We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brillant hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sanderson London Hotel
Ranked #54 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
milano
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A brillant hotel.”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Great Hotel to get away from the bustle of London, spacious, minimalist, rejuvenating and refreshing. Staff very polite and attentive. Definitely a recommended hotel to a young, trendy. Very good breakfast in a stylish room.The SPA is really atmospheric with a very nice relaxing room. A brilliant hotel. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    364
    118
    58
    25
See reviews for
156
737
108
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Cool hotel but nothing amazing. Bar and eating areas and the over all unique arty side of the hotel is cool but rooms are not worth the money we stayed in on of the most expensive rooms. It had a bath tub not even jacuzzi and small tv and furniture was cheap. The swan chair was spray painted silver and the room was cold.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jade_1989williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
We are sorry to read that your stay in April 2011 did not meet your expectations and if we had been aware of any concerns at that time - for example, any air conditioning issue - we would have been very pleased to investigate and rectify. We have subsequently introduced a replacement programme for all air conditioning units across the hotel, front and back of house, and are also pleased to confirm a new in-room entertainment system from late May to include more choice of channels and video on demand. Our website includes special promotions and offers so we hope that you will consider staying with us in 2012 and please let us know when you have made a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Great attitude by the reception staff at check in. The Hotel bar staff could try and pay a bit more notice customers. The room was a bit odd with see through curtains, the shower a complete joke, stainless steel taps that were designed so that you could not grip them. Was woken early morning by fire alarm did as was instructed and made my way down the fire escape. It was alse alarm, thanks. Then was told at check out to phone back to claim a possible up grade on my next stay. This is not how you deal with a guest that has been dragged out of bed for no reason. I wont be phoning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dickyhell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on the Front Desk welcome, however it is disappointing if we were not more attentive in other areas. We are sorry for any disturbance from the fire alarm, however we would never compromise the safety and security of our guests and therefore any fire alarm must be viewed as a genuine emergency. We appreciated our guests’ assistance in following emergency procedures and please accept our apologies if our invitation to return did not appear sincere. We would very much like to welcome you back and please let us know if you do have an opportunity to stay with us again so that we may personally oversee your stay, including complimentary upgrade.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Have stayed here 3 times in the last year my favourite hotel ever, Mike the Concierge was extremely helpful and friendly, thanks so much for the upgrade and bottle of champagne on my 21st birthday last month.
Not to mention best tables in the best restaurants including Asia de Cuba in St.Martins Lane Hotel.
Cant wait for my next visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Amy, many thanks for highlighting Mike’s assistance, he is an amazing member of an amazing Concierge team and they are always pleased to offer the best recommendations and assist with the best reservations. We’re also delighted that you have become a regular guest and it’s lovely to know that you chose Sanderson to celebrate such a magical birthday. We can’t wait for your next visit, so please let us know when you are back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We just spent our 11th wedding anniversary at Sanderson and were blown away. The second we got there it was a different world. A few steps away from the Saturday madness of Oxford Street we arrived at about 4pm to a perfect oasis of calm. A wonderful welcome from John at reception got it off to a good start - no fawning like many other hotels, but just pleasant and genuine interest. A quick look around the lobby and you just know it's a very different type of hotel. We had a Deluxe Double on the 5th Floor overlooking the main street. Room was large and plenty of space to move around even with the huge sleigh bed dominating the the room. Very quirky without being over the top, the bed positioned at an angle bang in the centre of the room with a painting from the ceiling above, white drapes sectioning off the entrance to the room, various lighting options & candles, a massive full length mirror leaning casualy against one wall, wood flooring and the best bathroom I've seen to date. A glass wall separates the bedroom from the bathroom with an automatic movable drape curtain to provide more privacy, freestanding roll top bath tub, separate toilet, a huge powerful walk in shower and some quality toiletries. In all a space that we were happy to relax in. Going back downstairs for dinner around 8pm the lobby and bar had transformed into a club-style bar and had a totally different feel to it. We took a table in the garden courtyard where we stayed for the rest of the evening. The menu has changed since we last ate there and now it's just Malay rather than Asian-fusion, but this new menu works much better and with more value for money. A few more cocktails after dinner while the DJ did his thing and that was our evening. All the restaurant team were great and attentive but not too much so that it was anoying - spot on. Next morning the public areas were back to the relaxing cool as it was when we had first arrived. Didn't want to leave the next day - thank you Sanderson - pure quality - will be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slinkytroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin R, General Manager at Sanderson London Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thank you so much for such a great and detailed review, you have really captured the style and ethos of Sanderson. We’re always delighted to welcome guests on their special occasions and it’s lovely to know that you had an opportunity to try – and enjoy - our new Suka menu and cocktails during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 12th anniversary – although hopefully you will have a chance to stay before then. Please let us know when you are next stepping into the oasis of calm that is Sanderson and, on that occasion, we hope you will also have an opportunity to enjoy the oasis of tranquillity that is agua, our urban bathhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#76 of 1,088 in London
1,069 reviews
Fitzrovia
Charlotte Street Hotel
Charlotte Street Hotel
#34 of 1,088 in London
655 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
3,077 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
1,406 reviews
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanderson London Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanderson London Hotel

Property: Sanderson London Hotel
Address: 50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in London
#26 Romantic Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#52 Luxury Hotel in London
#61 Family Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $420 - $724
Hotel Class:5 star — Sanderson London Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lavish "Urban Spa" in the heart of London’s West End, Sanderson offers a retreat from the bustle of the city into a world of fantasy and wellbeing. The landmarked 50s building has been transformed into a surreal Cocteau-like dream world, epitomizing a “new luxury” that is smart, pared down, and tempered with a healthy dose of wit and irony. Sanderson’s indoor/outdoor lobby is a layered and sophisticated environment that is totally original. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Sanderson London Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Sanderson Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing