We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief stop on the way back from Paris”
Review of Number Sixteen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number Sixteen
Ranked #288 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Chose this hotel after researching the internet because I wanted a couple of nights in a part of London I know using it as a base to visit our son, go to a cinema and then attend a concert at St Martin in the Fields. Took a single room [305] which although very compact [particularly the ensuite] was very clean and comfortable [great bed!], well decorated and supported by great room service in terms of cleanliness and attention. Perfect for me. Breakfast well done, loved the 'Honesty Bar' concept and the staff were most friendly and helpful. It is well situated just off the Old Brompton Road but quiet with simple access to South Kensington underground. Good to go and explore my old college haunts although the Kings Road is much changed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j4c4h4d4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

268 - 272 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

After travelling as a nanny with 3 small children for 6 weeks throughout europe this hotel was the best ever!! We were welcomed from the minute our transfer parked till the minute we left! nothing was to much trouble for any member of staff including helping with pram issues and getting milk warmed up at 3am! breakfast was beautiful presented fresh each day... we had interconnecting rooms on the top floor so quiet and there was always someone to help me with shopping and the things i had forgotten!
cant recommend this hotel highly enough great service great location very comfy beds and quiet enough to allow anyone to sleep for days..
will def stay again and wouldnt hesitate to recommend to business family solo and couples

if only all hotels operated like this travel would be so much more enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kel969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Staying at this hotel was part of a 60th birthday trip for our mother that we organized with my sister. We couldn't have chosen a better hotel. Not only is the location excellent and the hotel style very much to our taste, but we also felt like very special people during that weekend. Service exceeded our attention, all staff members without exception strived to make our stay perfect: excellent tips for restaurants (which they helped us book), birthday drink on the house and other nice gestures.
Also worth mentioning is that the flowers that we ordered for the occasion were not only beautiful but also excellent quality. they lasted for a long time afterwards and kept our mother happily remembering her weekend.
We also loved the breakfast in the courtyard room, however it might be tight on weekdays during "business people" peak hour.
Also note that rooms are on the small side, but this is largely compensated by the nice living room, and of course by the fact that there's a whole city to enjoy out there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petitdobrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We stayed overnight at No 16 and what a gem of a hotel. Just at the back of South Kensington it is really quiet. Greeted by friendly staff and a mince pie we were shown to our Deluxe room which was clean and comfortable. It has the feeling of a house. There is an 'honesty bar' and there is an ample selection on the Room Service menu if you wish. The breakfast in the morning was fresh with a really good selection of fruts, cereals and you could have something cooked should you wish.
All the staff were friendly, courteous and I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Absolutely perfect! Sweet and cozy hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexander222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#47 of 1,075 in London
3,388 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,075 in London
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#136 of 1,075 in London
746 reviews
South Kensington
Adria Boutique Hotel
Adria Boutique Hotel
#531 of 1,075 in London
205 reviews
South Kensington
The Exhibitionist Hotel
The Exhibitionist Hotel
#242 of 1,075 in London
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number Sixteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number Sixteen

Address: 16 Sumner Place, London SW7 3EG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in London
#191 Family Hotel in London
#210 Luxury Hotel in London
#211 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $360 - $680 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Number Sixteen 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number Sixteen forms part of a row of gleaming white stucco mid Victorian townhouses. It originally opened in the 1980’s and instantly became popular with discerning travellers looking for an alternative to the larger Park Lane hotels. Now several years on, the hotel has a Firmdale point of view. Kit Kemp redesigned the hotel in her signature, fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Number Sixteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number 16
Number Sixteen London
Number Sixteen Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing