We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big mistaske”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Ranked #51 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Booked late and took a chance on this hostel as attending a gig at Wembley and as we all know London is expensive and a ripoff . Apart from it handy location this was a mistake at £90 a night ! We were in a tiny room B01 in the basement and i'm guessing if such a thing as a couples prison existed then this would be the blueprint for the cells ! In this room you are below the bar and kitchen with a tiny window high up on the wall opening below the outside decking . Luckily took earplugs but still the noise was constant til gone 2 am and then again from 6.30 am . A shower is next door with a hand drier going on and off all night . Someone walked in to the room to clean very early without a knock !! Free breakfast it said ....... 2 cereals , coffee or tea , juice , brown toast , apples ?! I didn't really expect much with it being a hostel but it was much worse than expected .... if your offered B01 ask for something else !

Room Tip: avoid B01 , terrible noise from bar and kitchen above
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank htb104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to send through your feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately it can be quite difficult to control the noise volume of our guests around the hostel but we will endeavour to keep an eye out to prevent these disturbances from occurring in the future. FYI, we are able to relocate our guests to a different room (subject to availability) if they are unhappy with their current room. We are all working hard to make our customers feel at home and we are sorry if on this occasion we felt short.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 589 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2017

friendly people, security and clean space, all ok! The people was the best!
the breakfast was good, all excellent and working well due to been a big hostel - I would stay again for sure! Clean, friendly staff, free breakfast, amazing people. I thank specially the reception staff, so busy but with time to help a confuse guest. thank you very much! hope to see you soon

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Noemi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

You are welcome back anytime, thanks for your lovely feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

It's a large hostel so expect a lot of different people there. Given the price we paid, not bad at all, and love the free breakfast though be sure to get there early.
Distance: it takes 15 minutes to walk from the willesdeen green station to the hostel, not hard to find and quite accessible~though this station is at the junction of zones 2 and 3 so not particularly close to zone 1 of london where most tourist attractions are, taking around 30 minutes to reach zone 1
Room: lived in a four female only dormitory, lockers provided with room card as the lock, at that time a bunch of kids with their teachers also lived on the same floor so they were very noisy in the morning as early as 6am, other than that, it is quite good. But the wifi connection is quite poor on 3rd floor

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for your nice feedback!
Unfortunately, sometimes it is difficult to control noise volume within the hostel but we will endeavour to do our best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Booked here as a last minute stay due to work. The price was the main factor as I was umming and ahhing about staying in a hostel ( 1st time ). I decided whats the worst that can happen?

First impressions great, in a nice quiet neighbourhood with an access gate so your vehicle is secure overnight which gave me great peace of mind. The rooms are very clean, tidy, solid wooden beds which dont creak. The bathroom was very clean and the shower was hot, powerful and frankly much better than showers used in famous hotel chains.The bar is a nice addition, good value for London prices £3.70 for a Stella isnt too bad. Breakfast was reasonable and as expected too.

I would definately stay here again in future, no problems. I would just bring some ear plugs and an eye mask for a better sleep, but for £21 inc VAT for a secure hotel, bed, breakfast and free parking, I think thats fantastic

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ashey3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for your lovely feedback! We hope to see you back soon!
FYI, we do offer earplugs at reception also :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Second time Iv stayed here it's a great place with a friendly atmosphere and can't get better value for money in London. Within walking distance to tube station to get to Wembley stadium! Which was ideal for us for capital summer time ball. Rooms are clean and tidy, and shared bathrooms are always clean too. The bar is a nice added extra and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. The only downfall of staying this time around was the room (4 man room x2 bunk bed) was so so so hot it was hard to sleep! We had the window wide open all night and was still red hot! But wouldn't put me off staying again and I will be returning next year when I head to the capital summer time ball again :-) xxx

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmersLodgeHostel, Public Relations Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thanks for your lovely feedback and continuing to choose us as your home in London! You'll be pleased to hear that we are currently redesigning and refurbishing our rooms to have more facilities and to assist with the temperature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#615 of 1,078 in London
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 929 in London
2,673 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Hillspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Address: 233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 929 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $28 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge Hillspring 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in affordable accommodation doesn't have to mean a sacrifice in quality. At boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge Hillspring you will find many of the creature comforts you have in your own home, and many you wouldn't. Spacious living areas, quality furnishings, fully licensed bar and restaurant are just some of the reasons for choosing to stay at Palmers Lodge Hillspring on your next London visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Palmers Lodge Hillspring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillspring Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing