We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The most wonderful welcome and lovely apartments”
other travellers have booked this property
A quiet retreat in Lincoln's cathedral quarter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A quiet retreat in Lincoln's cathedral quarter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
A quiet retreat in Lincoln's cathedral quarter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Hannah C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The most wonderful welcome and lovely apartments”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have been staying with Gill & Roy for over 14 years now when we exhibit at Lincoln Christmas Market. They are unbelievably welcoming and helpful, the apartments are wonderful and you it is so central you can hear the bells of the Cathedral in the morning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Thank you very much Hannah. We look forward to seeing you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesHA11...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best experience ever”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

At first looks it looked like any old boring hotel but as soon as I walked inside I saw the lovely garden view and the classical English country feel. I was later that I desoverd how nice the room were and how neat it was too the bed was indescribable, we later had a full roast dinner follow by the best sticky toffee pudding I have ever tasted. I later went for a walk in the extensive garden fulls of flowers and bees not to mention the countless statues. I would recommend this to any person looking for a nice hotel to stay in.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you young lady; we are delighted you had a good time with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlywa
Addingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Keep this place secret!”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just spent a fantastic anniversary weekend with my husband as a welcome break away from the kids. As soon as we drove down the gravelled driveway, our excitement levels rose: the house is grand to say the least. We were not disappointed on entering our apartment- clean, nicely furnished, good quality linen, comfortable bed. The hosts were friendly and welcoming but not obtrusive. The layout of the property, and the well equipped apartments means you can come and go as you please. Excellent location, views of the cathedral from the apartment window, and lots of restaurants to choose from all within walking distance - we found a lovely Tapas place , Ole ole, and spent a relaxing few hours wandering down the cobbled streets, visiting book shops and boutiques.
The weekend was a welcome break from our normal lives, and we've returned refreshed and raring to go.
I don't usually write these reviews but felt obliged as a thank you to our hosts for such a wonderful weekend. I've already booked for next year before submitting this , just in case the secret gets out!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
We really appreciate your kind remarks and are so happy you enjoyed your break. Looking forward to seeing you next year: Gil and Roy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben M
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Lincoln”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Don't get confused with the modern building at the end of the drive called the Lodge.
This place is the Rectory. It's a charming old large Victorian building with loads of self contained apartments. Each one sleeps between 2 and 4. They've all got a kitchen, so you can cater cheaply whilst on a break. There's lots of stripped pine and original features. The flat we stayed in had loads of character, not the boxes you get in chain hotels.
The hosts are friendly and help with information about the local area. The location is idea for uphill Lincoln. Everything is within walking distance, including the cathedral, which you can see from the window! The rates are really cheap for the standard of the accommodation.
We used it as a base for cycling, as there are lots of quality routes nearby. The hosts provided us with details, which really helped. It shows you the level of service they provide.
After a long ride we enjoyed a sunny evening sitting out in the beautiful gardens, drinking several cold beers..perfect.
This has to be one of the best places I've stayed. We will definitely stay again and highly recommend to others.
One of my mates is using it as a base for a golfing holiday, as apparently there are loads of courses nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Thank you very much for your considered review Ben. We were happy to help with your cycling weekend and glad you enjoyed it so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lemonjell...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent place to stay. beautiful gardens and views of the cathedral”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in February 2017

What a fantastic place. A gem in Lincoln....hidden down a green leafy drive. At night I could see the cathedral from my apartment window. Apartments are clean, well equipped and spacious. Really close to the Bailgate which has shops and restaurants. Gill and Roy are really friendly hosts and happy to help. Absolutely loved it. Almost don't want to tell anyone about it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing