We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very very nice meal”

The Foyer At Claridge's
Reserve with OpenTable
The Foyer At Claridge's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #68 of 25,288 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 0 - USD 200
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Mayfair
Description: The huge sparkling Chihuly light sculpture and grand art deco of the Foyer transforms this Mayfair restaurant into a magical dining space, whilst the inviting banquettes of the Reading Room allow for more intimate dining. Frequented by famous faces for over a hundred years, it's the perfect venue for a light meal, sipping cocktails and the best afternoon tea in London.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Dined here for a birthday lunch and had a great time, very nice meal.

Service was great and very friendly/attentive, topping up champagne/water glasses as required.

Soups to start were good and the norfolk chicken for the main was really nice, perfectly cooked/seasoned. Desserts were very nice (sorbet / chocolate fondant).

The restaurant provided a birthday plate with some dessert treats and a happy birthday message which was a nice touch, and also some small sweets/chocolates at the end of the meal.

Really enjoyed our day here and would recommend.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian_Scotland_2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Platt, Director of food and beverage at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Brian_Scotland_2008,

How wonderful to read your comments following your recent visit to celebrate your birthday here in the foyer and reading room. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your lunch and that team made it an extra special visit for you.

Your review and recommendation are greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Russell Platt
Director of food and beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 108 of 1,346 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful Art Deco setting. The high tea was delicious and even got to take the sweet items home at the end. Interesting teas and excellent service. Best high tea in London!

1  Thank OzChards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Platt, Director of food and beverage at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear OzChards,

Thank you for writing and sharing our review and recommendation following your visit for afternoon tea. We are thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable afternoon and that you were also able to take a few items to enjoy at home later. I have also shared your comments with the team

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes,
Russell Platt
Director of food and beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

you simply can't fault Claridges. theres not much to say about a great venue as this . i took my self in for a celebratory lunch, the staff were great , food was great.

its got a great atmosphere , a must go to place for sure

    • Service
1  Thank sandreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim_P_Lyons, Food & Beverage Manager at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear sandreen1,

Thank you taking the time to review your experience in The Foyer and Reading Room at Claridge's. Your kind and sincere comments are very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Claridge's in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Jim Lyons
Food & Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Two of us had lunch here last week as a special occasion. The restaurant, we thought, was very quiet (not many people) the service was excellent and food lovely. I thought we would eat off the menu of the day which was about £32.00. So good value, but we actually ate off the main menu and may be it was rather boring but we had lobster bisque a roast beef sandwich and a lobster one. Both were huge with an extra lettuce and blue cheese salad which was delicious.
No desert....We had two glasses of champagne which added another £60 to the bill!!!
so not a cheap lunch but for a nice location, good service we had an enjoyable lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank judy2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Platt, Director of food and beverage at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Judith U,

Thank you for writing and sharing your review following your recent visit for lunch. I am so pleased to read that you had an enjoyable lunch and that the service and food were excellent. I have shared the details of your review with the service and culinary teams who look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,
Russell Platt
Director of food and beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

13 of us ate here to celebrate my godparents golden wedding anniversary. They were both staying (see separate hotel review) and had invited us all to dinner for which they booked out the private room at the back of the Foyer. It was simply stunning. The whole evening went very smoothly and the staff were brilliant. 1st class services at every point. Food was also excellent, I had scallops (the biggest I have ever seen by some way!), Halibut and Parfait... all of it, cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious. Can not thank staff enough for making such great memories for my godparents and us all. THANK YOU!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ben_evolve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell_Platt, Director of food and beverage at The Foyer At Claridge's, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Ben_evolve,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your fantastic review following your visit to celebrate your godparents Golden Wedding Anniversary this past weekend. It is wonderful to read that you had such a fantastic evening and that you all have such fond memories of your visit to treasure in future.

I have also shared the details of your review with the culinary and service teams who look forward to seeing you when you next visit.

With kind regards,
Russell Platt
Director of food and beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Foyer At Claridge's also viewed

 

Been to The Foyer At Claridge's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing