We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't even get what you pay for! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Ranked #52 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed in Palmers Lodge Hillspring! Never again! With study abroad students, I have stayed in the Swiss Cottage location with minimal problems. Hillspring is a different story. Arrived with fifteen students after paying up front . After the incredibly rude woman checked us in, we paid for towels. We asked for the towels and were told,
We won't have any until Monday!
This was Saturday. When I asked how they were going to solve the problem, the very rude woman told me
It's a hostel.
I purchased laundry detergent and brought it back to Palmers Lodge. Handed it to the rude person and she said
I don't do laundry!
So I washed other people's dirty towels late Saturday night so my students could have a towel.
Breakfast is abysmal, and wifi is spotty at best!
I sent an email requesting a conference with the manager.
I had to send the email because the extremely rude woman at the desk would not give me her name or contact the manager that night.
At this point , I still have not been contacted!
Save yourself some headaches and some money!
Don't use Palmers Lodge Hillspring.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank loveymesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Guest Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Hello,
As we told you at the time, we are sorry we didn't have enough towels to provide your group we have a finite supply and sadly ran out. We do advise guests that they not provided, as a group leader you could have advised us that you needed them advance. We offered to refund you any costs or damages incurred if you had to purchase towels as an act of good faith, which didn't receive a response.
But after reviewing the CCTV looking at your behaviour and language used against our staff which was abhorrent and inexcusable, we can only defend our staff who hardly going to go out of their way after being subjected to such abuse.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Simple hostal. The first day i went there the receptionist was very friendly but when i went to my sharing room my bed was horribly dirty, that’s mean that they dont check the rooms every single day. Very dissappointing.
The breakfast is too poor.. bread and apple?? Always the same..
Maybe thats the reason why is so cheap!!!
Positive things, close to the tube and clean toilets.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Jhonml12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

We're sorry to hear we did not fully satisfy your stay here.
We are all working hard to make our customers feel at home, we are sorry if on this occasion we fell short. Our cleaners work around the clock to keep the hostel clean, tidying rooms daily and bathrooms 5 times a day. However, we will pass this feedback on to our housekeepers. We're sorry you were disappointed with our breakfast. However, we try to do our best to offer a nice complimentary breakfast for our guests including croissants, toast, fruit, cereal and a mixture of hot and cold beverages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here recently, shared room with lovely people. Young Germans mainly who were here for a few days visiting London. Towards the end ruined by brats, young 16 year old looking female kids from Germany/Turkey causing nuisance for people in the rooms. It's common according to others who come here regularly. Female sanitary towels all over the place, stinking the toilet. Room is safe and secure. Had a good time on the whole, only disappointment was these unruly kids shouting and talking loud in German and Turkish past people's rooms at night. Teachers struggled to keep them under control at times, was told that a staff member had to go up to speak to them about the noise.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank DarthPiccolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Unfortunately sometimes it can be very challenging for our staff to control the noise around the hostel. However, in order to prevent this situation from happening again, we are now going to keep an extra eye open. We really hope you enjoyed your time in London nonetheless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This hostel is hidden away on the far north side of the city, making it a peaceful place. It is family-friendly with good amenities and friendly staff. The beds are designed specifically for the rooms and are very well done.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We appreciate your kind feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Palmers was a nice place. At first I though it might be too out of the way but in the end, that was what made it nice. It was good to get out of the hustle and bustle of London and yet it's only a few stops out. The wifi did not work great in the room but I just sat in the lobby to do my work. Overall and very good deal.

Room Tip: Private room is nice. I had to go down the hall for toilet but shower and sink were in the room. Tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michiganbartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for your nice feedback :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#620 of 1,077 in London
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#39 of 928 in London
2,668 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Hillspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Address: 233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 928 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $28 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge Hillspring 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in affordable accommodation doesn't have to mean a sacrifice in quality. At boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge Hillspring you will find many of the creature comforts you have in your own home, and many you wouldn't. Spacious living areas, quality furnishings, fully licensed bar and restaurant are just some of the reasons for choosing to stay at Palmers Lodge Hillspring on your next London visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palmers Lodge Hillspring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillspring Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing