We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious hotel, a real treat.”
Review of The Dorchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Dorchester
Ranked #44 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Luxurious hotel, a real treat.”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

A wonderful hotel, staff very polite, professional, and not snobbish like some staff in hotels we have stayed at, they couldn't do enough for u? Our room was spotless, and quiet. Champaign, cake and chocolates complimentary in our room. Bed and pillows very comfortable. We had cocktails in the bar which were lovely, and breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattkristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Dorchester. Please be assured that I have shared your kind comments with the rest of the team.
We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future.
Kind regards,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    221
    83
    31
    23
See reviews for
272
608
107
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Afternoon tea at the Dorchester is a great experience. The restaurant, the staff, the atmosphere and the food are all excellent - you are made to feel very special. Last year we had tea at the Dorchester, this year at the Ritz, (both visits were Christmas presents) and the Dorchester knocked the Ritz into a cocked hat. Both serve wonderful food and plenty of it, but the cakes at the Dorchester were to die for. We were shown to seats while we waited for our table to be prepared and the staff couldn't do enough for us, appearing every few minutes to pour out more tea, or to refresh the pot. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyR131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PromenadeDorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I’m thrilled to hear your kind review of Afternoon Tea at The Dorchester. I will be very pleased to share your kind comments with the rest of the team.
We hope to welcome you back to The Dorchester again in the future.
Kind regards,
Max Paret, Food and Beverage Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed at The Dorchester on many occasions since 2008 and every visit has been exceptional.

We have tried other Luxury London hotels but always come back here.

For a truly luxurious experience you can't do better.

Enjoy breakfast in your room, rather than the Promenade or Grill, it will arrive on a trolly table with fabulous china and gets your day off to a great start.

Some of the superior rooms (cheapest) are a little small but still lovely and unless you prefer a bath, request a walk in shower as not all rooms have them!

Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have better views. Request a room with a walk in shower unless you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments about The Dorchester. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you have chosen to return to The Dorchester through the recent years.
On behalf of the hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With best wishes,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We have stayed at the Dorchester numerous times, however I have only been contributing to tripadvisor for 18 months or so. We have always found the hotel to provide a top class experience, if anything I think the standard has improved, the staff are very friendly, efficient and pleasant. The rooms and beds are very comfortable indeed.The only negative on this occasion was the noise of a band until past 1 am on Friday night,, we usually have a deluxe room but this time had a lower grade superior room with interior roof view, I don't know whether this is why we had trouble with the noise, the deluxe rooms overlook Hyde Park. In any case it kept my wife awake ( I wore ear plugs and consumed plenty of alcohol). We have stayed numerous times at other hotels in London. The Ritz - a beautiful palace hotel with gorgeous large bathrooms, the Lanesborough - an old fashioned elegant hotel with butler service, Claridges - a beautiful elegant art deco hotel with a wonderful atmosphere, the Savoy which has recently had a fantastic high quality make over. I would recommend all of these hotels to anyone looking for a top class hotel in London but our overall favourite is the Dorchester, hopefully we will return in the not too distant future if we can raise the extra cash for a deluxe room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobTayloruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit to The Dorchester. I was very happy to read that you have chosen to return to The Dorchester on numerous occasions, it is our pleasure to welcome you on each visit.
We do hope to welcome you back to The Dorchester in the future. Please do let me know if there is anything that I can do to assist prior to your next visit.
Kind regards,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Our first stay at The Dorchester, very impressive lovely room, comfortable bed with gorgeous pillows. Superb bathroom with fantastic shower.
All staff very attentive, would certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thedorchester, Manager at The Dorchester, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your first stay at The Dorchester. I will be sure to share your kind comments with the rest of the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Dorchester again in the future. Please do contact me if there is anything I can assist with prior to your next visit to London.
Kind regards,
John Scanlon, Hotel Manager
The Dorchester, Dorchester Collection
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#50 of 1,068 in London
1,096 reviews
Belgravia
The Lanesborough
The Lanesborough
#25 of 1,068 in London
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#22 of 1,068 in London
1,404 reviews
Mayfair
The Connaught
The Connaught
#6 of 1,068 in London
826 reviews
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#5 of 1,068 in London
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dorchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dorchester

Property: The Dorchester
Address: 53 Park Lane | Mayfair, London W1K 1QA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in London
#37 Romantic Hotel in London
#44 Luxury Hotel in London
#58 Family Hotel in London
#64 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $828 - $1,628
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dorchester 5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dorchester occupies the most prestigious acre and a half of real estate in the world, in the heart of Mayfair overlooking the glorious green expanse of Hyde Park. The preferred hotel of British society, The Dorchester embodies the highest service values whilst its design and character exude 1930s glamour with a contemporary edge. Prized for its spacious and beautifully designed rooms and suites, The Dorchester’s restaurants and bars - Alain Ducasse, China Tang, The Grill and The Promenade – also attract Londoners and the glitterati alike. The Dorchester Spa was recently transformed to create the most desirable and indulgent pampering destination in London with a uniquely named Spatisserie for tea and cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Dorchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester Hotel London
Dorchester London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing