We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central Location”
Review of The Liner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Liner Hotel
Ranked #23 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Location is superb for all the attractions and the city centre. Easy to reach by car or train. Staff very friendly and hotel is well presented, wouldn't look past it on trip to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirrieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,774)
There are newer reviews for The Liner Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,153 - 4,157 of 4,774 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2012

stay was ok. wallpaper stained and peeling. expected more luxe for a liner. breakfast nice. staff too clean to clear tables...went to get food and table was reset.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirley_gaskell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

stayed for 2 nights at hotel for family party. All staff very good.Had meal in bistro very fairly priced and all our meals were up to standard.hotel done food for party all very good.Used room service and they only charge 2 pound a tray service all in all good value for money close to station and a short walk to town centre also a free car park

Room Tip: rooms on the second floor are for smokers. next to station so dont have aroom station side or on the...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraka43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at The Liner hotel for one night with my wife following a brief trip into Liverpool. Firstly, the hotel is a great base for Liverpool. It is 30 second walk to Lime Street rail station and 2 mins walk into the city centre.
I picked the hotel due to the room rate (£53) coupled with the free inclusions of parking, breakfast and wi-fi within the rate.
Check in was quick, friendly, informative and efficient. The whole hotel including the room was very clean and tidy and all staff that we encountered were pleasant. My only real gripe was that the Wi-fi connection within our room was pretty much non-existent however as I only wanted it for a quick browse I didn't bother complaining about it as it worked fine in the lobby.
If I'm being picky I've stayed in comfier beds but other than that the room was well equipped.
Breakfast was good although the room was a little cramped at peak time.
Overall I would happily stay at The Liner again if the price was right. Taking everything into account it was a gat option at the rate we paid.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I booked this trip as a birthday surprise for my husband, and was happy to pay a little extra for a nice hotel. I was delighted when I was contacted by the hotel to offer a Valentine meal on the evening that we were booked in for. It was also suggested that I could bring champagne and that the staff in the restaurant would sing happy birthday. I took some champagne and was told that I had misunderstood and I should have had the champagne in our room. This caused a bit of an atmosphere and there was no birthday singing in the restaurant!
The hotel was a nice standard and very close to the railway station.
My only other comment is that the breakfast felt rushed, no sooner had I laid down my spoon and the dish was whisked away. There were people hovering waiting for a table.

Room Tip: Get any special arrangements in writing as the staff don't appear to communicate well
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joannebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,142 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Holiday Inn Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,767 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Liner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Liner Hotel

Address: Lord Nelson Street | Liverpool, Liverpool L3 5QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#25 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Liner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the City Centre next to Lime Street Station The Liner Hotel is a perfect base to explore the City. Located just two minutes from The Empire Theatre, St. Georges Hall and the World Museum the hotel is in an enviable location. Liverpool One Shopping, Liverpool Echo Arena & Convention Centre are just minutes away. Liverpool Football Club can be reached in just 15 minutes. All bedrooms and public areas are furnished to a high standard with the most recent room refurbishments taking place in January 2017. We offer exceptional value for money with Free WIFI and car parking (subject to availability) included in the rate. The Seven Seas Brasserie & Castaway Bar is open daily with 3 course Pre Theatre Dining available from just £16.50. We hope to see you with us in the near future and don't forget to leave your review! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Liner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gladstone Hotel Liverpool
Liner Hotel Liverpool
Liner Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing