We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wake up to nothing but birdsong”

Review of Bardney Lockhouse

Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Welcome to Bardney Lockhouse
Approaching the Lockhouse
An original 17th Century lockkeepers cottage
With beautiful views across the Lincolnshire Fenlands
Situated right next to the Lock, this is the actual Lock House
Great views
Great views from the bedrooms
Jack 'n' Jill bathroom with under-floor heating
Bedroom 1 with views of the River Witham
Lady of the house
Bedroom 2, with views of the Fens
All the home comforts
Home from home
Downstairs shower room
Our lockhouse is ideal, whatever the weather!
Dining kitchen with views over the garden
A house filled with love, is a happy home
Comfortable lounge
Wood burning stove for cosy nights in
Lounge, overlooking the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Arthur858...
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wake up to nothing but birdsong”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed over Easter for my 'special' birthday and were joined by our older children later in the week. The cottage is lovely, well equipped with everything we could want. Not enough is made of the great walks that start only a few steps away from the front door. Dogs can roam free without fear of being knocked down by cars which was a real benefit for us, although she did manage to climb over the bridge and jump in the river. We hired bikes (£12) each from the Heritage Centre (beware not open Mon-Thurs) in April and cycled along a flat safe route for miles. As expected shops are abit sparse locally but Lincoln had everything we have at home. Can recommend the Washingborough Hall Hotel for a 'special' meal which is not too far from the cottage. Don't bother to wash your car the track is quite dusty. Horncastle well worth a visit. Rabbits were in the garden every afternoon at about 5pm. Lovely views from the windows and very peaceful. Hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom to walk with the dog and no traffic.
Liked least: For city dwellers the lack of shops and quietness of local villages but was as expected.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen2710
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great getaway,close to amenities,car essential”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

There is nothing bad to say,from our arrival to leaving we had a great experience. The cottage is very comfy,had everything we could need,including a welcome pack and is spotlessly clean. It is secluded but there is always a fisherman around or the people who have boats moored there. Its position is great for walks and cycling and has lots of places to visit within easy reach. Well worth a visit are Lincoln and Woodhall Spa.We had some nice meals, the local pubs food was good fresh food and our best meal was at a restaurant called Shakesby s in Horncastle, excellent food and excellent value for money. We will def go back but would love to go in warmer months so has to see more boats on the canal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kimski59
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was perfect in every way”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Fabulous cottage, beautifully, furnished and decorated, very comfortable and warm. The cottage was extremely well equipped even down to the very thoughtful welcome pack. We thoroughly recommend Bardney Lockhouse as a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log burner and the position of the cottage
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DottyTheC...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab views and sunsets, peace and quiet, fantastic cottage! Exactly as described!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved this cottage. We have recommended to family and friends and would love to return.
The views of the river outside and lock, boats, and sunsets were amazing.
There is endless logs to feed the woodburner - which was so warm and cosy each evening.
The kitchen was briliantly well equipped, plus we were left bread, wine and various things to welcome us!
It was easy to clean before we left too - nice tiled floor in kitchen.
It was immaculately clean and just fab!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickle5
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing, peaceful and fascinating!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I stayed at Bardney Lock with my parents and my two teenage children and we all had a fantastic holiday. Everyone loved watching the boats go through the lock and my daughter even got to steer one of the boats whilst my son opened and closed the gates. We went on some lovely relaxing walks and with Lincoln and Skegness only short journeys away, there were lots of things to keep everyone entertained. The cottage was immaculate and the welcome pack on arrival, gratefully received. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing