We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food...lovely atmosphere”
Review of Granaio

Granaio
Ranked #10,280 of 25,591 Restaurants in London
Price range: USD 16 - USD 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Creating traditional and regional Italian cuisine is an essential core value of Ristorante Granaio. To accomplish this, we sought advice from the most globally valued cooking expert… Grandmothers! Because when it comes to food and choices at the dinner table, we all appreciate the classic recipes of tradition steeped in history and taste. Without doubt, it includes classic Italian favourites: Lasagna, Risotto, Parmigianino and meat dishes. All adapted within different regions, our dishes replicate the passion put into home cooking. Our mission is to make you feel right at home, to help you recollect treasured memories and flavours from your childhood. From the coffee to the dishes on the menu, everything is prepared respecting tradition and craftsmanship, using natural ingredients, sourced and selected carefully to ensure the highest quality. Enjoy a taste of home cooking with Ristorante Granaio every time!
Reviewed 10 August 2018

A very wide menu.

Just about the best eggplant parmigiana I've ever had. Perfectly cooked and seasoned. My wife had penne in ham/cream sauce. Also excellent.

Service was superb. Prices are high, but acceptable for Piccadilly Circus.

Only complaint: portions are small.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CaliforniaFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaioLondon, Front Office Manager at Granaio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review CaliforniaFellow, we appreciate your feedback and compliments, which we will pass onto the team.Your feedback will be passed onto management. Please come and visit us again and we hope to welcome you soon! Have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

This place has a beautiful interior design, pure Italian style . The atmosphere is very pleasant, the prices are ok for the central London. The food is good, but can be better. We received the great service from our waiter Alessand , however our table was next to the counter and we were observing other members of the staff. The waitress were chewing the gum and making jokes with other waiters. A few hiccups happen during the dinner before we order the waiter tried to serve us the dish of risotto. My main was served during the starters , but after my noticed were taken to the kitchen and served later.

The starters were great , authentic parmaham and melon, tomatoes on bruschetta were excellent quality. My mums pizza with Gorgonzola was delishh , but the crust was too thick for Italian pizza. I enjoyed my pasta with mushrooms and bacon.

The home made tiramisu is amazing ! Must try as the chef really put his heart into it! The cheesecake was a miss as the bottom was soggy. Would be much better to have homemade panacota on menu instead of the cheesecake !

There is always place for improvement and it is only a new restaurant, surely this place have a great potential, we will be back to try it again !

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Irina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaioLondon, Front Office Manager at Granaio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Irina, we appreciate your feedback and compliments, which we will pass onto the team.Your feedback will be passed onto management and will be addressed amongst the wider team. Please come and visit us again and we hope to welcome you soon! Have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Came for the cannelloni, was not impressed. Cannelloni was dry, burgers was similar to McDonald’s. Waiters were having fun with each other. Not coming back!

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank H_J_Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaioLondon, Front Office Manager at Granaio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi H_J_Simpson, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We would like to address your feedback regarding the food, this is not to our usual standards, for which we apologise for and hope to rectify should you visit again. We will pass on your comments regarding the team to management as this is not reflective of our high standards. Have a lovely day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

The atmosphere initially surprised me. It's beautifully decorated and richly ornamented.

However the culinary experience did not match. The breads from the starter were average at best. The pizzas were thin, bland and lacked seasoning. The portion size for the pasta was the worst I have ever seen; a microwavable meal would have been more filling.

The service was acceptable to a degree, but there were English speaking issues with waitresses and a sense of unhappy communion between the staff.

Needs significant improvement if it wants to compete, especially with those who care about food more than decor.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DI_Sammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaioLondon, Front Office Manager at Granaio, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi DI_Sammi, thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed the ambience of the restaurant and hope you had a welcoming experience from our team. We would like to address your feedback regarding the food, this is not to our usual standards, for which we apologise for and hope to rectify should you visit again. We will pass on your comments regarding service to management. In the meantime have a lovely day and we hope to welcome you soon for a positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

This is such a fancy place, the food is good but the presentation is amazing, the service is very good.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank 1bm12cs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GranaioLondon, Public Relations Manager at Granaio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hello, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed our dishes and that you had a welcoming experience. We hope to welcome you back soon and would love for you to try more dishes on the menu. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Granaio also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Granaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing