We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel - perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #190 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 July 2010

The first good thing about this hotel is that it is a 2 minute walk from The Westminster underground station. You simply walk over the bridge (past the London eye and South Bank Lion) and there is the Park Plaza right in front of you. The moment you enter, there are friendly staff on hand to see to your every need – someone to welcome you and point you to the right place to check in & a concierge desk to your right. Other reviewers have commented on the ‘dark’ lighting, and so I was expecting some sort of dull, dank place lacking atmosphere. The reception area (desks etc) is black but it is all tastefully done and to be honest, it was a relief to step into the shaded coolness and quiet after blistering sunshine outside and the hustle & bustle of the London underground.
We were allocated room 1188 on the 11th floor (this hotel is serviced by at least 8 elevators so not much waiting involved) and we found we have been upgraded to a suite. The moment we entered our room, we were in pure luxury. We had a living room (sofa, desk, flat screen, table with phone). The living room also contained the wardrobe (ironing board & iron, safe, drawers, lots of spare hangers, 2 luxury XL bathrobes, shoe shine, etc etc). We also had a small kitchenette which was brilliant and had everything you needed to buy your own food and eat it; microwave, sink, cutlery drawer, plates, glasses, wine glasses, tea & coffee supplies, kettle and room in the mini bar for you to chill your own stuff.
The bathroom was brilliant – huge, lovely bath as well as a large separate shower. In the bedroom area there was a very comfortable bed with lovely, crisp bed linen, another desk (with international power points for charging), a second flat screen TV…….this suite had it all, including an amazing view of the London Eye, Big Ben & parliament.
The breakfast was wonderful – a lovely restaurant with great staff and endless options. A full English (including haggis & black sausage) cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, juices, toast – there was so much and it was all fresh and delicious.
We enjoyed every single minute of our stay and loved this hotel. There honestly isn’t one bad thing that I can say about it, no negatives at all. Perfect location, wonderful staff, great food, comfortable, clean, luxurious and modern. And the lighting is mood lighting and works well; it’s not something to complain about and works well in the communal areas. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for any occasion in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NottinghamLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,856 - 13,860 of 17,897 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2010

A great sytlisih modern hotel with fantastic location.

Yes the rooms can be dark, but the lighting setup provides all the room light you need. Definitely try to get a room with a view out, well worth it.

Also note I had a problem getting a wifi connection when I was allocated a corner room, but was moved quickly and efficiently when I requested to be moved.

Haven't eaten at the hotel yet so comment on the bar or restaurant

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venablesn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

Stayed 4 nights in July, 2010. It is a charming boutique, stylish hotel at a great location. From the lobby to the room ingterior, it has modern and artistic touch everywhere. Paintings over the walls and furniturues. Shining materials in lobby and the rooms. Location, it is 5 min from Waterloo train and tube station where you can go to Northern line, and other local trains to Surrey, Portsmouth. From Waterloo tube, 3 stops to Leister square(15 mins), 5 stops to Kings cross St. Pancras Train stations from Leicester square. Across the Westminster bridge, of course, you can see Big Ben and Westminster Abbey. Magnificent view everymorning through the windows. London Eyes 3 mins working distance. From Heathrow airport, take slow Piccadilly line tube and chage at Leicester square and down to Waterloo and this takes about 90 min. after exiting airport until arriving at the hotel entrance. Using Heathraw express may not give any better results. Walk across Westminster bridge, you can access district line Westminster station, from there, the Kew Garden takes 25 mins. If you can get this hotel with some discounted price, strongly recommend !!!. I loved this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TotoroNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Needed somewhere close to Westminster and chose this hotel primarily for location. The hotel is beautifully finished, staff are very friendly and professional and the location is perfect. I stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor which had a fantastic view of Westminster Bridge. Flight regulations mean usually going to buy toothpaste etc but the room stocks EVERYTHING - toothbrush, sewing, shoe polish, umbrella. Ideal for the business traveller. I was super happy.

Breakfast also excellent and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StBrendanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We had a long flight from the us only to get there to be told our rooms were not ready.Sat in the lounge for two hours until one of the staff came to get us even tho it wasnt check in time yet..He was really friendly and apologised all the time.....We were given a very nice room but the leaking shower was a nightmare..otherwise great location very clean...tried to leave a tip for one of the front office staff but we were told by the manager that we didn't have to he was really nice.He would come away from the desk everytime he saw us coming from outside to ask how our day was and what we saw and he would recommend us to other places of intrest this is no fiction he called us everyday when he started his shift to find out if me and the kids were ok untill the day we left......Thank you (DANIEL) you really made our holiday they should clone you what more can a hotel ask for.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meltons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#59 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $216 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelsClick, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing