We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chips ever!”

The Florence, Herne Hill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Florence, Herne Hill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7,723 of 25,047 Restaurants in London
Price range: USD 13 - USD 39
Cuisines: British, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: A grand old dame of a pub at the heart of Herne Hill. Situated opposite Brockwell Park we are just a short walk from the much loved Lido. Serving modern British pub food using only freshly cooked, seasonal produce. Sunday lunches are particularly busy, so we do recommend booking. Family friendly, dog friendly, date-night friendly, spot of food and then drinks for a celebration friendly, bring your folks for lunch when they are visiting friendly. You get the idea - we are quite friendly!
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great Pub, excellent food and service. They have an excellent selection of beers and their chips are the best pub chips we have ever had! So easy to get to as it is right near the station and bus stops. Lovely garden in the Summer.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AbsfoodandDr1nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajahFlorence, Guest Relations Manager at The Florence, Herne Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

HI Abs,

Thank you for this great review!!

Hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

First time there, no one welcome us we waited standing with waitresses passing next to us and ignoring us. We found a table and sat and then immediately got told that was reserved, so we asked where to sit then?? We were sent to another table were we were ignored for ages..then eventually I waived to a waitress and she took the order....drinks took about 15 minutes to arrive...after I asked a second waiter about them!! Roast was ok, but for that price not really. Went my self to the bar for a second round of drinks...it took ages to get served..only 3 customers and like 5 staff chatting and cleaning and hanging around with the I take my time attitude...so in conclusion...never again.

Thank mistery r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

A few of us went for Sunday lunch yesterday mid afternoon, two ladies served us who were really nice and friendly. Unfortunately they had ran out of Chicken, at 3pm on a Sunday that seems really poor. If this was a one off this would not be an issue but the table next to us said they had been before and this happened then too.

I would go again but not for Sunday dinner, not worth risking having to go with a meat you do not want.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmurphy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We came for Sunday lunch, massive place with a built in brewery. Very busy and family friendly. Drinks order was a little slow in arriving, but very friendly service. Lunch portions were massive and of really good quality.
Very reasonably priced too. One of the better London pubs we have been to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank edward w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajahFlorence, Manager at The Florence, Herne Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Edward,

Thank you for coming and leaving a review, we are working with staff to insure our drinks service is much quicker.
please do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018 via mobile

Shocked to see some of the bad reviews on here!

We went today for a Sunday roast - they were fully booked but managed to find us a table and we grabbed a drink at the bar. We was quickly served and decided to go for the triple roast it was amazing - good size and fairly good value for money!

The only thing we would have changed was the rude and annoying customer that decided to sit next to us!

We look forward to coming back in the summer for drinks!

1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajahFlorence, Manager at The Florence, Herne Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Thomas,

We are pleased to hear that you had such a great time with us, thank you for leaving a lovely review and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Florence, Herne Hill also viewed

 

Been to The Florence, Herne Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing