We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Florence Nightingale Museum
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Florence Nightingale Museum
from USD 83.93
More Info
from USD 46.03
More Info
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
213
232
106
23
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
213
232
106
23
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

The museum is small - 3 different areas within one room, well laid out with a variety of interesting and different types of displays suitable for all ages/abilities. We found it most interesting, and I particularly enjoyed it as my grandmother, aunt and I all worked in a hospital.
As we live near Florence Nightingale's Derbyshire home, it was particularly interesting for us to see the writing case donated to her by the villagers who lived near her.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, there were seats for people who needed to sit down, but no refreshments available on the premises.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank tigerlily954
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveg1987, General Manager at Florence Nightingale Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and I will pass on your comments to the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

This museum does an outstanding job of explaining the life and legacy of Florence Nightingale - not just her own remarkable commitment to nursing at a time when that profession was held in low esteem, but also the way her organizational and leadership skills shaped hospitals, triage units and the nursing profession for decades to come. I learned a great deal about her gifts and interests, which went well beyond nursing the sick. She was a linguist, a naturalist, a world traveler, and a corporate executive who understood everything from logistics to architecture to political advocacy!

The museum also does a fine job of recognizing other nursing pioneers, such as Mary Seacole, a biracial contemporary of Nightingale's who history hasn't treated kindly.

The museum features exhibits on Ms. Nightingale's dress, journals, inventories and other personal items, as well as negative stereotypes of female nurses as portrayed in newspapers, books and movies.

Further enhancing the exhibit are contemporary video interviews with people who explain why they chose nursing as their vocation. Finally, the museum features a staff person who dresses in costume as Ms. Nightingale, and who does a good job of engaging children who come here for school tours, etc.

We were simply astonished by all this museum has to offer! If you have the chance to visit London, I highly recommend this museum.

Be aware that this museum can be a bit tricky to find, as it's on one side of St. Thomas' hospital, and the signage is very small and hard too see. We and a couple of other visitors walked past it, and had to circle back to find the entrance.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank HilaireH116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2017

A true story about the woman who influenced health care
and changed hospitals. A story pitted throughout the museum.
It is broken into three sections.
Kathy of course was interested but I found it incredible how one woman was able to
change so many things and dedicated her life to soldiers and medicine.
One hour is sufficient and well worth it.
It is behind St Thomas hospital

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Summersnuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 October 2017

I enjoyed learning about Florence Nightingale's life and the Crimean war, and her pioneering efforts to raise the standard of care for the wounded soldiers left behind by the armies. I can see why my grandmother, from a humbler walk of life, but idealistic and compassionate, was inspired to enter nurses training in 1915.
This is a cleverly designed museum, and does not take long. If you are interested in the emergence of the nursing profession, it is so worthwhile.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank MaplePine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

Great for nurses to learn about Flo. I spent about an hour in the museum and learned more about how modern nursing was started.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Daydream721955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews