We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Business Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #84 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I was there for a month on a business trip, since my workplace was near Aldgate I opted for Marlin. It is a decent apartment with almost all amenities (Refrigerator, Washing Machine, Dishwasher, Iron, TV). However I faced issue with the TV, as it was damaged. The only thing that I didn't like is the fact that they service the room once a week.

Room Tip: Look for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pbajaj2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear pbajaj2017,

Thank you very much for staying with us here at Marlin Apartments Algate and for taking the time to write this review on trip advisor.

I am really glad to know that you liked your apartment and enjoyed your stay with us.
I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your TV. We have a 24 hours concierge and i am really sure that my colleagues would be more than happy to help you if they knew the issue.

Thank you one more time for your wonderful review and we are waiting for you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Octavian Constantin Canareica
Front Desk Supervisor
Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017

Good facilities. Kitchen, washing machine. Wifi. Close to tube station. Not many restaurants or pubs around area but plenty short tube ride away. Tesla Metro 5 minutes away. Serviced weekly so will need to buy some basics. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank waynee800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Octavian C, Front Desk Supervisor at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear waynee800,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate and for giving us your feedback here on trip advisor page.
I am really happy to hear that you liked your stay with us and our fully equipped apartment.

Thank you once again for your stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back at Marlin Aldgate soon.

Kind Regards,
Octavian Constantin Canareica
Front Desk Supervisor
Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Excellent location for our daughter's wedding weekend. Staff very helpful and went out of their way to make everything was exactly right. Very pleased with Marlin apartments and would happily book them again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank elizabethhainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017

Dear elizabethhainey ,

Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback.

We are glad to hear we have contributed towards the big day and we are glad we could make your stay as perfect as possible for you and your family on this special occasion .

We are happy to hear you liked our facilities and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the future .

Congratulations to your daughter and we wish them lifetime of love and happiness.

Best Wishes,

Mari Peegel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

The website looks fantastic however the reality is far from it
1. Our apartment is filthy - dirty floor, carpet, curtains, walls, furniture, glasses had stuff at the bottom - I've noted other comments of recent visitors. Clearly there are some refurbished and others not
2. I understand weekly servicing but our apartment has accumulated dirt which had taken months to build up
3. Basic maintenance not performed - shower head keeps coming off. Fridge is missing side shelf
3. The TV remote has so much gunge on it I'm loathed to touch it. The dining table has Food under the glass
4. Dishwasher filter was blocked with gunk at bottom including broken glass
5. On arrival despite paying for early checkin eventually got the apartment at 14h40 - reception staff had a no care attitude and kept telling me to read the website for T's and C's - why offer early check I if you can't deliver
5. On arrival in apartment there was garbage and very dirty laundry outside the door - towels looked like they had been through a mud puddle
6. Pull out couch had a duvee thrown on top with no mattress - eventually sorted. However mattress protector is dirty
7. Within half an hour someone tried to open the door - my wife opened the door two men stood outside and ran into lift when they saw her - I can only presume these were builders or furniture guys as there are loads of boxes and new furniture being brought in.
8. No safe in room?

Management seem to have all the answers post the event on the website i suggest they do a walk through with me whilst I'm here.

Please listen constructively to
Comments and do something about them.

Kruger family

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank leon k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 August 2017

Dear Leon K,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am really sorry to hear you didn't have a good first impression.

We were fully booked on the day and the previous guest checked out later than expected and we had a new maid on duty who took little longer to clean . The previous guest had stayed there for few months and as we had to hurry for the apartment to be ready few things were missed however all the points raised where solved for you.
That is the reason we were not able to honour the early check in for you and that was rectified for you at the time .
The operations and the cleaning is done until 1700 and all the rubbish and linen are collected daily and was collected by 1700 on that day .
As we were changing the furniture in some of the apartments it is possible that the door handle was touched by mistake while the contractors where finishing the job and this is simply an error and I would like to assure you they did not do this on purpose .
The receptionists on duty tried their best to explain the difference between terms & conditions on the website and terms & condition's we have in house . The terms on the website explain the booking terms and cancellation policy. The one what guest needs to sign at check in k is terms for the stay . For example it explains we don't allow parties, smoking in the apartment and various others.
We don't have safe in the apartments and we don't advertise this as part of our service however we will consider this in the future and your comments have been passed on to our Head Office.

We would like to assure you that we do take action towards constructive criticism and try to improve our service and product on a daily basis .

I do apologise for the human errors we made and the inconvenience caused.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again in the future.

Thank you

Mari Peegel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

First visit to Aldgate apartments however stayed with a Marlin group several times in the past - all accommodation almost identical interiors always close to public transport and a handy shop for essentials.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 August 2017

Dear Mec18,

Thank you for time leaving us your feedback.

We are happy to read that you are happy with our brand standards and you found it identical as that's what Marlin is aiming for with their standard and brand.

I am glad you found Aldgate good quality and value for money.

Our guest are happy with the shop next door as they sell all the essentials and food what guest need .

We are looking forward to Welcome you back to our locations.

Thank you again for your lovely comments and taking time to let us know how your stay was.

Best Wishes,

Mari Peegel
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Marlin Waterloo
#9 of 956 in London
340 reviews
Linton Apartments
#25 of 956 in London
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 956 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $168 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing