We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Summerhouse
Early morning last winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jarvman
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 22 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We have stayed at The Stables before and it's the perfect place for us to catch up with family in the area. Six adults and my one year old grandson stayed for four nights and were also joined by other family members each day. Plenty of room for us all and everything we could possibly need was provided. There was a dressed Christmas tree waiting for us, a welcome pack which included a bottle of wine, comfy beds with lovely cotton sheets, lots of little extra touches and our host, Ian, was considerate and kind as always. We would certainly recommend The Stables and will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahinDu...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A quality, spacious, comfortable place to stay in a great location!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We feel very lucky to have found such a great place to stay in Lincolnshire. Ian (the owner) was most helpful and confirmed our booking straight away, providing useful information about the Stables and surrounding area. We were welcomed on arrival and given all the information we needed. We were even left some essentials in the fridge which was great after a long journey. We found the accommodation as described- very spacious, comfortable and tastefully decorated with quality fittings and furniture. It was lovely to have the use of the garden where our young son could run around and make the most of the lovely weather we enjoyed. We found plenty of interesting things to do nearby- Burghley was definitely worth a visit (lots to entertain children in the secret garden), Belton House, Woolsthorpe Manor, and of course Lincoln only 6 miles away. We also enjoyed a lovely day just staying in and around the Stables, visiting Doddington Hall and the farm shop which had a very nice café. We also bought food from the farm shop to eat in each night as it was such a nice place to be- so peaceful and quiet but it was nice to have the owner just next door in case of any problems (not that we had any). Ian was very welcoming, inviting us over for drinks one evening, and even sent us a lovely letter after our holiday, thanking us for our visit. We had a great holiday, made very memorable by the lovely accommodation and kind hospitality. We hope to be back to stay at the Stables soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and homely feel of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wandereri...
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay & very hospitable host”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Had a very comfortable stay for a couple of weeks over Christmas & New Year, house was very warm with a lovely Christmas tree & nibbles awaiting our arrival. Ian was a very hospitable host inviting us over for drinks & extending our stay. Very convenient to have the farm shop right next door & not far to superstore for larger grocery shopping.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dermot O
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent homely cottage”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We immediately felt at home in this lovely cottage. Very comfortable with excellent facilities. The cottage is set in the beautiful Doddington estate and the nearby farm shop supplies high quality produce. There's also a cafe and restaurant there. Ian gave us a warm welcome on arrival and invited us over to The Old Rectory for a drink later in the week. This is a great location for exploring Lincoln and the surrounding area. The Cathedral and Castle in Lincoln are well worth a visit. Thanks for a lovely holiday. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James O
Paris, France
1 review
“Instantly felt at home”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent a very pleasant long weekend at The Stables. The setting is lovely (and extremely convenient for anyone attending a wedding at Doddington Hall). The fantastic farm shop next door and the ease of getting Sainsbury's to deliver mean that, while one is in the middle of the countryside, getting provisions and food is not a hassle (a pleasure even in the case of the farm shop). The house is perfect - very comfortable and equipped with everything one could need which is rarely the case with a short rent - and one feels instantly at home. We unfortunately missed Ian, who was away during our visit, but he remembered to fly our flag! I would wholeheartedly recommend The Stables to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful part of England.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing