We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the ‘Italian meringue’”
Review of The Art School

The Art School
Ranked #8 of 1,935 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 32 - USD 113
Cuisines: Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Art School Restaurant is completely unique. We have tried to embrace the features of the original building and have blended in modern facilities. With warm lighting, a viewing window through to the kitchen, a relaxing bar and a fabulous dining area. Situated across the street from the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and a short distance from both of Liverpool's cathedrals, the restaurant is the first of its kind in Liverpool City Centre. We will offer innovative, seasonal menus developed from the finest local produce our region has to offer, including an exclusive range of organic spirits, superb 200 bin wine list and a world class Champagne selection. Delivered by an international team of experienced chefs, waiters and sommeliers, the restaurant has a focus on mentoring young, local talent and apprentices. Starting from £25.00 for 2 courses, our menus are aspirational, modern and contemporary. We aim to be affordable and inviting for all to enjoy.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Really nice atmosphere and service from the staff with excellent aperitif, amuse bouche,starter and main courses.
Orange and lemon tart came with undercooked Italian meringue smeared on the plate. Staff informed me that this was ‘Italian’ and intended to be like that: implying I was ignorant.
A quick google confirmed my understanding,using adjectives like voluminous, stiff and marshmallow like to describe how it should be presented, rather than wet, white and mucoid as at The Art School.
We did get a free cup of coffee!

1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Concierge at The Art School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear David C,

Thank you for visiting The Art School restaurant and for taking the time to leave feedback on your experience.

The staff have been delighted to read your review and thank you for your praise. I have spoken to the kitchen regarding the meringue that was used on the dessert and would like to reassure you that it was indeed fully cooked, the 180 degree sugar cooking the whisked egg whites, upon contact, whilst being combined. As you will be aware this produces the glossy, mousse-like texture which may be served in it's more fluid form or baked to produce the firmer, crisper texture you describe. The softer version that is used on our dish was designed to balance the textures and flavours of the other elements of the dish. We were sorry to hear that this was not to your taste and hope that it did not diminish your enjoyment of the rest of the dish.

Our new menus are shortly to be introduced and we hope that you may return to sample our other dishes.

Regards
Rob Hilton
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 115 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

On a recent trip to Liverpool (we live in Devon, but am from Liverpool originally and have not been back for 30 years) we booked into the Restaurant for Easter Sunday lunch. This was a pre paid lunch, the menu looked amazing. On the Saturday evening my brother was taken to hospital and i had no option but to cancel the booking. They could not have been more helpful, fully refunding my pre payment and genuinely seemed to care. Many thanks for all your help, we will be returning very soon and can't wait to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blackcornish1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Concierge at The Art School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear blackcornish1964,

Thank you for taking the time to leave of a review of your experience of dealing with us here at The Art School.

We were, indeed, sorry to hear the news of your brother and we were only too happy to refund the payment in such circumstances. Whilst our menus will shortly change due to seasonal availability we certainly hope that you will visit us when the opportunity allows.

Warmest regards
Rob Hilton
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

After finding it difficult to get a table at short notice in the restaurant, me and my partner decided to try out the Charcuterie downstairs and we were not disappointed. I was warmly welcomed by Franco and offered a seat by the cosy fireplace, it was the perfect setting for a romantic evening! The selection of rare cheeses were expertly matched with amazing wines adding a little more to the experience. I will definitely recommend to friends and family and have a return visit soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Concierge at The Art School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Tom M,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for The Art School Cellars.

Franco is, indeed, an accomplished host with a wide knowledge of food and drink pairing and was delighted to be singled out for praise. Althought a relatively new project for us we are pleased to say that Chef Askew's plans for a relaxed wine bar, with an extensive wine and drinks list to compliment a selection of meats and cheeses, has been embraced by those looking for a light snack during the afternoon or evening. We are hoping to introduce a selection of small hot dishes in the near future and hope that you will return to sample them.

Kind regards
Rob Hilton
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Why would you not go? We had lunch and chose from the Prix Fixe menu and were not disappointed. Food was excellent, the flavours that come through with each mouthful are to be savoured. Staff were extremely professional and attentive and allowed the leisurely lunch to take its course.

Having lived in the Middle East and London and frequented the many five star establishments available in those locations, I can say that Arts School is up there with them.

For the venue, they have taken and old building in the Georgian part of Liverpool and refurbished it tastefully and to a high standard. During the day, the glass roof in the restaurant area provides for bright and extremely pleasant surroundings.

Having now returned to live in this area we can say that we intend to make Arts School restaurant a regular destination.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank middleeastexpat2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Concierge at The Art School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear middleeastexpat2015,

Welcome back to the UK! We are pleased to hear that you may become one of our growing band of regulars.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us, our Prix Fixe menu is our most popular choice for those guests looking for a light, hearty lunch or early evening pre-theatre meal. Both front-of-house and the chefs have been flattered by your comments and we are all thrilled that the food, service and surroundings all met with your approval.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest regards
Rob Hilton
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

An amazing meal. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Can't recommend this restaurant enough.

Thank Kelly34Yatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, Concierge at The Art School, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Kelly34Yatton,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your experience of The Art School.

The staff were pleased to read your comments and we look forward to you returning.

Kind regards
Rob Hilton
Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Art School also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to The Art School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing