We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place”

National Space Centre
Ranked #19 of 125 things to do in Leicester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The National Space Centre really is a visit that is out of this world. Take a journey through out themed galleries, stopping at over 150 interactive experiences! Sit back in awe in the UK’s largest planetarium as we take you on a voyage of discovery in this 360° fulldome experience. The National Space Centre is an all weather attraction for all the family. On site we have over 400 parking spaces, restaurant, shop and all the facilities you would expect from a world class attraction. The National Space Centre hosts many exciting weekend events, including astronomy evenings, movie themed events, astronaut visits, even special Star Wars, LEGO and Time Lord weekends and many more… see the website for full details Opening Times: School Holidays Monday – Sunday 10:00 – 17:00 School Term Time Monday – Friday 10:00– 16:00 Saturday and Sunday 10:00– 17:00 (please check the website before visiting to ensure we are open). We suggest you allow a minimum of 4 hours for your visit
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

great place , full of interactive things , me and my 7 year old loved this place, staff were friendly and the whole experience was a delight , warning tho the the simulator ride is a bit bumpy , my 7 year old was not to impressed with this ride ..

Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malika A, Manager at National Space Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Huge thanks for visiting the National Space Centre and your 5* review.

We are delighted you had a great day out and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,837)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"annual pass"
in 219 reviews
"rocket tower"
in 86 reviews
"patrick moore planetarium"
in 77 reviews
"simulator ride"
in 49 reviews
"solar system"
in 43 reviews
"weather pod"
in 32 reviews
"tranquility base"
in 28 reviews
"all ages"
in 214 reviews
"half term"
in 91 reviews
"gift aid"
in 41 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 97 reviews
"interactive things"
in 38 reviews
"school parties"
in 32 reviews
"packed lunch"
in 34 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 43 reviews
"star wars"
in 30 reviews
"ticket price"
in 28 reviews
Filter

177 - 181 of 2,839 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Yes i know it was a school holiday and wet outside but the Space Centre is not for families! Never before have I witnessed such poor parenting and manners! Children pushing adults out of the way with no regard to queues or basic social etiquette! I was verbally abused for asking a child to wait in line - other well mannered children were crying due to their poor behaviour. I know the manager will say they can't help this but it wouldn't take much to have a few signs to encourage queuing and respect for others!
Additionally, many activities were not working and the sound in the planetarium was awful - make this clear before you let people in! Also, why don't you restrict numbers - it was horrendously overcrowded. My own children, 8 and 10, were happy to leave. Frankly they could learn all they need at school or online without me having to fork out £50.
Thankfully we had a lovely day in the Peak district the previous day, take my advice and go there, it is considerably cheaper and more enjoyable!
Don't need a free annual pass thank you and I know you won't consider a refund (go on, I dare you to show some customer service) - seen all I need in 2 miserable hours.

KInd regards

2  Thank lobstergod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malika A, Manager at National Space Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting the National Space Centre and taking time to offer feedback.

You are quite right, any child who feels they are in a position to be abusive to a complete stranger is not likely to ever pay attention the signage we have around the Centre. We sincerely hope you spoke with a member of staff or the Duty Manager, so this could be dealt with at the time.

We do indeed restrict numbers, but as you say, on a wet day in a school holiday period, everybody heads to the indoor attractions.

We do try to highlight this on our website and social media, if you were to visit in the summer holiday period, after 14:00 on a sunny day, you would find that the Centre is very quiet indeed.

If you would like to discuss any matters further, please do contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Fabulous day out at the space centre. Great value for money especially with the free return pass when you book on line . I took a 10 year old girl and a 13 year old girl along with a 13 year old boy. Something for all of them . We spent the whole day there from opening till 5 pm ! Took our own lunch and lots of seating inside which you don’t always get on family days out. Would recommend it as a great family day out.

Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malika A, Manager at National Space Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Huge thanks for visiting the National Space Centre and your 5* review.

We are delighted you had a great day out and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

After purchasing tickets online in advance we got a free annual pass which we have already used 5 times. We have been with friends so have had children ranging from 2 up to 12 with us. All of who had lots of fun and benefited from the experience. There is lots to do and lots of hands on activities although it can get very busy especially up in the rocket tower and in the weather channel experience. It is excellent value for money with the annual pass and they always have lots of different trails that you can do (you can pick them up on the left after you have paid). They have space to take picnics as I found the food they have on offer quite limited (nachos, hot dogs or sandwiches). The astronaut experience has a height restriction which unfortunately meant both our girls were too short to do even though I would say the average 7 year old would be plenty tall enough to do. They have a great gift shop with a large range of products suitable both for the children and the big kids in your life but you can avoid the gift shop altogether. There are only 2 lots of toilets in the center, so can be a bit of a nightmare with the youngest of children deciding they need a toilet at the top of the rocket tower! Make sure you have cash for the car park (£3 for all day).

1  Thank Nikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malika A, Manager at National Space Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting the National Space Centre and taking time to offer feedback.

Great to read that you have made full use of the Annual Pass (there is a loo at the bottom of the Rocket Tower, just through the cafe glass doors ;-) )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Fantastic (relatively) local resource we have not visited until now thinking our children may be too young (now 6 and 8), but there is plenty for younger ones to do. We have spent most of the day there today and so not feel we have exhausted it's potential. We will definitely be using our year pass to visit many more times, especially for the wonderful, breathtakingly Planetarium shows. So much to do and learn in a very fun environment. We visit places such as this and often find them tired and many broken resources, but here everything was clean, fresh and in working order. Really, very impressed.

Thank jay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malika A, Manager at National Space Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Huge thanks for visiting the National Space Centre and your 5* review.

We are delighted you had a great day out and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Space Centre also viewed

 
Leicester, Leicestershire
 

Been to National Space Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing