We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick pop in”

The Hume Arms South-Kyme
Ranked #67 of 547 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Indian, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Went for a walk in the local area (geocaching - look it up!) and popped in for a quick drink and snack for my little lad. Nice pub and very polite staff. Would defiantly come back to try the food another day.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Luke_Crossland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Fusspot, Owner at The Hume Arms South-Kyme, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Thank you Luke_Crossland for your 5* review of our establishment. Albeit we had had a full house for lunch, we will still offer a warm welcome. We hope you enjoyed geocaching in South Kyme, which you'll agree is a beautiful village. May we also compliment you on how well your son behaved, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2018 via mobile

Another great visit to The Hume. Lovely warm welcome from Maeve and Vijay. The Roast was wonderful as always. We love your beef, gravy and company!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Fusspot, Owner at The Hume Arms South-Kyme, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you very much for your 5* review. Fantastic that you visited us and enjoyed our hospitality and our food!
Cannot wait to see you return, which should not be in the too long distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

What a surprise, living within 15 miles and having travelled past it regularly, I had never ventured in until today.

Having forgotten to book Sunday Lunch as a treat for my wife and friend, at 10-15pm the evening before , I rang to be honest in desperation to find somewhere. Despite the time of night I received a warm response to my call, that already gave me a positive feeling.

For once we managed to arrive on time, an amazing warm welcome, friendly conversation offered drinks and seated. We we advised that the carving trolley today was pork, but roast beef was available.

We were seated in an elegant dining room, wooden floors, with old period features in ceiling but with a modern feel. Modern dining facilities comfortable chairs, and EVERYWHERE SPARKLING CLEAN.

We have all been to venues where the tables have that sticky tacky feel of the chairs not the best...... but really clean really fresh well appointed dining room, would not be out of place in 5* dining room.

We were happy to chat for a while, quickly accompnishments came out, Apple sauce, Horseradish sauce, and FRESH pork scratching in a dish with a warning to watch our teeth.

My wife was asked how she liked her roast beef cooked, proper attention to detail.

I think approx 20-25mins we were served with a wonderful array of very hot freshly cooked food , fresh carrots, freshly streamed veg, and roast parsnips. then appeared another dish of roast potatoes & yorkshire puddings. Lots of quality hot food, along with a gravy boat of homemade gravy. For once roast potatoes that were properly cooked and hadn't seen a deep fat fryer.

Then we saw the carving trolley, others have talked about on this site, huge old fine polished dining silver carving trolley.

Surprising questions, " How thick do you like your pork cut ? AND "How much would you like" finished with the jokey comment, "Only Shy people leave here Hungry"

We were served by the proprietors who honestly were proud of their food they served, and we were asked twice if everything was ok AND did we want some more food.

Main meal followed by home made desserts, wow...... and proper home made Cheese cake wonderfully light & choice, of other home made desserts. The ladies elected for Rhubarb Crumble, but couldn't decide on Ice cream or custard, " No problem I will bring both"

Unhurried, sincere attentive service , followed up with individual Carafe of quality coffee.

I would describe the meal as good value, excellent service in quality surroundings.

Will we be back ......? DEFINITELY
When ? VERY SOON.

We want to try the Indian menu next visit...

Feedback from the ladies, loos spotlessly clean , well equipped.

Overall thoroughly enjoyable and this 5* review is very well deserved

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phils_1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Fusspot, Owner at The Hume Arms South-Kyme, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2018

Dear Phils_1955

I will not start and give a generic response to your fantastic review. You have taken tons of time writing, from your arrival to our pub and your departure, for which we are extremely grateful.
Having being here for ten years, we can truly say that our standards have been faultless, with the reviews already on our tripadvisor.
We, honestly cannot wait for your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We've tried a lot of pubs in the area but The Hume Arms beats them all. They do Sunday lunch just like it should be, we've now been several times and it's consistently excellent. The beef is top quality sirloin, perfectly cooked and very tender, the veg is fresh and done just right. And the service is prompt and friendly
As a bonus there's a lovely walk to take along the canal afterwards.
PS The puddings are great too!

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank EleanorCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Fusspot, Owner at The Hume Arms South-Kyme, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2018

Dear Eleanor Cross

Thank you so much for your 5* review following your Sunday lunch. It is extremely pleasing for us that we continue on delivering a fantastic product which is truly appreciated by our patrons.
A big thanks goes to my wife who is in charge of the puddings!!
Needless to say, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

We were staying locally for the weekend for my daughter's hen party. We emailed to book prior to our stay and Maeve could not have been more accommodating nothing was too much trouble. On the night we had difficulty getting a taxis but Vijay managed to get hold of one for us.The meal was lovely and we all had a super night. Thank you once again Maeve and Vijay

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SheffieldGem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
259Fusspot, Owner at The Hume Arms South-Kyme, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Thank you SHEFFIELD GEM!! for your lovely review.
Extremely delighted that all went well on your daughter's hen party.
Many thanks for choosing The Hume Arms and we wish your daughter the very best onto her forthcoming wedding.
We also enjoyed having your group of ladies here.
Hope to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Our kind regards
Maeve & Vijay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hume Arms South-Kyme also viewed

 
Billinghay, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Hume Arms South-Kyme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing