We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 121
USD 100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 148/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 44% below average rates

The price you found is 44% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 103
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Ibis Lincoln(North Hykeham)
USD 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 101
USD 95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
202 Guest House(Lincoln)(Great Value!)
USD 91
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Lincoln (Canwick) Hotel(Canwick)(Great Value!)
USD 83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
103
65
32
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
65
32
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroombreakfast roomboiled eggsself serviceegg boiling machinesteep hillcontinental styleyogurtproper coffeeshort cutmodern bathroomtop floorvisit lincoln againa lovely place to staya great stayfantastic locationhigh street
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Close to Lincoln Cathedral is the only good thing I can say about this place. Internet continually goes out, sheets smell of too much detergent, breakfast skimpy (Yes, plenty of coffee, tea, bread, eggs to cook yourself and jam, but really?), code system for locks is terrible, just not an enjoyable place.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaceCorpsNorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2017

Thanks Norm, please do "stay away" we had to fumigate the room after you left and if a 4 digit code is too much handle maybe lay off the booze.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

On arrival we were greeted by Martin. Lydia showed us to our room, via a tour of the house, bathrooms and breakfast dining room. Lydia gave us lots of helpful information on the local area and showed us the shortcut to the castle and cathedral. The Poplars is ideally situated to Castle Square and The Steep Hill where there are loads of cafes, bars, art galleries shops. The Poplars has lots of pieces of local art in the house. The room we stayed in was spacious, immaculately clean with a great drinks tray, decent sized drinking glasses and mugs for tea and coffee. Tea selection is very impressive both in the room and at breakfast. We shared a bathroom but there was not one time we encountered the other guests we were sharing with and it was cleaned every day. Shower Gel, shampoo and conditioner and liquid soap along with individual hand towels are all provided included in the price. Although I would describe The Poplars as "budget" these extras are luxury.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the bedding warm and clean. The views are lovely and there is even a sofa to sit on in the bedroom, plenty of plug points and a hairdryer is provided along with soft fluffy towels.
The breakfast was help yourself, plenty choice of cereal, dried and fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs, jams, marmite, nutella, marmalade and a choice of butter spreads, ground and instant coffee in a beautiful, interesting and clean dining room. Heike is very friendly and happy to chat, as well as let you have your privacy if you prefer. We were able to leave our suitcase on our last day and pick it up later so we could enjoy the end of our three day break without trekking it around.
The Poplars is a short walk from the station, the streets are very hilly but the view is worth it and the house is very quiet. We would thoroughly recommend staying here and can't understand the negative comments on some reviews but we had a good laugh reading them. We will be staying here on our next visit and think you should too. Thank you for an amazing stay "Poplars"

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 540Ginster116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Thank you sooo much for your lovely review, hope to see you soon x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay! Room was clean and spacious with plenty of coffee and tea, toiletries and towels available. Breakfast room was great with plenty of self service options available. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Car park available on site for free. Close to Lincoln castle and town centre. Had a fantastic stay and will definitely be returning to the Poplars.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank WRleeds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Many thanks we really appreciate your positive words

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Ok - this isn't a Premier Inn but I don't think they want to be. Fantastic location and very clean. Yes breakfast is different, parking a challenge but given what you are paying look at the good bits. Suggest " 4 in a bed" has made us all sooo picky...

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Geodd T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Owner at The Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

Spot on many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

First time stay for me and my wife. And will definitely come again, the room is very nice and clean. The staff are very polite. And even bought me and my wife a lovely bunch of flowers for our wedding anniversary. Very much appreciated. Thanks to all at the poplars.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank steveandjanet499087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
czimmerl, Manager at The Poplars, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2018

It was a pleasure many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews