We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty Late Night Burger, Great Friendly Staff”
Review of Rockin Diner

Rockin Diner
Ranked #23 of 1,327 Restaurants in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 20 September 2018

Popped in late one night. The staff were very friendly. Menu is very large. There is no table service, so you order, pay and then your food is delivered to your table. My burger and fries were brilliant, very tasty and piping hot. The wife's chicken burger she says was very good, large and filling. We were there about 22:50, the place closes at 23:00 but they did not rush us to close up which was nice. Both staff asked if the food was good, we could not have been happier. A bit pricey for a burger bar.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

There's plenty of stuff to like about this place. The decor fits the bill, great music from the 50's, top marks for this. The menu fits the 50's diner theme too. But all is not well...

The burger tasted ok, however with the build up you half expect a decent meaty hand made burger. Certainly for the price you might expect it. However it was a fairly standard machined patty that you can get anywhere. So overall this wasn't pulling up any trees. Onto the philly steak sub, this was more pulled beef/shawarma than beef steak. The filling fell out of the bottom. Again the taste was ok but nothing amazing. There was no tasty cheese with it, just American burger cheese and cheese sauce. The overall rating lies somewhere between a 3 and a 4, but closer to a 3.

So onto the title of this review. I have a suspicion about many of the reviews attributed to this establishment and I hope I am wrong. It appears as being in the top 20 places regularly in Leicester. I have been to many established places in Leicester that I would rate higher. There are many reviews spanning several months with reviewers who have only done 1 review and given a 5 rating. I would still encourage you to try this place, but I would be careful not to read to much into the overall rating this place has.

Date of visit: September 2018
2  Thank Hint_of_Pepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

The service was good. The food tasted good - and had an "American" flavour to it. The design of the diner also recalled the States of an earlier time.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnfmayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

Went in for some good food but was disappointed. Diner is good and stylish. Staff were friendly. The food wasnt as good as i hoped. It was a bit bland for me.

I wouldnt recommend it to anyone.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank Amir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

The food was really nice and well priced , the workers were very polite and helpful. The restaurant is very nice looking and welcoming.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Zayn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rockin Diner also viewed

Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 
Leicester, Leicestershire
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to Rockin Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing