We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Browns Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #222 of 1,935 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We chose Browns Liverpool for lunch as we've eaten there several times at the Manchester and London branches and have always had a pleasant meal. We were very disappointed with the service and the food we were served, we both ate off the lunchtime special menu, our starter was fish cake which was cold and tasted like mash potato, it had very little fish in it if any at all, the garnish was wilted which lead us to believe it had been under the food warmer too long. We ate the starter without complaining because we were hungry and had been waiting ages. At this point our drinks still had arrived. We waited over 40 mins for our main course, my friends crab ravioli had no crab in it when we mentioned it to the waitress she checked with the kitchen and indeed they had forgotten to put the crab in!!!! My food was fine but luke warm, the whole experience was very disappointing. I don't think they could cope with the amount of guests, either that or they were understaffed as the service was particularly slow. Having had an afternoon tea at the Manchester branch only two days previously which was excellent I couldn't believe the difference.

Thank sbP7429UH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 82 of 1,710 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I were undecided as to where we could eat and as we walked past this restaurant we thought it looked very nice. We were lucky as they could accommodate a table for two immediately. Inside this restaurant is lovely, Nice decor and atmospheric. The menu was plentiful both starters and maincourse were absolutely delicious. The young man who served us was very friendly and efficient. We thought that the meal overall was very good value for money and will definitely return. Would recommend to anyone.

Thank Dibrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Dibrow,

Thank you for taking your time to leave us a review. We are glad to see we could accommodate you and serve you up some excellent food!

See you again in the near future

Kind Regards,
Callam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Came here 2 week ago 5 of us , food was ok nothing amazing cocktails and mocktails where fab service was nice and pleasant but fekt like server jad no time there was no actual.iteraction with us or our kids food took a while but luckily a legendary game of eye spy in a resturant that is actually stunning entertained us .. it was fairly exoensive for the experience would come again but maybe just the adults. As the kids expect some interaction from the waiters and faster food.
As a couple think it would have been spot on though ... just really glad we keft toddler behind as he coukdnt have been patient

Thank Clairpatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

What a delight staff brilliant helpful
Food spot on hot thanks again nothing to much trouble drinks really good choice and not along rushed to get u through ur meal relaxed

Thank tonyborrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Hi Tony,

Thank you for giving us great feedback see you again soon

Kind Regards
Callam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

This is a smart bar and restaurant in a prime location in the city. It gets busy so it’s worth booking if you want a meal. It has a nice atmosphere. The only downside was the bar staff member who didn’t concentrate properly to the orders so we ended up with drinks we didn’t ask for even though he’d repeated them back to us.

Thank DodgetheViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Browns Bar & Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time to give us some feedback. We try and make the ambiance pleasing and satisfying for our customers. However, I apologise for the confusion with your drinks. I can assure you that i will be speaking with the bartenders to state the importance of customers service.

I hope that you can give us a second chance.

Kind Regards,
Callam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Browns Bar & Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Browns Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing