We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over comfort. 5star prices - 0star customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #66 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2010

As trendy as the rooms are, they are tiny with hardly any storage space and no bath. The toilet is separated from the rest of the room by a glass wall which suddenly pushes your relationship to the next level of intimacy regardless of your intentions. In addition to this the room had a potent musty odour.

For the one night we stayed, we were kept awake till 3.30am by noisy neighbours. It took the front desk over an hour to quieten them down. We were then woken early by the strong smell of cigarette smoke coming from an adjacent room.

The service at breakfast was slow and dismissive.

On checking out we weren't asked the standard question: Was everything ok with your stay? We had to prompt the member of staff and tell her our grievences. On complaining about the smell, we were told we were on a smoking floor - although we were never given the option when checking in. They didn't apologize for their massive oversight and the apologies made for the early morning noise, the slow response to the complaint and the poor breakfast service was half hearted. In addition to this, nothing was offered by way of compensation.

We were told that someone from management would be in touch the next day to discuss the issue further and and if we ever decided to stay with them again, they would try to do something for us.

This was appalling customer service from this so-called "5star" hotel. Our day out in London was ruined by the terrible night's sleep. We left with our clothes and luggage smelling of cigarettes and we were given no real apology or compensation. 3 weeks on, we have still not heard from the management of the Sanderson. And there is no way we would ever consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maharajanumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEvans, Guest Relations Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2010

I am so sorry to read about your experience with us, your comments have been shared with the appropriate management and I really appreciate the time you took to express your concerns. We have two smoking floors and I’m sorry if we were not able to allocate a non-smoking room due to occupancy levels. It is certainly not acceptable that no-one was in contact following your stay and understand your disappointment that we let you down. We do hope you will allow us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and please contact me personally at that time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,572 of 1,919 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night last week to celebrate his birthday, and had an absolutely fantastic time. The group which owns the Sanderson also owns several well-known hotels around the world, such as the Mondrian and Delano in Miami – so if you have been to one of those, you will know what to expect. The hotel is a spectacular feat of design: the lobby is sleek and airy with Dali inspired furniture; the interiors of the lifts are hologramic pictures of space – great fun; and both the Long Bar and the Purple Bar are extremely chic and innovatively designed. There is also a stunning Billiards Room, featuring a huge stained-glass wall across an entire room, in which you can play the game.

Our check-in was very smooth and friendly. I had telephoned the night before to ask if we could check in a little early, and this was accommodated. We were also upgraded, which was a nice surprise.

Our room itself was stunning and absolutely unique; large with white walls, light wooden floors and a glass wall to the bathroom area, which made it extremely bright and airy. What made the room unique was that each detail contributed to make it a work of art. The king-sized bed, pedestal in the bathroom, artwork on the ceiling above the bed and shawl on the desk chair were all purposely set at an angle. There was even a small Philip Stark art installation/set of dumb-bells on the wall. The wall to the bathroom/dressing area was made entirely of glass, although there was a white curtain which could be pulled across for privacy.

The bed itself was comfortable, although not as comfortable as most hotels of a similar quality I have stayed in. The pillows were surprisingly hard and there was only one thin duvet which wasn’t quite warm enough for me. Apart from that, we had a very good, quiet sleep. Breakfast in the morning was enormous and delicious – fortunately it was included in our room as otherwise would have been extremely expensive.

We spent quite a bit of time in the Long Bar, both in the evening and during the day. The decor, staff and clientele were chic and gorgeous, as were the drinks. The atmosphere did turn rather sleazy later on in the evening, disappointingly, as it was very obvious that there were many women looking for business and men cruising around the bar looking to meet them.

All in all, we had a fantastic time at the Sanderson and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for something chic and a bit different to your usual 5* experience.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saralondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEvans, Guest Experience Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We’re delighted that you enjoyed the hotel particularly on your special occasion and we always look to go above and beyond in meeting any specific requests and celebrating special days. We would have been happy to provide additional duvet if required. We hope you have a chance to stay with us again and please let me know at that time so I can oversee your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Me and my wife were here only yesterday. We loved the resturant (Sucka, Malay) and the Long bar (Vibrant atmosphere). Good food and drink, the best Saturday night for a long time...we be back there very soon.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank MM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEvans, Guest Experience Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

Delighted you had such a good Saturday night, hope you have a chance to enjoy another weekend with us before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2010

At first glance, the hotel is gorgeous. The lobby is intriguing. The elevators are SPECTACULAR. The rooms are a white filmy dreamspace. But the bedsprings were hard, in spite of the fluffy mattress cover; the room was noisy overlooking the street; the light from the lit number panel on the floor outside shines brightly under the door into the room; and it takes a rocket scientist to get the toilet to flush. I found a good deal on price, but if I had paid full price I would have been very unhappy. Very hip bar scene. The Purple Bar, for hotel residents, is worth the detour for the Lavender martini (although very pricey). Suka, the Malaysian restaurant, is a real treat and not overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEvans, Guest Experience Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

Thank you for the kind comments, we’re so sorry you were let down in terms of lighting, mattress and toilet flush, we’re working on rectifying these. Sincere apologies also that you were disturbed. Hope this will not detract you from returning, particularly to enjoy a Lavender Martini in the Purple Bar and the Malaysian cuisine in Suka. Please contact me at that time so that I may personally oversee your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2010

Got taken here as a surprise by my partner, and from the moment the all black clothed young handsome young men opened he care door and showed us into the hotel I knew I was in for a surprise !

From outside it doesn't look like a hotel ! its so discreet.

Reception was like being at the Guggenheim museum but was so laid back and I stretched out on this massive sofa in the most unusual shape.

Bedrooms were great ! totally blew me away - bed in middle of floor - painting on the ceiling - you name it, it had it.

The lifts were like being in a time machine wisking us away to another world. and that is exactly what it was. No bog standard here, the room numbers are in little light boxes on the floor.

Think hotel Babylon but smarter !

Loved the residents only bar - like Alice in Wonderland. Staff so attentive, you only had to tell them once what you drank and from them on, as you would come to the end of your drink they would very knfdly ask you (would you like a refreshment sir)

Restaurant was amazing, great food.

Did see the Long Bar which looked busy with a lot of wannabes as is non resident bu looked fun !

Totally fell in love with this place and wouln't even think twice where to go again for something special.

Max the card and feel special !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodgate60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineEvans, Guest Experience Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2010

It’s wonderful to read that you felt so special during your stay and I love that you really felt exactly what Philippe Starck wanted every guest to feel when they walked through the door. The Purple Bar is a great haven for residents when they want to escape - like Alice! - from the more boisterous atmosphere in the Long Bar. And talking of Alice in Wonderland, we have a Mad Hatters’ tea menu currently on the terrace and you should try a drink in the Long Bar or on the Terrace next time you are with us. Please contact me at that time to ensure another Wonderland stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#71 of 1,077 in London
1,315 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#27 Spa Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#62 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $392 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing