We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our high expectation”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #30 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Met our high expectation”
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Just enjoyed a glorious five days at this iconic property which provided both glamour and value. Our dinner in the dining room was absolutely outstanding. We had an issue with a cigar smoking guest in the adjacent room which resulted in the offer of upgrade which we declined. I have no idea how they handled the problem but it was quickly resolved. When booking request a room with a shower stall so that you don't have to shower over the bath. Thanks to Michael and his Concierge team for handling our every request with gracious efficiency. Bravo!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
The high expectations of residental guests and visitors are without doubt what keeps all of us here on our toes and I am very happy that we delivered those for you. I believe our Concierge team to be the best in the world and it is with pleasure that I will pass on your appreciation. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,765
    467
    126
    55
    50
See reviews for
780
1,592
122
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife treated us to a stay at The Ritz for a special occassion. I must say that the Hotel is beautiful, our room was gorgeous and the Dining room once of the best in the world. The food was exquisite.
However the staff let the hotel down.

We left our room for a trip th the Theatre, on our return our room had been prepared for the evening but the bedroom door had been left open allowing access to all of our belongings.

Poor show The Ritz!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear Sir, I am most concerned to read this posting and would be greatful if you would contact my office to discuss this lapse. Security is vitally important to me and I would easily be able to view on our CCTV how this occured if I had the details of your stay. In the meantime, please accept my profuse apologies. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mawsley,Northants, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed the day after our wedding as a mini honeymoon. It was the most special experience. Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman who asked our names and took our bags. When we got to the reception desk they already knew who we were. So clever! We were so delighted to be told our room had been upgraded to a suite and that a complimentary bottle of champagne was waiting for us!

The room itself was just outstandingly beautiful, with an enormous king size bed, ornate antique furniture and a comfortable sitting area. We had to take a few moments to take it all in.

There were so many little details that were so cleverly done, the fragrancer who visited our room just before we arrived and again in the evening so everything smelt of flowers, the cocktails delivered when we returned to go to bed. The turndown service, the flowers on the bed...just endless. We can't compliment them enough. This is our first time staying at a hotel at this end of the market, however we can't help thinking that we would not experience this level of service anywhere else in the world.

We had drinks in the Rivoli Bar followed by an outstanding meal in the Ritz Restaurant. Quite honestly the best food we have ever tasted. A revelation for us both. Just incredible, it left us both speechless.

Words just cannot describe sufficiently what an experience the Ritz Hotel is. We are desperately racking our brains to work out when we can justify our next visit.

...One important point to mention. Please don't think you would feel uncomfortable in this environment. The staff, while polite and formal are also genuinely friendly and disarming. They do all you can to make you feel comfortable. We never once felt awkward and enjoyed dressing up for drinks and dinner as part of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyvicky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Ritz in April 2012 for four days. I was hesitant to stay here initially, intimidated by the "fanciness" of the hotel (we're "jeans & tshirts" people). But upon arriving, everyone (the doorman, concierge, bellboys) was SO friendly and helpful. They really do pride themselves on service.

Our room was beautiful, spacious and clean. They even included a Chinese newspaper (for my husband) among the magazines, as well as oolong tea. We didn't request this, so I'm guessing they assumed from our last name? The view wasn't so great (another building) but we didn't mind since we were always running around the city.

We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant, but we did have afternoon tea and it was a great experience! It was fun to dress up for one night and take in all the opulence. There are a few cafes and a Starbucks across the street from the hotel if you're craving an early am caffeine fix.

The location of the hotel was perfect. There is a metro station just down the street so it's very convenient.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place. We were worried about feeling out of place, and instead they made us feel right at home!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LTAN72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
I am delighted to read that you were given the welcome that a guest of The Ritz London deserves. I am very pleased that the newspaper and tea were appreciated and hope that these little extra touches will incline you to return to stay with us on your next visit to London. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I spent two night at The Ritz London early this year. it was magical from the time i had arrived till the time i left. Im not too sure where to start everything was exceptional. The service was amazing and genuine the decor of the hotel was almost like an old english movie set classical and very chic. The food was prepared and beautifully presented.
I stayed in the superior suite. it was very spacious the bathroom was amazing nice big bath tub and again beautifully decorated.
The location is the best you can possibly have in london CBD right in the middle of piccadilly
Simply putting it, this hotel is fit for royalty.......................... and myself.
Thank you and keep up the amazing service and standard of this iconic hotel.

P.s If i ever travel back to london i will visit you again my lady.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rock H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exec0ffice1, Managing Director at The Ritz London, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
Thank you for the generous praise of the service you received at The Ritz London. Nothing gives me more pleasure than knowing that the staff have delivered their best efforts to our guests. I hope you will return again when you next visit London. SB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#28 of 1,067 in London
1,134 reviews
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
1,394 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#40 of 1,067 in London
4,557 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#24 of 1,067 in London
3,927 reviews
Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
The Chesterfield Mayfair
#14 of 1,067 in London
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Property: The Ritz London
Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#30 Luxury Hotel in London
Price range (per night): $714 - $1,969
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing