We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Greenwich
from USD 16.40
More Info
from USD 98.20
More Info
from USD 39.30
More Info
Reviews (5,632)
Filter reviews
3,289 results
Traveller rating
2,201
930
125
17
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,201
930
125
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maritime museum royal observatory cutty sark prime meridian naval college meridian line queen's house painted hall foot tunnel tea clipper fan museum indoor market thames clipper day trip beautiful park boat ride sunny day
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,289 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

If you are not a science lover you might not be super interested.
So first when you go in the disctrict and if you are living in the city you might find it "empty but yet peaceful" (compared to Londons rat race)
Its only a short walk to Greenwich park (which by the way is AMAZING in the fall ,I am sure and all the other seasons too but the colours of the fall are taking your breath away!) I dont think there is a bus going from the park to the station or the oposite.
Then in the left of the park you will find the maritime museum which is super colourful and fun and large with a lot of space for children to play and things to be seen. I dont think i have ever enjoyed a museum that much!
Then you need to go all the way through the park up to the hill to find the Observatory. The entrance is £15 for an adult and £10 for under 25yrs old (proof must be shown)
The meridian line is inside the garden of the observatory and you will find it easy - everyone is queing for a picture! Then you can go and explore the observatory it's like a little museum. Also - the view from the garden towards the park - is mezmerising and stunningly beautiful!

Thank Tourist42967635022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

A great area to come and spend some time either shopping or doing the attractions or taking in the ambience of being in a fab place by the river

Thank pingu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rich in history, architecture, and of course, the beautiful Greenwich Park. A place to visit with all the family. Lots to see and do, plus the Comedy Club is well worth a visit in the evening. Brilliant craft market during the week, and weekends. Something for everyone, and great for Christmas shopping. Its like Covent Garden in Greenwich, but much greener. There are also boat trips on the Thames Clipper, very reasonably priced .A great place to get off is by the Tate Gallery and Saint Paul's. So much to see and do, one of my favourite places to visit.

Thank Sue19682014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is one of the best parks in London, there are a lot of things to do and the park looks beautiful.

1  Thank Flyer02826255319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From greenwich market or going to the conservatory to see the greenwich meantime or visit the cutty sark
Or just to look around the shops, greenwich is well worth a trip to.

Thank Melbguy3805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Back in school Geography happened to be one of my favourite subjects. During middle school, Greenwich became one of the favourite names and keeping modestly aside, I must admit that I was one of the very few students who knew to pronounce it right.
Ever since, Greenwich remained imprinted in my memory as the place on the globe, very close to the city of London, United Kingdom through which the imaginary line running from the North to the South Pole, numbered zero degree and named The Prime Meridian passed by.

My daughter knows me thorough and through and she was very well aware of my fascination for the place; hence she had made Greenwich a part of our London itinerary.

Apart from my already exiting knowledge of Greenwich, I learnt that the other places that attract tourists to it are the Cutty Sark, the O2 Arena, the Royal Naval College, the National Maritime Museum, the Queen's House, Old Royal Observatory overlooking the beautifully landscaped, sprawling 183 acres Greenwich Park.

Today Greenwich is a World Heritage Site and is most famous for Greenwich Mean Time.
Maritime Greenwich on the Thames is also a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

How to get to Greenwich:

Greenwich falls in Zone 2 of London’s travel network and it is accessible from the city in more ways than one.

City Cruises :
Boats providing excellent views from the open air upper deck or comfortable saloon depart from four piers near Westminster, London Eye, Tower of London and Greenwich at intervals of 30 minutes, every day all through the year.
However, the timetable is seasonal and hence needs to be checked.
Tickets can be bought at at of the City Cruise Piers or can be booked online.

Thames River Services :
It is the oldest established passenger sightseeing company on the Thames. To and fro services can be availed between London and Greenwich and tickets can be purchased from Westminster, Embankment, Festival, Bankside, St Katharine’s and Greenwich Piers, or they can be bought online.

Bus :
Reaching Greenwich and getting to other parts of Greenwich is easy by the traditional red buses of London. The cheapest and easiest way to travel is to use the Oyster Card and one can pre-load a Visitor Oyster Card.

Cable car:
The Emirates Airline is the only urban cable car service running between North Greenwich and the Royal Docks.

Train :
By tube : One can take the Jubilee line from any station with appropriate chances en-route to the North Greenwich which is the closest tube station. A pre-loaded Visitor Oyster Card is very handy.

By Docklands Light Railways (DLR) : It takes hardly twenty minutes from Bank station direct to Cutty Sark or travel from Tower Gateway, changing trains at Shadwell. Pre-loaded Visitor Oyster Card makes the journey smooth and less cumbersome.

We took the DLR from Tower Gateway and it was a different experience as the automated train does not have a driver and moreover i could catch beautiful view from the train window; the high rise buildings against the skyline striking a nice contrast with the waterbodies with ships and boats in the docks and quays down below.

We reached Greenwich and spent the first few minutes lapping up the luxury of London countryside, inhaling the fresh air, and feasting on the panoramic views it offered.

We then headed towards and climbed up to the Royal Observatory.

The Royal Observatory Greenwich, earlier known as the Old Royal Observatory is situated on a hill in Greenwich Park overlooking the Thames.
The observatory is primarily known because the Prime Meridian passes through it; hence the was given the name Greenwich Mean Time. It has obtained historical significance with regard to astronomy and navigation.

The Royal Observatory Greenwich, the National Maritime Museum, the Queen’s House and Cutty Sark are collectively designated Royal Museums Greenwich.

The observatory buildings at Greenwich got converted to a museum of astronomical and navigational tools, which is part of the Royal Museums Greenwich.
Sea watches, marine timekeepers standing testimony to for precision timekeeping which are the property of the Ministry of Defence are on display along with many additional horological artefacts.
The Observatory also houses mid-20th-century Russian-made clock known to be the most accurate pendulum clock ever built in multiple copies and a host of astronomical
instruments used to make meridian observations. The 28-inch equatorial Grubb reflecting telescope, the largest of its kind in the UK. and the Shepherd Clock outside the observatory gate are two of the prized possessions of the Observatory.
The new 120-seat planetarium with display galleries and educational facilities was opened in 2007 and is a highlight of the Observatory.

Although we did not have the time to make it, I was fascinated by the name Cutty Sark and learnt that it is a British Clipper Ship. After serving as a cargo ship for quite a while, the Cutty Sark was transferred to the Thames Nautical Training College where she became an auxiliary cadet training ship. Finally, when it could no longer be in use, the Cutty Sark was transferred to permanent dry dock at Greenwich for public display.

Having spent an enjoyable afternoon at Greenwich, the mother-son duo headed back to London taking the DLR Line to the Bank Station.

Thank monideepad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al B, Public Relations Manager at Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow, what a great review - we're so glad you had a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Greenwich is like a suburb of London but is so much different. The pace is much slower and the traffic is not nearly as bad. There is plenty to see there including the Royal Observatory, the Old Royal Naval College and the Cutty Sark. There is even a Fan Museum which I found very interesting. You can get out to Greenwich by DLR, National rail and the Water Taxis.

Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well, what a pleasant surprise. Having trekked around central London's bustling and fascinating streets, we decided to head to Greenwich. We found a lovely village atmosphere, green parks and fascinating tourist attractions.

initially we planned to stay for an hour but ended up spending most of the day there. The maritime Museum showcases Britain's maritime heritage, which as we all know is extensive while the Royal Observatory has an amazing historical astronomical display. you also get to straddle the meridian - 0 degrees longitude where east meets west.

If nothing else climb the hill for a wonderful view of London. we took the ferry from Westminster and that proved to be great decision as we saw a different side of London from the water, the bridges and the historical sites. Highly recommended.

Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just happened to book our AirBnB in Greenwich and we are so glad we did. Greenwich is just close enough to London but also just far enough away. Greenwich is steeped in Maritime History and has so many beautiful old buildings and grounds to stroll around. We walked into London one day via the foot tunnel (a long walk) but we thoroughly enjoyed it. We caught the clipper another day which is easily accessible and takes you right into town. Lots of eateries around and so many beautiful sights in Greenwich.

Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

We were recommended by a friend to go to Greenwich who studied in England. We weren't disappointed. It was a nice neighborhood with a lot history. If you're into maritime history you'll love Greenwich. What impressed me the most was Greenwich Park
Huge park with lot's of people walking dogs, children playing and couples walking. There are a lot of local pubs and restaurants. Definitely take the boat cruise from London to Greenwich.

Thank Terrence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews