We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,331)
Filter reviews
1,331 results
Traveller rating
1,091
164
50
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
164
50
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamerican bargreen parkst jamesgame birdcarriage housebuckingham palacethe main housejames parkpiccadilly circushome away from homebond streetthe general managerconcierge staffwonderful hotelwonderful staysmall hotelwest end
Filter
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 1,331 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

Delicious, intimate champagne afternoon tea for two, sat beside a roaring fire. Perfect afternoon after a busy morning of sightseeing. Close enough to Sights of Buckingham palace, fortnum & mason, yet set off the tourist trail and in touching distance of Green Park.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordLondonHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Matt H
Thank you for your kind review following your recent visit to The Stafford.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon team experience and hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you home again soon.
Best regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

For any traveler, there are hotels, and then there are hotels. We are all familiar with the big houses with the legendary names, like Palmer House, Waldorf Astoria, Ritz, Ciragan Palace. These are usually opulent, luxurious and expensive.

Boutique hotels, such as the Raphael in Rome and the Londra Palace in Venice, also provide extraordinary comfort at an extraordinary price. The Stafford in London can be added to the short list. What is the attraction?

First of all, privacy. The Stafford is small and easy to miss if you are not familiar with the hotel. The main entrance is located near a dead end, limiting the amount of incidental pedestrian and vehicular traffic. There are no neon signs announcing the hotel. The back entrance is similarly understated.

Second, location. It is right in the heart of central London, with easy access to the major attractions and the Underground.

Third, the staff. Without exception, the staff has been trained to convey the perfect combination of respect, attention and cordiality that makes guests feel welcome.

Fourth, the rooms. All the appointments in the rooms were of the highest quality. The rooms are smaller than in the USA, but are immaculately clean and comfortable. The bathrooms were luxurious. Like most of Europe, they have yet to discover the usefulness of a shower curtain; bathtubs are narrower and crowded with plumbing.

Fifth, the restaurant. The Lyttleton, as they call it, is a small, cozy, "white tablecloth" restaurant. The menu is limited, but most guests will find several items of interest. The service was gracious and the food stupendous. Luca, the maître d' and host, is very polished and gracious, just like the reception staff. We liked our dinner so much that we returned the next day for another superb meal. (Four course dinner for two, with wine, tax and gratuity, about $300.) If you are an adventurous diner, just ask for the chef's choice. Breakfast was included with our room, elegantly served, with hot entrees cooked to order and a very attractive spread of fresh fruits, cereals, pastries, tomatoes, cheeses and beans.

Sixth, we were invited to tour the wine cellar, which was used as a bomb shelter during the London blitz. We saw priceless bottles of vintage Bordeaux, and quite a few Burgundies. A large room in the cellar may be used to host a small private tasting.

We noticed a number of "access-limited" rooms off the lobby and the restaurant where, I imagine, very private luncheons or dinners can be arranged. The hotel bar appears comfortable and inviting. The Stafford does not have a parking ramp or a swimming pool. Most guests do not drive to the Stafford, but are driven to the Stafford.

Privacy, location, luxury, comfort, calm and superior gastronomy and enology add up to a winning combination. London has always been an expensive city, and so is the Stafford. If you appreciate what you get, you will be very satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordLondonHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2016

Dear Raymond V
Thank you so much for your extensive and descriptive review on The Stafford.
I am thrilled that we make it onto your "short list" of hotels.
I am also delighted that you like the privacy of our location i.e. in the heart of London, but with easy access to major attractions.
Also thank you for your kind words regarding our staff members; Luca in particular.
Your comments are a joy to read and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you home to The Stafford for many years to come.
Kind regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

I have been a regular and frequent guest at The Stafford Hotel for the last 6 years, there is a very good reason why!

The hotel is in a great location in St James in the west end and is a boutique hotel maintained to the very highest standard with lots of atmosphere.

It is very easy to get to any of the main London attractions from there.

From the moment one arrives to finally departing all the team at The Stafford Hotel are professional, friendly and keen to help.

The American bar is a great place to have a drink with a good wine and cocktail list, plenty of choice of other drinks with lots of memorabilia on the walls, a great menu, friendly and efficient service with again a great atmosphere.

The restaurant is also worth a visit with a good menu and wine list, as is the tea and coffee room.

The rooms are spacious, well appointed, very comfortable and well maintained.

If you are visiting London and wish to enjoy one of London's best hotels this is the place I recommend you stay at, I stay at no where else!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_Casson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordLondonHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2016

Dear Nick_treats
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on The Stafford.
I am delighted that you enjoy your frequent stays with us and that you particularly like our location and proximity to the main London attractions.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you home again very soon.
Kind regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Not that is a bad thing.

It's a splendid place in the best area of town in my view, St.James' in where the heart grows fond of London.

This reassuringly expensive place is run very well and those seeking just enough Englishness without it being a 'Brit Disney' ride this works. But do be prepared to pay high end for small rooms though but that's a given in central London red brick hotels.

The American bar was fun and well served, excellent check-in staff and room service too, great breakfast if a little slow (we are workers eating too please note). The only downer was a haughty afternoon tea manager who should remember we are paying guests, and paying handsomely.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaguGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordLondonHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Dear RaguGuru
Thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay at The Stafford.
I'm delighted that you like our location and smiled at your reference to us not being a "Brit Disney"!
Mostly lovely comments all round and your one negative comment has not gone unnoticed.
Thank you again and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you home again soon.
Kind regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Hidden gem in Pall Mall Great find. A small hotel but up there with the very best! The staff are welcoming and friendly. Looking out to help you all the time. My room. (Junior suite), was beautify designed and extremely comfortable. I would imagine this would be the perfect venue for a London treat weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank S2816XAchrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StaffordLondonHotel, General Manager at The Stafford London, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2016

Dear S2816XAchrish
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at The Stafford.
I'm delighted you found your junior suite well designed and comfortable.
I certainly hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you home again for a weekend treat.
Kind regards
Stuart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews