We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pudding Parlour”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Ranked #144 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Despite a fabulous first visit before Christmas, a recent visit in Jan was less impressive. A couple of the desserts were over-cooked and the waiting staff was rather unfriendly. After the first visit I couldn't wait to go back. After the second time I don't think I'd go again. What a shame as the concept is fabulous.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank nicolakmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,000 - 2,004 of 2,512 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed at the Athenaeum for 2 weeks in August 2011. I was supposed to be there for 3 days, but kept having to extend due to changing business committments. I have nothing but praise for this hotel and its staff.

The room was large with lots of storage and a very good modern bathroom. I was given an upgrade to a room that overlooked Green Park and had doors that actually opened. Being able to open the doors and let the sun and fresh air in significantly contributed to my enjoyment of the large amount of time I spent working in my room. There was also plenty of room (apart from the bed) to spread out - with a work desk and separate side table.

The snacks and non-alcoholic drinks in the mini bar were free and restocked daily (a nice touch). The room service was also very good (and not particularly expensive by London standards).

The business centre was ample and the reception staff were also very happy to print documents for me when the business centre was occupied. In fact, the reception staff were excellent all round - they went out of my way to keep me in the same (ungraded) room for the duration of my stay as I gradually extended it a day or two at a time. The doormen were also very helpful and happy to help.

The other thing I loved about this hotel was its location. Opposite Green Park and just down the road from Green Park Station. An easy wander through Green Park to Buckingham Palace and everything that lies beyond. A couple of very pretty Mayfair blocks to Hyde Park. Or wander up Piccadilly to Regent/Oxford Streets or beyond to Covent Garden etc. It was great for business (a short tube ride to the city), but would be fantastic for tourists. Don't miss Shepherd Market in the backstreets behind the hotel.

The most surprising part for me about all of this was that it came with a very reasonable price tag.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj1837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Our welcome and check-in was 1st class as was the room (although we did not have a park view as requested). The room was well equipped (especially the free soft drinks and snacks in the mini-fridge) and the bed was luxurious.
I had a few minor negative points - there was no milk provided so couldn't have a morning cuppa and the shower was so powerful that I managed to flood the bathroom - sorry! Also, the room was rather chilly but actually this made a welcome change from staying in a sauna (as most hotels have the heating on full blast).
Another problem with staying in a 5 star hotel are the 5 star prices that are charged for food and drink - astronomical.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apmillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The WOW factors
1. amazing breakfast with made to order food.. 5 nights are not enough to try everything on the menu.. best breakfast.
2. Designer decor..& superb services
3. Minibar stocks with good yummy snacks + Nescafe espresso machine which are inclusive

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c-preference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Athenaeum at 116 Piccadilly is really very charming. I loved big bowl of red apples at the reception desk! At first my wife thought that it was only a part of the decor, but of course the apples were quite eatable and very tasty :)) The room (we had the one overlooking the Green Park) was very nice, spacious enough, with extermely comfortable bed and pillows. It had some very nice amenities like iPod/iPhone compatible stereo system of quite high quality, everything to be enable us to have either tea or coffee in the room, nice teddy bear (though not free of charge if you want to keep it :)) and other niceties. I've already mentioned the view from the hotel room - simply magnificent. And of course the room was always perfectly clean - the service was simply impeccable. Overall feeling was of something very elegant, but not posh at all, on the contrary - the hotel is very cozy. At breakfast you may face a queue (we were a bit surprised by that - we were there in the end of November 2010 - definitely not really a high season), but it is well managed and not too bad. We as well had a dinner at the hotel restaraunt. It was very nice and tasty (though I wouldn't say that the steak, which I chose, was perfect). The maitre d'hotel was great - extremely helpful and with outstanding sense of humor (but this is, in my opinion, common character among many brits). So to make a long story short, I will definitely recommend the hotel to anyone - either travelling for pleasure or on business trip.

Room Tip: Ask the room overlooking the Green Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxim_bobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#25 of 1,077 in London
4,158 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#122 of 1,077 in London
1,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#61 of 1,077 in London
1,125 reviews
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#29 of 1,077 in London
3,682 reviews
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences

Address: 116 Piccadilly | Mayfair, London W1J 7BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in London
#56 Family Hotel in London
#85 Romantic Hotel in London
#119 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $406 - $835 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By the Royal Parks Intimate and sophisticated, the fabulous 5-star Athenaeum is your home-away-from-home in Mayfair, central London. You're opposite Royal Parks and Buckingham Palace, just down the road from national museums and galleries, and close to world-renowned shops and theatres. Michelin-starred chefs For eating and drinking, there's afternoon tea (voted "Best in London 2012"), an restaurant run by Michelin-starred chefs, and a fine bar - home to a large collection of whiskies and signature cocktails. For a little "me-time", our spa offers relaxing treatments, relaxation room, wet area and a well-equipped fitness room. Free WiFi, iPod(R) docks All guestrooms are spacious with modern decor and premium bedding. You can catch a game on the plasma TV, stream tunes through the iPod(R) dock, and browse the Web with free WiFi, all while sipping an espresso coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athenaeum Hotel And Apartments
Athenaeum Hotel Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing