We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience for any music fan”

British Music Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 18.86*
and up
British Music Experience: The National Museum of...
Ranked #23 of 230 things to do in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The British Music Experience is the national museum dedicated to the history of popular music in Britain. State of the art effects and iconic memorabilia will show how rock, pop, dance and other genres were formed and have influenced the last seventy years of British culture.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyable experience for any music lover. The museum is layed out brilliantly and you effectively walk through each musical decade, surrounded by its sounds, news and of course historical items (my favourite was the door to Apple). In the middle there is a stage where a 'concert' happens every 20 minutes. This was really cool but my only suggestion would be to try and get more musicians to record to vary it up.

We also went to the cafe where they had a good live band on which helped break up looking around. At the end there is an interactive bit where you can learn to play guitar, keyboard and drums which is an excellent idea.

Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Supervisor at British Music Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit, and for your kind words. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time, and appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boy george"
in 90 reviews
"cunard building"
in 32 reviews
"recording studio"
in 12 reviews
"culture club"
in 4 reviews
"interactive section"
in 11 reviews
"sound booth"
in 10 reviews
"spice girls"
in 9 reviews
"gibson guitars"
in 8 reviews
"hand written lyrics"
in 7 reviews
"play instruments"
in 7 reviews
"david bowie"
in 7 reviews
"audio guide"
in 27 reviews
"dance booth"
in 6 reviews
"free audio"
in 6 reviews
"glam rock"
in 5 reviews
"gibson room"
in 5 reviews
"dance area"
in 5 reviews
Filter

73 - 77 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful :)!

This museum was fantastic! It’s full of great items and lots of information so you can learn about individual artists and groups from the dark ages right up until now.

The only down side is I thought they would have more information on Ed Sheehan / Adele as they are British Stars!

Amazing interactive stations! You learn how to play musical instruments, sing, dance and you can even watch a hologram on stage!!!

YOU MUST GO!! :)

Thank Millie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Supervisor at British Music Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit, and for your kind words. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time, and appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

If you love music and its history this exhibition is well worth a visit.
We spent a few hours on Monday afternoon here with a visiting teenager from Australia, she loved the exhibition as much as we did.
It was very quiet so we almost felt as if we had the place to ourselves.!
The audio guide was brilliant and the exhibits fabulous,
I dont think I have ever met such enthusiastic staff anywhere else before, they were all so friendly, helpful and knowledgeable , it was especially interesting talking to Abi who asked us what we thought about the exhibition & our opinions as to which artists we thought should be mentioned or displayed.
would definitely return for another visit.

Thank Babs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Supervisor at British Music Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit, and for your kind words. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time, and appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Located on the waterfront (next to the Liver building) with ample parking immediately outside and to the side of the building, this informative and interesting musical journey takes you through the musical years. With lots of exhibits add information, the chance to sing and dance, and play some instruments, it's a feast for any music fan. The ticket price of £14.00 per adult is well worth it and expect to spend a couple of hours there. Overall really worth a visit.

Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Supervisor at British Music Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit, and for your kind words. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time, and appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit. We had an amazing time, the interactive section was so much fun and the exhibits are really interesting. A great day out for all ages. We spent around two hours here and there's also a cafe if you want a break, they also have live performances in the cafe.

Thank Abygail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig M, Supervisor at British Music Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Many thanks for your visit, and for your kind words. We’re thrilled that you had such a great time, and appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Music Experience also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to British Music Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing