We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Ranked #44 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“good basic hotel”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Good location near the river & Albert Docks. Rooms were new-ish & clean, but a little basic. Hotel bar was ok. Good value if you get a deal. Worth signing up to the Thistle hotels signature programme to get vouchers for free lunches & free stays.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen-London-N16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Steve-London-N16

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. It seems we met your needs and not much more, however, I am pleased you felt you received good value.

I am glad to see you signed up to our Signature programme. Definitely worth the few minutes it takes to apply.

Do let me know directly if there is anything further we could have done to further improve your experience.

Many thanks again.

Alistair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    662
    774
    381
    141
    77
See reviews for
212
888
83
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

Friendly, efficient staff. Room very clean with good views. Did not eat or drink in the hotel so cannot comment on food or drink. Good location for shopping & nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondi64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
DearJondi64

Thanks for your review which is short but sweet!
Glad to hear you found the staff helpful and friendly and the room to be clean and with good views. Hope to see you back again soon,

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

the welcoming reception is a good start to a holiday . the staff were smiling and pleasant , the room was clean with all the bits & pieces we could ever need . Alister Risk [the general manager] was also very welcoming and concerned with everything that was going on in ,and around, the hotel . The breakfast was excellant in quality and variety, the staff again were pleasant and quick in serving us . GO THERE AND SEE FOR YOUR SELF

Room Tip: "Any room will do"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear David R ,

Thanks so much for your kind review. It was great to catch up with you and your party over the weekend, and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Personal mention is well received too! My team and I are greatly encouraged by your feedback.
Hope to see you back at the Atlantic Tower in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2012

A super hotel for visiting Liverpool, fantastic views over the Mersey River and a short walk to all the sight seeing venues and shops. First impressions of the hotel for me always start at reception and we wasn't disappointed to be met by a smiling face. Once checked in the room was fantastic, clean and well appointed. All the staff seem so friendly! Breakfast the next morning was well organised and attention to detail was in order, even the tea and coffee order the following morning was remembered by Shannon in the restaurant! Plenty of parties were in full flow during our stay. A wedding and a murder mystery night were the main events over the weekend, both seemed to be well organised and catered for. All in all, considering the amount of hotels in Liverpool, this has to be one of the best stay's I have had in a City Centre hotel, staff were friendly with a 'can do' attitude.. Well done to the staff and management team at Thistle, we will definitely be staying here again..

Room Tip: Book in advance to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Stewart R,

Thank you so much for your kind comments above. My team and I are greatly encouraged, and Shannon in particular is delighted with your feedback. It was a busy weekend at the hotel, with the team focusing on a number of important areas, so it is great to read that you had such a positive experience.
Thanks also for taking the time to spread the word online, and hope to see you back in Liverpool soon.

Best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed one night in standard room which was excellent price and we were not disappointed. On arrival staff at reception were friendly, helpful and offered to look for a room with a view over river. We were given a lovely room on 11th floor. It was clean and perfect for the reasonable price we had booked which also included breakfast. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the room had everything we could require. We used the bar and staff excellent. The breakfast was beautiful and so well cooked. We have stayed all over England and in different hotel chains. This breakfast was the best. The staff were attentive, polite and made us so welcome. Can,t fault any aspect of our stay....can,t wait to stay again...lovely! ...Plus the bed was so comfortable and no noise disruption.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordy3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Dear Cordy3-11 ,

Thank you for your kind comments above. It has been great to pick up two really favourable reviews this morning. Glad to hear you had such a good stay, and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.
Hope to see you back at the hotel in the very near future.

With best regards,

Alistair Risk
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
2,296 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel

Property: Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Address: Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9RE, England (Formerly The Atlantic Tower Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#20 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#29 Business Hotel in Liverpool
Price range (per night): $92 - $346
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the banks of the River Mersey, The Mercure Atlantic Tower Hotel, is the ideal place to discover the great city of Liverpool. Overlooking the Royal Liver Building and the Dock Front - a UNESCO World Heritage Site - The Atlantic Tower Hotel is a welcoming, contemporary hotel in the heart of Liverpool, within walking distance to the Beatles Story museum, Tate Liverpool and many other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Tower, Liverpool Hotel Liverpool
Atlantic Hotel By Thistle Liverpool
Thistle Hotel Liverpool
Thistle Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing