We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what was needed”
Review of Kitchen W8

Kitchen W8
Ranked #348 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 38 - USD 82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is my local restaurant, and my family eats here more often than at any other restaurant in London. Unlike some other Michelin -starred restaurants in the area the flavour is not achieved by the use of large amounts of fats, so we can eat here without having problems later.

As often, this was an early evening meal accommodate my wife's disability. The staff had prepared the tables sensibly, but details they could not have been aware of meant the tables needed to be moved around, which the staff kindly did with the minimum of fuss. We took the set menu as this looked suitable. We were not disappointed. This would probably not be the ideal choice if what you want is really strong flavour, but we value good combinations, and the meal delivered.

I have seen adverse comments on using the disabled toilet as a cloak-room (literal meaning). This is an issue with the architecture of the building, but in our past experience the staff have minimised any problems this might cause (we did not require to use it on this occasion.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank g10rgyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (825)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 825 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

The location of Kitchen W8 is in very close proximity to the Design Museum. We could not be accommodated on our arrival on Friday due to the Easter Holiday. The staff emailed and confirmed our reservation for the following day. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive to us our arrival. They quickly whisked away our coats and seated us immediately. The lighting and ambience of the dining room was extremely intimate. The food and wine on the Tasting Menu was exquisite. The experience was charming as well as personal. The celebration of a birthday was well worth the travel to London and a beautiful dinner at Kitchen W8. Our Michelin experience matched its rating.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I have been several times before to Kitchen W8, often on Sunday evening when they offer BYO and the food from the a la carte menu has always been outstanding. The lunch last week was disappointing and not up to the same standard. It's fairly priced at £28 for 3 courses but you got what you paid for as the quality felt decidedly 2nd rate compared to the a la carte. My main dish of rabbit fricassee was extremely salty and rather simple. The service, wine and ambience were all very good but the food was not up to Michelin star standard on this occasion.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank christoswineman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We visited this restaurant earlier this month for a Friday night casual dinner. We left with very pleasant impressions. The food was very nicely prepared and presented as well as being tasty. The service was very efficient and the ambience very pleasant and relaxing. Definitely worth a second visit.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank U2278URgeorgek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

This is a top venue for the food lover. Here food is celebrated and the expression of the chef is delightful in the extreme. All of our dishes were masterfully crafted and beautifully presented.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the venue is nice but not over the top. But the food... is what W8 is about, it’s pretty expensive but very memorable.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Nenners56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kitchen W8 also viewed

 

Been to Kitchen W8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing