We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but too expensive for their poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Ranked #71 of 836 Speciality Lodging in London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice location but too expensive for their poor service”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked an Executive Studio, which supposed to be a superior room. The room in terms of space and equipment was ok, but it was located on the basement under and back of the building having a view of a wall 2 meters from all the windows!
And this was under a "special offer" of 170 euros/night !!!
What a rip-off...

Insulation was inexistent. We were able to hear everything from next room! Talking, doors closing, toilet flushes etc. Having that in mind, add 2 children ~10 years old playing and running all day and you have the perfect place you cannot sleep!

One day we left the bedroom at 08.30 and returned at 16.30. The room was not cleaned until then! We said nothing, we putted the do not disturb on the door and we felt to sleep a couple of hours. The cleaning services although we had the do not disturb sign they knocked on our door once. We didn't reply and a couple of minutes later they also called us on the phone (!) to ask to clean the room!..
I guess they are cleaning randomly, without schedule, and do not disturb means nothing to them.

However, we didn't complaint for anything of the above and the only thing we asked after four days of staying there was instead of 12.00 to checkout an hour later at 13.00. And they said that the best they can do is 12.30 because they will not have time to clean the room (which they couldn't clean until 16.30 the previous day).

Amateurs & overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    225
    91
    36
    34
See reviews for
282
91
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Managed to book a studio apartment in advance and saved at least 50% a night on normal cost - not sure if I would have paid the full price being a young couple, but for this price it was frankly luxury!
The apartments are a 5 minute walk from Earls Court tube station, located towards Kensington which speaks for itself. We were warmly greeted, and allowed to check-in earlier than advertised. I was unsure when being taken down to the 'basement' in the lift what to expect, but you wouldn't have known as there was a full length window so lots of light.
The bed was very comfy, even if 2 singles pushed together to make a double, and enough room around the room to move comfortably. Kitchen was small, but equipped enough for 2 with a dishwasher (tablets provided), microwave, fridge, freezer (although couldn't open the door as it was too near the cupboard) pans, hob and oven. The bathroom was clean, with a powerful shower over bath, although not much storage. The highlight of the room has to be the 40/42" TV with HDMI DVD player and then theres free WIFI in room.
Our room was cleaned daily, and we even got a phone call when it came to 2 one day and when had not left the room, asking if we would like it cleaned, or just any rubbish taken.
The only negatives are - there is no plugs anywhere! There was none in the kitchen area, so how the toaster and kettle in the cupboard was supposed to be used is beyond me. There were 2 by the bed, but cabinets had to be moved to get to them. The remainder were in a cupboard under the TV, where an extension lead lay, and this had to be unwired and taken out in order for my partner to get ready in the bathroom as that was where the only mirror in the place was (nightmare clearly)! Another negative would be the noise of cleaners in the morning, and they do leave linen everywhere as pointed out by another reviewer. Finally, the room was very warm. Each room does have aircon, but this is next to nothing, and when theres a radiator chucking out heat the other side of the room thats uncontrollable, it meant that even with the window open, we were rather hot.
I would recommend this to anyone, but as stated at the beginning, not at full price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh, scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

These apartments are in a very good location. 5 minutes from Earls Court Tube station. There is a nice pub at the end of the road which serves a lovely breakfast every day of the week. It is also handy for the M&S food which is at the end of the road. It is around 15 minutes walk to V&A, Science Museum and Natural History Museum or you can get the tube there very easily. The apartments themselves were in good order and nicely finished, very pleasant for a weekend away. There were 3 of us and we could quite easily share a one bed apartment, in one twin room and sofa bed.

Room Tip: We were on the top room at the end of the corridor, no noise from other rooms was heard. You can he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaydiva28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The room was clean but very small. The sofa bed that was supposed to be for two people only fit one person.

The hallways were cramped with cleaning supplies and dirty linens each and every time we entered or left the room. This is a terrible fire hazard. We mentioned it to the front desk. Nothing changed or was picked up. Pictures attached.

The neighborhood was great albeit a little far out. We did not mind the short commute but if you are looking for a centrally located hotel this isn't it.

We looked into moving and found that we could have stayed at the Intercontinental across from Buckingham Palace or The Langham near Oxford Street (both 5 stars) for the same price. Will not book there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleyjayt25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presk, Manager at Presidential Apartments Kensington, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review about our Apartments. We are sorry to hear that you have not found our facilities up to your standards.
With regards to your comment about the cleaning supplies being cramped we would like to inform you that we have shown this to the Housekeeping and they are now trying their best to keep the corridor tidy during service to avoid disruptions to other guests.
We have looked at the days you have stayed and would like to advise you that we have received new linen deliveries and they were being sorted in various storage places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed here one Thursday evening. Arrived late - but check-in was fast and efficient. I was shown to my room - all good.

About an hour after being in the room, the outside noise was becoming a little too much, so I decided to shut the windows. One wouldn't shut....

Then I decided to have a glass of water. I searched everywhere - there were no cups, glasses, etc - no coffee, sugar, tea - no complimentary bath products, no slippers.

So in short, I didn't get what I paid for, room was nice - but noisy. Checkout was quick - as their system was down.....

Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank leighv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presk, Manager at Presidential Apartments Kensington, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you for your review about our Apartments. We are sorry to hear that you have not found our facilities adequate to your expectation.
We would like to inform you that all our Kitchen are fully fitted with all the amenities and everything, from cups, pots, glasses, cutleries, hairdryer, toiletries can be found in the cabinets or drawers.
Our reception is open 24 hours and always happy to help with any queries.
We hope to see you again in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#159 of 1,067 in London
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,067 in London
3,658 reviews
Marylebone
Presidential  Apartments
Presidential Apartments
#97 of 836 in London
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidential Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Apartments Kensington

Property: Presidential Apartments Kensington
Address: 6-12 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 836 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): $213 - $587
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Apartments Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Presidential Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing