125 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rookery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rookery Hotel

Property: The Rookery Hotel
Address: 12 Peter's Lane | Cowcross Street, London EC1M 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#99 Family Hotel in London
#104 Business Hotel in London
#114 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $300 - $724
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rookery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Agoda, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rookery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing