We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (896)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
156
222
194
142
183
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
222
194
142
183
Show reviews that mention
All reviews edge lane city centre bit dated full english enjoyable stay excellent value for money yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2018

We stayed at Devonshire House for three nights why we had a good look around Liverpool , the Hotel was really convenient & not far for us to get around. Our room was nice & spacious and the bathroom was also nice size,the room also had like a little nook that was really convenient for us to do a bit of writing. So overall we had a wonderful stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

Dear Brian J

Thank you so much for your feedback, i am so pleased you has enjoyed your stay and you felt the hotel was convenient for you, I do hope you will choose to stay with us next time you are in Liverpool.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I went here with work friends and stayed the night, the hall was lovely, the food was cold and piled on the plate , the room what can I say disgusting , smelt of must and white stains on carpet. The bedding wasn't much better looked very old and worn throws. I would not recommend this hotel for a Xmas night out at all.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by two very unprofessional members of staff at reception, who were refusing to swap another customer after finding a mouse in their room. Their response to them was that they'd sent someone up to check the room and they couldn't find the mouse, basically calling them liars. They said they were unable to change their room, and if they weren't happy that they were welcome to find another hotel to stay in for the night. As they were attending an event at the venue, they had no option but to accept the "mouse room". This didn't eave us with a very good first impression of the hotel and because our check in took a long time, when all we wanted to do was get into our room to start getting ready for the event.
Our room was very basic but a good size for the 2 of us. The hotel is in desperate need of an upgrade.
We also attended an event in the Chatsworth Suite attached to the hotel. This was a much better experience than the hotel itself. The bar staff were friendly and worked hard throughout the night.
Although we didn't pay a lot for the room (£85) I have recently stayed in much better accommodation for the same price. Because of this, I would not recommend a stay at this hotel unless some serious changes are made.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LinziG84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Linzi

Thank you for your feedback, and am sorry you had to wait and witness a guest dispute on your check in, you mention the mouse room when the guest made these comments, the room was instantly checked for the said mouse and was no were to be seen.

the next day the pest control were called in, and their findings was no evidence to suggest there was a mouse activity or other signs that would give us cause for concern.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2018

2 rooms booked for one night(thank god) Paid £126 per room through booking.com.
Poor run down way overpriced hotel! Heating in corridors and rooms were boiling hot and no way to turn down,not a good nights sleep even with windows open.Both room were very shabby and not like on the website, damp patches on bathroom ceilingsand one room had black hair tangled around the shower head!!and a tile missing at bottom of shower.One room had a punched hole in the bathroom door.think we got the worst rooms the hotel had for the top price!On the plus side was in a very good position to get to local ameneties.Pictures and comments from the other couple have been put on facebook!Would really like to see what the hotel manager thinks to these comments and look forward to a respnse

Room Tip: dont stay here
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Alan

thank you for your feed back, i am sorry you did not enjoy yours stay with us and such a shame you didn't make us aware of your dissatisfaction of your room i am sure we could have made your stay more comfortable.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

Excessive heat in hallways and rooms with no option to turn radiators off.
Very poor Christmas meal - two waitress spillages over our party. Previously arranged to have bar facilities but then Hotel said not - eventually opened resident bar until 10pm.

Room Tip: Not as it appears on the website....
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnBrown123, Manager at Devonshire House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Linda

Thank you for your feed back i am sorry the hotel was to warm for you this time of year was exceptionally cold so we did increase the temperature in the hotel, there was a bit of confusion over timing on the bar but i believe the bars manager did open the bar for your party.

Kind regards

John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews