We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take earplugs.”
Review of Sefton Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sefton Park Hotel
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Take earplugs.”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family. Our double room (No 10) turned out to have 2 single beds but as there were no others available we pushed the beds together and made do. The bed was made up as a double for our second night but the duvet used was obviously for a standard double so was far too small. Also, the walls are very thin so we had to put up with our neighbour's snoring, toilet flushing and phone conversations.

Our room had a lovely view of the park but the curtains were difficult to close because the tv was fixed to the wall directly above the rail. As a result the curtains were falling off. The room was basic but clean and functional. There was no shade on the ceiling light, only one bedside table and light.

The bathroom had a bath (plentiful hot water) with an overhead shower (good water pressure). My only concern was that while using the shower the water temperature suddenly changed and I was forced to move quickly to avoid being scalded - health and safety !!!
There was no plug for the washbasin and the toilet seat was broken but these were soon sorted out by the friendly staff.

We ate in the bar the first night but the food quality was disappointing. Our "full English" the next morning was also a bit of a let down. The second morning we asked for scrambled egg and bacon which was freshly cooked and much tastier.

We got a great deal through Booking.com but wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear Sandollar,

Thank you for your recent review of The Blenheim Lakeside. I have raised your issues with our Maintenance Manager and they have since beel resolved. I would welcome the opportunity for you to give our hotel one more chance so that you can eperience our usual high levels of service. To make a booking please contact our Reception Team and they will be happy to assist.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    79
    59
    43
    83
See reviews for
109
120
23
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
625 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here on business it has a good location overlooking the lake in Sefton Park. If you like the Beatles you will like it here as it was the family home of Stuart Sutcliffe the '5th' beatle who died in 1962 there is lots of memorabilia. Breakfast was nice as was dinner and the rates for dinner and the rooms is an attraction. There is an Indian very nearby and Chinese not far away the bar area is nice and quite busy the staff were great. My room despite quite a large radiator was a little cool but it was a 'cold snap' in fairness and they were sash windows. There is a review saying that this was a 'noisy' hotel, I beg to differ, hotels are not noisy its the residents who have no concern about their fellow residents who run around and bang doors with their sullied indifference that makes noisy hotels. Noise levels here were fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iantoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Iantoes,

Thank you for your recent review of The Blenheim Lakeside. The hotel was once indeed home to Stuart Sutcliffe, and his family lived here for over 10 years when the property was set out as apartments in the 1950's and 1960's. Being true to our heritage we have a collection of Beatles memorabilia at the hotel and are a featured stop on the Beatles Taxi Tour, a must for any die hard fan.

We strive at all times to offer our guests a friendly professional service and excellent value for money. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the Future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed at hotel prior to an early morning flight from Liverpool airport.

Good location next to Sefton Park and near to plenty of restaurants as our stay was on a Sunday night and the hotel was not serving food.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and excellent value, particularly as we booked via a deal from bookings .com and paid less than £20 for the night.

We would definately use again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DJP/jdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear DJP/jdp,

Thank you for your recent review of The Blenheim Lakeside. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel offers an ideal location, within easy reach of both Liverpool City Centre and Liverpool John Lennon Airport with many excellent restaurants available nearby.

I have passed your kind comments onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel was fantastic! I really couldn't fault it at all. We only stayed for one night after we had flown in to Liverpool John Lennon, we arrived quite late which wasn't a problem for the hotel. Got to the room and found it was lovely - especially for £20. Bed was one of the comfiest I've slept in for a while. The location is ideal for city and airport alike. We didn't have breakfast because it was awful early but there is a McDonald's down the road. The only issue was that the shower went very hot, very cold and so on. Definitely worth booking!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Rhonaaa,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Blenheim Lakeside in December last. One of the advantages of The Blenheim is that we offer easy access to both Liverpool John Lennon Airport and Liverpool City Centre, both of which are under 10 minutes drive from the hotel. Complimentary car parking is also available at the hotel. Occasionally we run some very special deals with our booking partners, and you were able to benefit from one of these.

We hope to see you again when you next visit Liverpool.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

What a pleasant surprise! A really comfortable, sociable hotel in a beautiful setting. Yes - a few hiccups (only 1 bedside lamp; no shelf in the bathroom or tooth mugs) but these felt more like quirks than issues as the atmosphere here is so relaxed and friendly. A refreshing change from the monotony of larger, chain hotels. Good selection of bar food & a great breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemaleFarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, General Manager at Sefton Park Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear FemaleFarang,

Thank you for your recent review of The Blenheim Lakeside. As an independent hotel we strive to offer our guests a warm and relaxing environment and a personal service which many of our larger colleagues aren't always able to provide. This results in us having many guests return time and again. We are presently undertaking a refurbishment programme at the hotel which includes adding / replacing fixtures and fittings in guest bedrooms and hope to have this completed within the next 4 weeks.

I have passed your kind comments onto our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards
Conor O'Donovan
Chief Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Sefton Park
Hallmark Hotel Liverpool South
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#29 of 97 in Liverpool
497 reviews
Beech Mount Hotel
#71 of 97 in Liverpool
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hotel
#57 of 97 in Liverpool
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Park Hotel

Property: Sefton Park Hotel
Address: 37 Aigburth Drive | Sefton Park, Liverpool L17 4JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Sefton Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price range (per night): $74 - $291
Hotel Class:3 star — Sefton Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sefton Park Hotel is a beautifully restored Victorian Villa overlooking the Boating Lake in Sefton Park, the largest park in Liverpool. It is one of the original detached houses on the perimeter of the park where rich merchants and shipping magnates once lived in style. Today it offers a warm friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and quality food and drink which is served in Astrid's Bar and Michelngelo's Italian Restaurant. More modern history confirms that 'The Blenheim' was, infact, the family home of the fifth Beatle, Stuart Sutcliffe in the 1960s. Stuart's family continued to live here until 1970. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Lakeside Liverpool
Hotel Blenheim Lakeside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing