We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun food, fantastic cider”
Review of MAMIE'S

MAMIE'S
Ranked #181 of 24,813 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 13 - USD 36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: French Crêperie & Cidrothèque. Crêpes, Galettes & Cider lovers. We bridge the gap between traditional Breton food & modern restoration. Unique, witty, colourful.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is a pancake - sorry a galette place - with a difference. Really nice buckwheat pancakes, thin and light with inventive fillings. On the savoury side we had goats cheese and fig jam, smoked salmon with creamed leeks and cheese. On the sweet side flambéed, chocolate, Chantilly cream and other goodies. The salads were how I like them - substantial - and there was a good array of non galette puddings if you can't face two courses of galettes.
The place specialises in ciders and has some lovely options at reasonable prices - definitely the place to go if you're a cider fan.
Plus they give you a little electronic tablet so you can order your own food.. So the friendly waiter only comes to welcome you and bring your food. So it speeds everything up and makes it a great place for a quick bite before a show at the Royal Theatre - which is opposite.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 38sally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aymeric P, Propriétaire at MAMIE'S, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Sally,
Thank you very much for this lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your galettes!
We would love to know what we could enhance to get your five points!
Have a really nice day and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 588 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here recently for sweet crepes.
It’s a lovely little restaurant with nice staff.
I wasn’t as taken with it as everyone else has been.
I thought our crepe was a bit lacking in the fruit although it was
equal to the diagram on the menu. The fruit was also cold on the hot crepe. It could have been heated up I thought (?)
The coffee was only average.

Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aymeric P, Propriétaire at MAMIE'S, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Hi Alison,
Thank you for giving us your feedback about your MAMIE'S experience.
If you feel you don't have enough fruits, don't hesitate to call a waiter, who'll talk to the Chef.
Some fruits are presented chilled and not warm (as pears for example) because our will is to present the pear chilled to preserve its savour and freshness. If you ever come back, and if you prefer your fruits warm, just submit your request to the Chef via the tablet.It will be our pleasure to serve it this way for you.
Concerning our coffee, we import a quality one and mould it at the minute. We understand our waiters might not be baristas, but never hesitate to let us know if you like your coffee a certain way. Once again, thanks for your very useful feedback.
Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

What an amazing place! I visited this place after reading the reviews on tripadvisor and so glad that it lived up to the hype. If there was one in South Wales I would visit daily.
I went in for a savour crepe, it was crisp without being dry, with the right amount of filling. I had ham, cheese and an egg yolk, I hadn’t had one with egg before but it really worked.
It was so good that I HAD to try a sweet one. It was melt in the mouth thin and the caramel sauce was a great addition.
If you pass, pop in!

Thank HaylesinWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aymeric P, Propriétaire at MAMIE'S, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed your MAMIE'S experience!
We wish you a nice day and we hope to see you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

The tiniest little entrance, we nearly missed it! Very small inside but wow.. the galette are superb. Full of fillings, huge variety and piping hot. Lovely service and a little tablet gadget to order from for some extra fun. Do not walk past this place as it's so easy to.

Thank julieclayton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aymeric P, Propriétaire at MAMIE'S, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Julie,
Thank you so much for this lovely feedback. We're so happy you didn't miss the entrance! We hope to see you very soon, we'll be glad to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful Place in all respects!!! Friendly staff, easy menu as one orders on tablet and quick service. Can’t go wrong here!!!

Thank MHJ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aymeric P, Propriétaire at MAMIE'S, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi there,
Thank you so much for taking your time to review us. We are so glad you enjoyed food and service! See you soon, to taste some other recipes! Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAMIE'S also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to MAMIE'S? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing