We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,010)
Filter reviews
1,010 results
Traveller rating
397
455
119
29
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
397
455
119
29
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews retail park car park busy roundabout free breakfast beans the sofa bed per night minute walk self service clean hotel room rate would stay again high street short stay lincoln city centre yogurt brayford wharf
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,010 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here with a view to visiting the cathedral and the castle and to gain a general historic overview of Lincoln. The walk up to the castle is quite steep so I would recommend a taxi for anyone with walking difficulties. The hotel itself is a new modern building very close to the city centre and the university. The parking is run by parking eye and cost £5 for 24 hours. The room was clean tidy and comfortable, the free breakfast now includes bacon, it is an acceptable start to the day, the scrambled egg could be improved, but there is sufficient choice to satisfy before heading out for the morning.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the bar area had sofas and chairs and a small range of hot drinks, beers and wines although I thought the area a little open just in the reception area, not very private and cosy.

On the whole we had a pleasant one night stay and I would use this hotel again for location.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank steerpike01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review in regards to your recent stay. I'm so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a wonderful time in the city. I shall pass on your compliments to our staff and about improving our breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayley (Guest Service Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a relatively new hotel, located close to the University and City Centre.
Hotel reception staff were friendly and welcoming.
Downside is that the hotel car parking is an extras £5 and is run by another organisation - pity its not operated by the hotel.
Decor is fresh and functional. If anything though the double bed is a bit cramped.
Breakfast is included in the rate, but was a bit disappointing. Selection of breakfast cereals was limited and we had to ask for muesli. Hot selection was also limited, no mushrooms or hash browns. Breakfast plates were all one size and not heated......cold cooked breakfast is horrible!

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank BiznessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I shall pass on your lovely compliments to our staff. In regards to our continental breakfast, Holiday Inn Express hotels are a limited service hotel, so while the breakfast is free, we have less variety available for breakfast than other hotels within the IHG brand. However, I shall pass on your feedback in an attempt to improve our breakfast. I hope that this hasn't deterred you from choosing to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayley (Guest Service Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Stayed wedding was at double tree perfect walking distance approx 500 meters give or take great room friendly staff cheap car parking just £5 for 24 hrs breakfast was ok would definitely recommend for a weekend

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cazzza954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I'm so glad to see that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and I hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding you attended. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayley (Guest Service Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Good location a few minutes walk from the wharf and town. Parking in site, and a reasonable £5 for overnight stay. We arrived at 11.00am and parked up - checked it was OK with reception and left the car there.

Staff very friendly and helpful, and room was clean and well appointed. Only slight criticism was a few cobwebs on the ceiling, and an extractor fan full of dust.

We had breakfast, but it was a bit disappointing - would have been nice to have a bit more on offer - hash browns/Mushrooms/veggie sausage etc.. All I could eat was beans on toast!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Good evening Phil,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review for your recent stay. I'm so pleased to see that you have mostly enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to breakfast, we do have a limited selection for vegetarian and vegan guests (quorn sausages are available on request), however I shall pass on your comments in improving our breakfast selection. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards,

Hayley (Guest Service Assistant)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2018

Stayed just 1 night, 2 rooms booked. Really enjoyable stay. Rooms very clean, towels new, great location and the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful.
Car park £5
Will certainly use this hotel again on our next Lincoln visit.
Great nights sleep and the breakfast was perfect and plentiful.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pink611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duty M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Guest,
Firstly, thank you so much for taking the time to leave this very positive review. We are thrilled to hear that you found the the rooms to be very clean, the towels to be new and the hotel to be in a great location for your stay. We are also very pleased to hear that you found our reception staff to be extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast to be perfect and plentiful and that you had a really enjoyable stay with us in Lincoln. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Georgie| Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews