We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old School Glamour at the Ritz”
Review of The Ritz London

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz London
Ranked #29 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I enjoyed a wonderful 2 night stay over Easter at the Ritz as part of my 30th Birthday celebrations and boy did it live up to all of my expectations! The staff throughout the hotel were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Not a snobby member of staff in sight!

I highly recommend the 'Celebration Package' that my fiancé booked, as it was a lovely surprise for me to find champagne, flowers, fruit and a birthday cake in our room to kick start the celebrations. The Ritz Salon is well worth a visit and I had an amazing full body massage by Anna. Also worth mentioning, is the lovely Easter egg that was delivered to our room on Easter Sunday in a beautifully presented keep sake box - a really thoughtful touch to our stay.

Our room and the public areas were lavishly decorated and it was nice to see that the original glitz and glamour of the Ritz had been preserved since its restoration, so that you really felt like you were stepping back into a bygone era. I definitely recommend cocktails in the Art Deco ‘Rivoli Bar’! The dress code in the public areas has been relaxed slightly this year, but I do not understand why people complain about the strict dress code - after all this is the Ritz and it's nice to have an excuse to dress up!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jetsetting_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,986 - 2,990 of 3,684 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

I booked a room for 3 adults for my mums 60th birthday this was a one off treat that I'd saved for & looked forward to for a long time at £714 B&B for one night I had great expectations. On arrival at reception I was told I could upgrade the room for an additional £50 I didn't really want to discuss ££ in front of my mum as this was a birthday treat, my mum asked me not to pay anymore money. The receptionist communications skills could have been better. The room wasn't ready when we arrived so had to wait for an hour and a half until 3.30pm in the hospitality room where we had to watch a Ritz PR video on repeat that talked about how the hotel aims to exceed customers expectations ... exceed it didn't even meet my expectations. The bed for the 3rd person was a small camp bed squashed against the window!! not what I expected form a hotel that claims to be the best in the world. I completed a satisfaction survey and did not hear back so I then wrote to the hotel afterwards, I didn't get a response until I chased and then only had a response to my comments on the survey. There were plenty of opportunities for the hotel to exceed my expectations - I was disapointed that this was not the once in a lifetime treat that I wanted for my mum . Stay somewhere else :(

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

i go the ritz very regularly has i have high standards, it is absolutely fabulous. the afternoon tea is fantastic, sandwiches lovely, the waiters catered to my every need. always very complimentary to me, made perfect by the piano playing while having my afternoon tea.
went in to the jewellers, best jewellers around. the suite room was the best it was like home from home. the ritz is truly amazing, i be back again soon.

Room Tip: book a suite room, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

After 3 night at The Ritz London this easter, I feel I have found my new favorit Hotel. From you check in till you leave you are treatet as a royalty(or at least how I imagine royalties are treated). We has expected stiff and snobby staff, but they were quit the opposite, friendly and smiling all the time. In addition to the best service we have expirienced ever, the rooms are beautiful with everything you need, housekeeping is perfect and room service great. Its also a must to try The Ritz Club, a very special place. As this was not enough, The consierge service is probably one of the best in the world. Just speak to Andy and he will fix it. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Food_traveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Stayed here as a treat for my daughter's 21st birthday. Some minor hiccups to start with- room not ready, pre-ordered champagne not in room etc, but staff ran around to put things right, including upgrading us to a suite, which was fabulous. Nothing too much trouble for the staff, which really assures you will have an excellent stay.Particularly recommend the afternoon tea- expensive, but pretty much all you can eat. A word of warning- don't go into the Jewellers- you won't be able to resist.

Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sisgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
Rosewood London
Rosewood London
#19 of 1,077 in London
1,811 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Savoy
The Savoy
#41 of 1,077 in London
4,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,077 in London
2,862 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz London

Address: 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in London
#16 Romantic Hotel in London
#20 Family Hotel in London
#26 Business Hotel in London
#29 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $642 - $1,619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz London 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened by renowned hotelier Cesar Ritz in 1906, The Ritz today still retains all the glamour and excitement synonymous with this world famous hotel. Perfectly located in a landmark position on Piccadilly in the heart of London's West End, the 136 room luxury hotel is ideally placed to suit both business and leisure visitors alike. Now totaling 111 bedrooms and 25 suites, the elegant rooms combine the original Louis XVI style interiors with modern day technology. Considered by many to be one of the most beautiful rooms in the world, The Michelin-starred Ritz Restaurant features a magnificent frescoed ceiling with west facing windows overlooking the Terrace, the Italian Garden and Green Park beyond. The restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily, with a Dinner Dance on Friday and Saturdays. The Palm Court restaurant offers, most famously, daily Afternoon Tea service which has been popular since the hotel first opened. The stylishly updated Rivoli Bar was designed by Tessa Kennedy and features Art Deco styled interiors. Open daily with a bar menu. Private dining facilities at William Kent House, the 18th century mansion house at The Ritz, include an exquisite selection of banquet rooms and suites. Possibly the most elegant and opulent private rooms in London, William Kent House offers the perfect venue for private receptions, weddings, boardroom meetings, lunches, dinners and gala events. The Ritz London is a Grade II star listed building and in 2002 became the first hotel to receive the Royal Warrant from his Royal Highness The Prince of Wales for banqueting and catering services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz London Hotel London
The Ritz Hotel London
Ritz Hotel London
Ritz London
London Ritz-Carlton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing